BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thirteen Reasons Why

Average Rating 4.5
( 4272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2991)

4 Star

(706)

3 Star

(276)

2 Star

(128)

1 Star

(171)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

479 out of 505 people found this review helpful.

Thirteen Reasons Why You Should Read This Book

1. It's wonderfully written
2. It keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time
3. You'll fall in love with the characters
4. You'll hate the antagonists of the book
5. At the end, you'll be cheering for Clay
6. At the end, you'll be crying for Hannah
7. It'l...
1. It's wonderfully written
2. It keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time
3. You'll fall in love with the characters
4. You'll hate the antagonists of the book
5. At the end, you'll be cheering for Clay
6. At the end, you'll be crying for Hannah
7. It'll give you a greater understanding of teenage suicide
8. It's inspiring
9. It's unforgettable
10. At the end you'll be hungry for more
11. It's original and, well, quite awesome
12. You won't find books like this often
13. What are you doing reading reviews? Read the freakin' BOOK already!

posted by twilight_fanatic_01 on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

80 out of 208 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.

I think I was the rare person who did NOT love Thirteen Reasons Why. Unlike much of the excellent teen fiction that is being written, Thirteen Reasons Why rang false to me. The characters seemed hollow and like caricatures of real teenagers. The teens in the story acted...
I think I was the rare person who did NOT love Thirteen Reasons Why. Unlike much of the excellent teen fiction that is being written, Thirteen Reasons Why rang false to me. The characters seemed hollow and like caricatures of real teenagers. The teens in the story acted like an adult's idea of how teenagers act. Worst of all, there is no sympathy to be found for the subject of the book, Hannah Baker, who killed herself and left behind tapes detailing why for those people who made her miserable. She came off perhaps worst of all the characters in the boo -- she seems petty and vindictive, having left tapes telling people that she killed herself because of them. We at least get to witness some of these characters experiencing remorse.

Perhaps the flattening of Hannah Baker's character is an affect of the fact that she is already dead when the book begins. We only know of her what she recorded on these tapes, but what is there isn't flattering. Hannah is the ultimate passive-aggressive, not really doing anything to help her cause. This book didn't make me feel anything but annoyance, and I would recommend many other teen titles before this one.

posted by SamGNA on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 706 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Saw your reviews.. and I am dying to read this like NOW!

    Saw your reviews.. and I am dying to read this like NOW!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    well told

    This book i thought was very good, and it taught a lot of thinks that a lot of readers a ot of things. This author is very well rounded to write a book like this. And everything that happenes in this book happens in real life. But if anyone would come up to me and ask me what book should read i would tell them about this book.It is very real-a-listic, and worth reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thirteen Reasons Why You Should Read This Book!

    1. Overall it is very well written, and will pull all sorts of emtion from your core.
    2. Considering the rate of teen suicide today, it is VERY realistic, and gives you a sneak peak into the mind of someone who commits suicide.
    3. It's very descriptive and the Jay Asher doesn't hesitate to leave out any of the harsh details.
    4. Not only do you get to hear Hannah reasons for her own suicide, but she also takes Clay to places related to her stories.
    5. The reader may not be able to follow Clay on his journey around town while listening to Hannah's tapes, but if you purchase the hard cover version of the book, the inside cover is the same map that is included with the tapes.
    6. Signs that Hannah was going to commit suicide were ignored. These signed are explained throughout the story. You might discover them in a friend or classmate, and maybe you'll save a life.
    7. It's a real page turner. You'll want to read the novel from cover to cover without pause.
    8. It is unlike any story I have ever read. It has a very unique story line and keeps you wondering what exactly is on Clay's tape.
    9. If shows what those who commit suicide leave behind, and if you're someone who is considering suicide, it just might change your mind.
    10. Even though the book has it's VERY sad points it may help you discover something about yourself.
    11. It shows how the slightest things can really set people off, and how you should watch how you treat people, because suicide is one thing nobody wants resting on thier shoulders.
    12. The book may change your outlook on many things, and was a real eye opener for me.
    13. Overall this book is truly amazing, and I believe it's perfect for those of all ages. It's a great reality check for everyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book caught me by surprise.

    I started reading Thirteen Reasons Why without even reading the cover, and I was immediately pulled in to the riveting story. Warning: once you start this book, it will be hard to stop until you've reached the final, sad conclusion.

    The voice of Hannah on the tapes haunted me for a while after I read the book.
    This book is powerful, hard-hitting, and very emotional.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    check out my b&n page!

    i loved this book and if you did too, then check out my b&n page! i have read alot of books like this and they are all posted on my page.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Could of been better

    I got this book thinking it would turn out to be absolutely awesome, but it sort of let me down, well just a little bit. The story line was good, but it wasn't the most well written book. There were also a few vulgur parts, that I wasn't expecting!! Over all, it's an okay book, but definitely not at the top of my "ten most spectacular books" list.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    mini hypothetical experiment

    1. Go into your kitchen
    2. Pick up a bowl plate or glass
    3. Throw it on the ground
    Now carefully pick up all the pieces and try to put it back together again. Could you do it? Possibly but most likely not. Even if you did, whatever you broke would never be exactly the same as it was. The same rule applies to people. On the inside we have feelings and emotions that can be broken and never fully repaired. So next time think about what you are doing.

    feel free to respond- isabel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Review : Thirteen Reasons why We read the book thirteen reaso

    Review : Thirteen Reasons why


    We read the book thirteen reasons why at school and the first thing to say is that the book is really impressive and exciting (not like ordinary school books),you can't stop reading when you start once.
    The story is about a girl who committed suicide but before she killed herself, she recorded some cassettes . Every tape belongs to one person and every person is one of the reasons why she killed herself .
    “13 reasons why” is a well written book we really enjoyed to read . The story is not written like a normal book . The story is so clearly and well argumented that it is almost a story taken from real life . It goes deeply into the life of a teenage girl with all her thoughts and moods , but we have to say that some of Hannah Baker's reason are way too much and just overheating reactions , not worth enough to end a life.
    At the end we recommend this book to everybody, it doesn't matter if you read it in class or not you will (we promise ) enjoy it. MoMo

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Review: Th1rteen R3asons why by Jay Asher A tremendou

    Review: Th1rteen R3asons why by Jay Asher
    A tremendous and remarkable novel

    Asher,Jay.2007.Penguin

    This is a story about a girl who committed suicide and explains with 13 reasons why she killed herself. The protagonist Clay Jensen is one of them and if he listens, he will find out why.
    This is a truly compelling novel and it is an impressive debut about friendship, sexuality and honesty.
    I like the story of the book and I can empathize and identify with the main characters Hannah Baker and Clay Jensen. It is incredibe, sad, depressive the same time. After reading the novel you think about your own actions and it really remind us that it isn't necessary and impossible to solve your problems with suicide.
    There were also some things that I dislike. Maybe the book is very realistic but I think it would be more realistic to include social networks and for example they can bully her on Facebook or something like that. Because of that the reasons would be heavier.
    Nevertheless I truly like the book and recommend it to everyone. It had to read it in school and it was a gooddecision of my teacher to read it in school.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Review: Thirteen reasons why by Jay Asher An impressive debut ab

    Review: Thirteen reasons why by Jay Asher
    An impressive debut about friendship, sexuality and honesty
    Jay Asher, 2007, Penguin

    This is the story of Hannah Baker’s decision to commit suicide. Hannah records tapes, where she tells the people the reasons why she killed herself

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Review: TH1TEEN R3ASONS WHY by JAY ASHER ¿You don¿t belong in th

    Review: TH1TEEN R3ASONS WHY by JAY ASHER
    “You don’t belong in the same way as the others. It’s like in that song: One of those things just doesn’t belong.”

    Jay Asher, Razorbill, June 14, 2011, Thirteen Reasons Why.

    Clay Jensen finds a package with several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker after he returned home from school. Hannah Baker was his classmate and crush, but she committed suicide two weeks before. Her voice tells him the thirteen reasons why she killed herself and Clay is one of them, but he “doesn’t belong in the same way as the others.” It’s a book about friendship, sexuality and honesty.

    We had to read this book in school and at first I thought “Oh not another school-book” but now that I finished it I kinda like it but I don’t think that it is a must read. I liked the characters and how Jay Asher presented them. The story is a bit depressing but at some points quiet exciting. The thing I personally hate about this book is that the reasons the author gave for her suicide where so thin and tiny that I found it a bit unrealistic, while the rest of the book was written as realistic as possible. While reading I got a bit confused at some points because the author mixed present, flashbacks, Clay’s thoughts and Hannah’s voice. These back and forth destroyed the painful and serious atmosphere of the book a bit.

    “Everything effect everything”. That’s what the book’s core is. I would recommend you to read it but not as a school book, because it can be kind of depressing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Hi

    I thought it was a good book! But i dont really think she had a good reason to kill her self!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    So amazing

    So amazing sad but amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    13 reasons why

    This was an amazeing! I was always hooked, this is great because you learn a lesson that with just one rude comment it can start a whole chain of events! Deffitnitly worth the read!!! <3 th1rteen r3asons why

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Good Novel

    Once I started reading I didn't want to put the book down.
    Before I new it i was done the book. Every page made me fall deeper into the story. It is a book I highly recommend for people that like an easy read, suspense, and an all around good novel. The story may be more mature for younger readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Loved it:)

    At first I was sceptical about buying this particular book, now I definetly don't regret it. I constantly found myself flipping page through page as I got wrapped up in Hannah's tapes. Kuddos to Jay Asher on writing such a wonderfuly composed novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Suspensful

    This book was a great short read; I read it all in one night, but I couldn't put it down! Definately a must read but wish it was cheaper!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Wonderful!

    This was a great book! it's not something to read over a long period of time though because in order to get the complete impact that the author's trying to give, you would have to read the book with no breaks. I read it in 5 hours, over night, because it was just so good. *A little spoiler alert*- The scenes in the book happen in one night so you would feel like the main character if you read it fast. I didn't like the ending though, it was a little plain but other than that, it was a great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing.

    In my opinion, this book is absolutely amazing! The whole idea itself is so unique and intriguing. Each character is entirely realistic and easy to relate to.
    The suspense of it all is a really enjoyable part of the story and I love how you can easily feel what the characters are feeling. And even though I rarely ever cry while reading a book, I cried while reading this one. It's really emotional, but in a very good way.
    I love how real and thought-provoking it is and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who's looking for that sort of thing. This book is definitely a great read! I say try it out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    i think this book was ok. alot of people told me it was an amazing book,but i think it was ok. there were some good parts and there were some boring parts. the book goes through alot of hanna's memories.it would be worth getting this book. i wouldn't read it again though. overall it wasnt an amazing book but it wasnt a crappy book either.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 706 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36