Customer Reviews for

The Thirteenth (Vampire Huntress Legend #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Thirteenth-Hope We Meet Again

The Thirteenth



Well, we've come to the end of the journey. Damali and Carlos have battled with the dark side. They have been through hell and back and back again to emerge defiant, stronger.



The team has battled Lucifer and his Minion many times before...
The Thirteenth



Well, we've come to the end of the journey. Damali and Carlos have battled with the dark side. They have been through hell and back and back again to emerge defiant, stronger.



The team has battled Lucifer and his Minion many times before, but now it's Armageddon and either good or evil will win! If this isn't enough to contend with The Guardian Allies are being taken down one by one leaving the Team without worldwide defenses. They no longer have funds or a home to go to. This is for real!



Fortunately they have met a new ally in an unexpected package.



Evil, wretched Lilith is up to her old tricks and nastier than ever, and with Lucifer by her side it is questionable as to who will win? The dark side is holding nothing back, they want it all and what better way to achieve this than getting rid of our Neteru's and The Guardians!



This is the culmination of all the books. Questions are answered while new ones arise! A new set of Neteru's will come to be and new Guardians to watch over them! If you've never read The Vampire Huntress Legend Series, then here is your opportunity to start. 12 books in this exciting action packed series beginning with MINION. You see the bottom line is Good vs. Evil and Evil never wins!

posted by booklover4ever57 on May 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not As Good As I Hoped

As compared with the earlier installments in the Vampire Huntress series, (much less "Bitten" and "The Hunted" which I consider the apex of the series), this final submission concludes with a pat and a wink rather than a punch. This last tale successfully winds up the a...
As compared with the earlier installments in the Vampire Huntress series, (much less "Bitten" and "The Hunted" which I consider the apex of the series), this final submission concludes with a pat and a wink rather than a punch. This last tale successfully winds up the armageddon mythology, however it lacks the suspense/tension/detail/action of the earlier adventures. Further, the relationships, (including personal interactions and one or two sex scenes), are somewhat staid and stale. If you're a longtime fan, by all means read this last concluding book, but I recommend you definitely skip it as a one time proposition.

posted by dalnewt on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    The Thirteenth-Hope We Meet Again

    The Thirteenth



    Well, we've come to the end of the journey. Damali and Carlos have battled with the dark side. They have been through hell and back and back again to emerge defiant, stronger.



    The team has battled Lucifer and his Minion many times before, but now it's Armageddon and either good or evil will win! If this isn't enough to contend with The Guardian Allies are being taken down one by one leaving the Team without worldwide defenses. They no longer have funds or a home to go to. This is for real!



    Fortunately they have met a new ally in an unexpected package.



    Evil, wretched Lilith is up to her old tricks and nastier than ever, and with Lucifer by her side it is questionable as to who will win? The dark side is holding nothing back, they want it all and what better way to achieve this than getting rid of our Neteru's and The Guardians!



    This is the culmination of all the books. Questions are answered while new ones arise! A new set of Neteru's will come to be and new Guardians to watch over them! If you've never read The Vampire Huntress Legend Series, then here is your opportunity to start. 12 books in this exciting action packed series beginning with MINION. You see the bottom line is Good vs. Evil and Evil never wins!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not As Good As I Hoped

    As compared with the earlier installments in the Vampire Huntress series, (much less "Bitten" and "The Hunted" which I consider the apex of the series), this final submission concludes with a pat and a wink rather than a punch. This last tale successfully winds up the armageddon mythology, however it lacks the suspense/tension/detail/action of the earlier adventures. Further, the relationships, (including personal interactions and one or two sex scenes), are somewhat staid and stale. If you're a longtime fan, by all means read this last concluding book, but I recommend you definitely skip it as a one time proposition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I was afraid...

    The best defense is a great offense. Wait a minute. Armageddon has begun, Level Seven has come "topside," toppled the Washington Monument, knocked on the front door of the White House with it, released the pale horse of the Apocalypse, and has the Neteru team labeled as the world's most wanted bio-terrorists. Pestilence, death, destruction, mayhem rule the day and night. The safest thing to do is stay under the radar. Right? Wrong. This is the Neteru team. Offense? Out of funds and on the run with babies on the way, our guardians take the battle to the darkside despite their losses, reunite with members, and make new friends to challenge the Unnamed One's greatest demon.

    The Thirteenth is the twelfth and final story in L. A. Banks' Vampire Huntress Legends series. I know it's fiction (and I must admit that I was hooked from the moment I saw the Sankofa tattooed at the base of Damali's spine on the cover of Minion), but one look at CNN or FOX might cause you to question whether L. A. knows something most world leaders do not. This series has been an artful weaving of current events, world mythology, and impeccable research. The diversity, a thing to be celebrated and cherished. Let's be clear. My triskaidekaphobia was because the series was ending, not the emotional rollercoaster Banks delivered as the team took it to the streets in Jerusalem, dodging daywalkers and zombies. Having become personally attached to every member of the team, I tried unsuccessfully to read slowly, but the fast-paced action was right out of a Roland Emmerich or Jerry Bruckheimer film. Fallon Nuit, Sebastian, Lilith, and Vlad Dracula turn up the heat on the team once they realize Damali is pregnant. Seeking to exploit this perceived weakness, the One Who Shall Remain Nameless, breaks the sixth seal. Ride or die, the Neteru team, tried by the fire, comes out pure gold with the help from the council of Neteru Kings and Queens and Warrior angels. When the dust clears, Banks leaves it to Yaya to bring peace to the steadfast, but mystified adults (and I was one of them), making the words of Isaiah 11:6 ring clear: "and a little child shall lead them."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The final excellent tale in this great saga is an exciting and evocative urban fantasy

    The fourth seal has been broken releasing the pale horse. What American cities are attacked the powers that be fear terrorists have struck again but it is really demons and vamps that Lucifer brought to the surface to kill as many mortals as possible. The media, controlled by Hell¿s forces make the Neterus Damali and Carlos and her Guardians out to be terrorists; they are on the run so the Light brought them to Bermuda. They need to return to the States and get the rest of their crew and they meet Montley Sinclair who wants in on the battle and gives them a ride on his yacht.<BR/><BR/>Lucifer and Lilith are waiting for the Anti-Christ to finish gestating; plague, famine and pestilence are everywhere. Chaos rules as order has broken down. Saints and martyrs help the Neteru and the Guardians when the fifth seal is broken. The team rushes to Jerusalem to find out the home of the chosen THE THIRTEENTH who will free the bound fallen angels in the Euphrates and will lead a horde of two hundred million warriors to kill off much of humanity. Damali and Carlos need the name and the weapon that can defeat him, but with Israel on dead alert and Hell¿s minion looking for them, they have little chance of surviving the skirmishes.<BR/><BR/>The Neteru-Guardian team is struggling with the End of Days yet are willing to die to fight the evil Dark that seems overwhelmingly on the verge of victory. Carlos has evolved over the course of the thirteen books from a mob boss to the chairman of Hell¿s Board o a Netura who worships the Light. He has come a long way from the vice king to a hero worthy of Damali. The final excellent tale in this great saga is an exciting and evocative urban fantasy.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Best one yet!!!!

    Luv it the whole damn series!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read, so sorry the series had to end

    Excellent read, so sorry the series had to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    The Best series ever

    I have read all the books in this series. I don't know how Ms. Banks does it but she does it like no other. The storyline, the characters the way she uses current events and past. I just love the way she connects the ancient with the new world. The light vs. the dark. And the light knows how to kick butt with attitude. I have all Ms. Banks books in paperback and on my Nook to show my support and my appreciation for the Kings, Queens,Neteru's and the light!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    I Wish I Never Read It

    This is the finale of L.A. Banks' Vampire Huntress Legend series, and I only read it to finish off the series (which I read because I happen to love vampire novels). As with every other book in this series, it is drawn out and preachy. Unfortunately it is also anti-climactic, but epically so, because the anticipation for the final battle had been building from book 4, at least. You go through an entire book (the first 160 of 235 pages) trying to figure out how to kill a boss-level demon that winds up going down in less than a page. The master vampires and the Devil's wife (who literally bring hell on earth) go down in less than a paragraph, each. This is why I gave the book one star. That it is as bad as the previous 11 books was expected, but that it also didn't deliver on the amazing end-of-days battle it had promised made me wish I'd never started the series at all. We meet the founding members of the Neteru team in book 1 (Minion), and the team only gets bigger (and supposedly better) as the book goes on, yet they don't behave like seasoned "warriors of the light" at all. This is the group that's slated to save mankind, the professionals, the bad ass of all bad asses, and yet the members are throwing temper tantrums in the finale because they have to actually save the world. If your heroes don't even have faith in the good side (which they should with all the religious over-tones, since nothing is subtle or nuanced in L.A.'s writing), why should the reader? Not to mention the dialogue between the characters is awkward, and makes you wonder if L.A.'s last encounter with slang was with suburban kids in 1998. In addition to having heroes that are really hard to find believable, the book does a lot of cramming. ALL of the books in this series crammed, but this was the worst. Not only did you have to keep track of the convoluted plot, and the characters previously introduced, L.A. chooses the last book to introduce even more characters. Supposedly, the presence of these last minute add-ons is crucial because our cream-of-the-crop team could not save the world without them. For me, it got to the point that every time a new name appeared, I skipped three pages (in some cases, I even fast-forwarded to the end of the chapter). Also, if you're not a Revelations (the last book in the Bible) buff you'll probably find yourself skipping a lot of pages because L.A. goes through great lengths to mention the seven seals and the horsemen. I still don't know the meanings of the seals, and I still don't care. Basically, the seals just wound up meaning more hyped up bad guys were coming, and they would die within a sentence (so much for the hype). Finally, the book literally feels cut off. Perhaps L.A.'s editors told her to wrap it up and she ran out of time, or they went at the original manuscript with a hacksaw. Either way, the beginning of the book feels slower than molasses, while the ending feels like it was blown out of a whoopee cushion (quick and sloppy). I wouldn't recommend it to my arch nemesis.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Must Have Series!

    I loved, loved, loved this series. I went to the library to get the first two books after receiving a strong recommendation from a coworker. Well needless to say I am now the proud owner of the entire series. Each book took me about 1-2 days to read (it usually takes me around a week to read a book). They were that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this series

    I had to read this series to the end. Very good read and very intersting story, plot and characters. I loved how L A Banks gets down every detail - your imagination takes over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Vampire Story With A Touch of Revelation!

    Okay, This is a great series, as I started reading from book 1, 2 and 3, I thought it was like underworld the movie, but then I had a revelation...this is more like the Left Behind Series (I have to admit I was not thrilled, but forged on, and to my surprise it was more than worth it). Yes, a vampire story with a touch of revelation, plus a great love story. I have to admit Carlos and Damali's romance is hot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT!!!!!!!!

    Stylistically, it's one of the best books in the series. I've loved watching her writing mature with each novel she produces. I admit, the beginning of the series is a little rough, but the culmination to the 13th is awesome and well worth reading though the initial style. I just finished it and now I feel a void in my life. That's the sign of a good series. What a fabulous story. What a fabulous finale. I want a Carlos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book by L.A. Banks!

    I have read and own all of her books in this series and find them fabulous! I collect vampire/werewolf books and hers are some of the best. I have over 300 books in this genre.
    The plots are all great, as are her characters, especially Damali and Carlos. How she came up with the idea of the stories relative to the Armageddon is wonderful. So creative!
    I am sorry to see her write this final book in the series. Although, she does leave room for the possibility for the guardian's children to take up the fight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What?!!!!

    Once again LA Banks has created a masterpiece!!! Her to tie up loos ends & still leave room for the imgination to wonder & wander is shear genius. Her storytelling skills are off the hook. The final (yet not last) story in the series continued to bring it...HARD!!! I LUV THIS STUFF!!! Ms. Banks spreads her luv of a good story like a philanthropist. Her character studies sends her readers on a ride of self discovery without them even realizing it.

    The WOL rocked it hard & blow the roof off of Hell in a classic L.A. Banks style. I am sad to see the series come to end, but I am thrilled that Damali& carlos & the team prevailed & have a reprieve to raise their children in preparation for the next battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good conclusion to a series

    The book is just amazing. The plot just keeps going without pause. Wish the author could continue the series. I am still left wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awww WHYYYYY

    im kinda sad that this series has ended...from the first book to the last it draws you and and makes you want more...i guess i can't complain to much this was the best series of books i've read in my life...i guess i'll have to start reading the Crimson Moon series...i love this writer and her work!!! L.A. Banks is the best!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    great book

    I enjoy this and the rest so much that I read them again and again. I'm sorry this will be the last book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    WOW! what a great way to 'end' a series

    I didn't want the story to end, but i think she's left herself some room to pick it up later. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Damali and Carlos' love story, and their adventures, and would recommend the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as previous novels

    I love LA Banks and I love the Neteru Huntress series. I've been with it from the very beginning and the storylines have always been great and intriguing. The Thirteenth, the final novel in the series, felt rushed to me. It was kind of let down. It seemed like Banks was just ready for the series to be over, but wasn't really focused on giving a good story. It was more of a wrap up session than a great explosive ending. It was a good read, just not what I would have expected from someone as talented as Banks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Series Ending?

    L.A. Banks' Vampire Huntress series comes to an end, but I found it rushed and over far too quickly. Maybe I just never wanted the adventure to stop, but in a series of high octane, phenomenal characters, and moral questioning I was underwhelmed with this conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3