Customer Reviews for

The Thirteenth Princess

Average Rating 5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for Teens Read Too

    After her mother, the queen, dies in childbirth, Zita is cast away by her father and forced to live in her own home as a servant. Her few encounters with her father are usually brief and heated. Her only bright light of hope is her twelve older sisters and her weekly night escapades into their bedroom. When the princesses start falling ill and their shoes keep getting well-worn, Zita takes it upon herself to figure out what is happening. With no knowledge of magic because of the king's ban on it, she turns to an elderly witch who lives on the outskirts of the grounds, hidden from human view. In an attempt to break the possible curse, Zita tries to send out letters to the neighboring kingdoms. She promises them the hand of her eldest sister if they can break the enchantment. Her father, however, catches her before she can send them and she is forced to try other measures. Shortly after, she feels she is being watched by someone, and that the danger that may cause her sister's deaths is growing stronger. Can Zita shake the watchful eyes and save her sisters? Will she ever be able to truly call the castle her home? A great book filled with action and adventure. Although the secondary characters are a little underdeveloped, the main characters are well-done. The plot is intense and keeps the story moving along quickly. Those who like fairy tales, mysteries, fantasy, and books with lots of danger will enjoy reading THE THIRTEENTH PRINCESS.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A step up!

    This book was my favorite telling of the twelve dancing princesses ever! I have read many retellings but none like this. This book was interesting,funny,and unexpected. Each chapter kept me on the edge of me seat, wanting to find out more. The story is told by the youngest of the twelve pricesses - she is the thirteenth princess. I have never read retelling that has been told from this point of view. I have always read retellings told by one of the princesses who were cursed to dance, or the prince who saved them. This story was told from an observer of the curse. The reasons for the curse also made this story more interesting then most. It made perfect sense. Unlike most retellings it was not overly weird, or filled with the normal dark magic, and evil princes. You will be surprised by the outcome. It is a step up from other books! I suggest this for girls ages 12 and up. There were a few suggestive things said in this book, so parents may want to make sure that the reader is old enough to read this book. No langauge was used.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful tale, a literary accomplishment.

    The Thirteenth Princess is a superb reworking of the Twelve Dancing Princesses fairy tale, told from the spunky point-of-view of Zita, those princesses' youngest sister, whom they hardly know at the outset of the narrative. As finely written as it is intelligently conceived, this novel pleased me enormously; indeed, I read it at bedtime with my sixth-grade daughter, who listened with enthusiasm. Often I cringe at the sassy, ironic, even jaded sorts of first-person narrators telling the stories of contemporary middle-school fiction. By contrast, Zita has a fresh, hopeful perspective, neither naive nor worldly; and the story Diane Zahler lets Zita shape and filter points up her strengths of character: sensitivity and curiosity, bravery and ingenuity, vigor and determination. As the story unfolds, Zita gains more than a family: she learns what good she can accomplish when love is her guide. And her marvelous accomplices in saving her sisters' lives -- her plucky friend Breckin and the wise witch Babette -- are fully realized characters in their own right who are integral to the plot and to Zita's journey toward family and self-realization. My daughter and I look forward with anticipation to Zahler's next work of fiction.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Awesoest book ever

    This is one of my all time favorite books!I think everyone should get a chance to read it and I highy reccomend it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Love

    So good. I think everyone should read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great fairytale adaptation!

    This is the story of Zita, the thirteenth princess to a king who has no sons. Her being the thirteenth girl, he banished her to the kitchens at birth. Her twelve sisters are the sisters known in the fairy tale twelve dancing princesses. Zita, since she works as a servant, escapes the curse that causes her sisters to dance themselves to exhaustion every night. Once she finds out that she too is a princess, her and her newfound friends must help rescue the rest of the sisters from the terrbible curse before they dance themselves to death! This book is engaging and great for any girls 9 and up who want a good princess story. Well written and woven with great descriptions of castles, dresses and witches, I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Best ever.

    I won this book and SQUEE I LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Best book ever

    This is such a good book and it is beautufuly written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    A really good book!!

    I have read it more than once and I love it!! Zita is definitely a good role model of sisterly love. I liked how she risked everything to save her sisters, like risking the possibility of being seen by the one who enchanted her sisters. It really is a must read book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    This is a really good book ITS ONE OF MY MY FAVORITE BOOKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is sooooooooo one of my favorite books ever i love th way the author tells the story and the voice in this wants me to read thos book over and over again i recommend u read this its so good u have to read this book its sooooo good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Best book

    I loved this book out of all the books I read my whole life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Read it before

    I read this before and fell in love with it! You will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    This book was amazing! I loved how she decribed Zita and I love that name! I thought the ending was very sweet. I would sooo recommend this book! Well done :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Review for the 13 princess

    I like the book its really nice .its amazeing how the writer did such a good book with only 14 chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Totally awesome

    Read it. Stayed up all night just do I could finish it all in one day but it was so good I wouldnt of put it down even if I wanted to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    LOVE it!!!!!!!!

    I read this book when i was 6 and i loooved it since then till now, im 11 now, i have read it 8 times and am going for my 9 th

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    LOVED IT SOOOOOOO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Definitly five stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a really awsome book! And its the 3rd time i read it!!!!!! I LOVE IT SO MUCH!!!!!!! ONE IF MY FAVORITE BOOKS FOR SURE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D ;D :) : O : P 8) : / :( :# B) BD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    This the best book ever

    Aaaaaaaswwwwwwwsssssssoooooommmmmmeeeeee!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was the best book i read in a wile:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    HI IM ONLY THREE YARS OLD

    My mama red this book to me and it waz relly good. You suld red the tru princeess book to. Bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3