Customer Reviews for

The Thirteenth Tale

Average Rating 4
( 1673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(916)

4 Star

(446)

3 Star

(171)

2 Star

(76)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Loved the Twists and Turns!

I read this book for our book club. It was captivating after the first 30 pages or so. The writing style is beautiful and it kept me wondering throughout the book. I usually can figure out the twists and mysteries as I read- but this was really different and fascinating...
I read this book for our book club. It was captivating after the first 30 pages or so. The writing style is beautiful and it kept me wondering throughout the book. I usually can figure out the twists and mysteries as I read- but this was really different and fascinating to the end!
My book club loved it as well. It was really interesting discussing it and most of us went home and read it again!

posted by PDee on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Wordy...unable to enjoy.

I read the first several pages and found myself suffocated by the author's extravagant application of words. Her philosophy appears to be: why use a few well chosen words to convey an idea when twenty words can be crammed into the sentence instead? I imagined the auth...
I read the first several pages and found myself suffocated by the author's extravagant application of words. Her philosophy appears to be: why use a few well chosen words to convey an idea when twenty words can be crammed into the sentence instead? I imagined the author as an acquaintance endeavoring to tell a story aloud, and myself having to stifle the urge to interrupt and ask her to get to the point. I skipped ahead to the middle of the book and discovered the same wordy trend. I do love a big fat book, but only if the content justifies the length of the manuscript as a whole, as well as that of its descriptions and dialogue. In reading, as in most things, less can be more. Too much chattiness, and my interest wanes. But that is my opinion and not a universal perception. If you enjoy verbosity or simply have more patience, this could be a good read for you.

posted by kepcmari on July 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Was that it???

    The only reason....I bought this book was because it was recommended by Barnes and Noble. The only reason...I kept reading this incredibly boring book was the thought that it has to get better than this. However, it did not. The only reason...I am keeping this book is to give it to someone I don't like :) Wow, what a major disappointment this book was from the beginning to the drawn out end. I would only recommend this book to readers who don't like character developement, and adore cheesy endings. It wouldn't even be considered a good beach read. One word would sum it up....Boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    Riveting ??? Hmmm, how about BORING !!!

    The audiobook: After listening to The Historian, a fresh approach to the standard vampire tale, I had high hopes for The Thirteenth Tale. I purchased the abridged audio, thank goodness, and was so bored I finally gave up - can¿t imagine actually READING this dull story. Anyone finishing it deserves a medal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    Dreadful

    This book was a huge disappointment. It is hardly the same caliber as the Bronte sisters or Daphne duMaurier.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    DIsappointing

    It is not unputdownable. The story was very slow. The characters are not captivating. I had such high hopes when I bought this book, wish I hadn't.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    In need of editing

    Reading this book was like reading a rough draft of a novel. I think it needed some more tweaking and fine-tuning before it was printed. It just was not a complete story. The whole thing felt like it was rushed and lacking in details. Overall, I think this is a poor novel and very disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Disappointing

    Well written, but worth writting? Not really. Barnes and Nobel is giving this title a big push and everybody will make a lot of money. The book captured my interest at first but it runs out of steam. Like another writer here, I ran out of interst long before I ran out of pages. It was a book I could put down---and did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Ick

    HATE HATE HATE HATE IT SO MUCH i PUKED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    not that great

    I read this then I read the Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. Same background things going on, different era... not worth the $12.99 I paid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Dreary and Failed

    Devoid of joy. Rape, incest, disfunction of every kind. And then, after slogging through all that slime, the ending was a 'huh, what was that?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Engaging, but not worth your time

    This book was well written and had well developed characters, but I would not recommend it to anyone. The book is long and depressing. It seems every character (except one) is underg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    The hunger games

    I really hated the book thats why i dint rate the book anything except for 1star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    slow

    Didn't care for this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Not very exciting

    Slow read with little to no climax

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Selective reading

    If you enjoy reading books where the plot starts on page one then this is NOT the book for you. I'm 30 pages in and not only do i keep falling asleep but my nook has shut itself off twice. I've given up.

    However, my mother and a very close friend both absolutely loved it. My mother enjoys the easy going read and my close friend said she skimmed the slow parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Disappointing & too wordy

    I was really excited to read this book but I found it hard to finish. It was extremely slow. The writing style is way too wordy, I like descriptive writing with good imagery but this was too much. The ending was a huge disappointment as well. I was really unsatisfied after I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Agreeing with 'Bored'...

    A good idea for a book, this really fell short. It's chic-lit dressed up with a more serious looking cover and not meant for anyone who wants LITERATURE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4