BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thirty Nights with a Highland Husband (Daughters of the Glen Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were well thought out and developed, the storyline flowed easily and it was very entertaining to read. If you enjoy time travel, romance and a little faerie magic, you will like this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Good Series

    Worth your time if you like time travel, fairies and hunky highlanders!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Story

    ***NOTE MY REVIEWS OFTEN CONTAIN SPOILERS***

    Conner MacKiernan is a 13th century highland knight sworn into the king's service. He should have been laird, but since he was only a child when his father and brothers passed away, his awful uncle usurped his title and Conner has no desire to see the lives of his people lost in a war over who should lead them. When his Uncle promises his younger sister into a marriage with an older laird Mairi doesn't love who's already killed three wives before her Conner doesn't know what to do. He can't stand and protect Mairi while still in the king's service. He can't leave the king's service unless he marries himself and seven years before he made a vow before god and man that he'd marry no woman who currently walked the earth. The action had seemed understandable at the time, considering his betrothed has married his Uncle while he was off serving the king, but it left him with little choice but to turn to his aunt, a descent of the Fairy Prince Pol to help him find someone who can help him. Rosalyn, Conner's lovable and meddling aunt sends Connor forward in time where be meets and retrieves Caitlyn Coryell from modern day Colorado to be his new bride. Caitlyn has just caught her fiance cheating on her with his secretary only to have him tell her it was her fault for not being more adventurous or providing for his needs by sleeping with him. Worse than this she almost believes he's right so when Connor shows up and offers her this chance at an adventure she doesn't turn him down. What follows is an adventurous and humorous tale of love and intrigue in 13th century Scotland. Neither Connor nor Caitlyn is ready to trust a member of the opposite sex, but if they don't trust each other or open their hearts, what cost will it be to their lives?

    Have you ever read one of those stories where you find yourself so lost in the story that when you finish it you have a hard time going back and looking at it critically? For me this tale of magic, mystery and love in the Highlands was once such tale. I debated for a while between just giving it a five star rating and gushing over it or stopping to think if anything really bothered me with this novel, my status update on good reads reminded me that at the beginning I was ready to slap Cate upside the head for her behavior so I decided to rate this at four stars.

    The book does have a great set up with excellent character growth, but I just can't bring myself to give a five star rating to a book where the female lead pretty much convinces herself it's her fault her fiance cheated on her. In the beginning chapters you actually get to listen to the thought process as she rationalizes Richard's behavior and finds only herself to blame. While she does decide to call of the wedding it's not because of Richard's actions, it's because she realized she was only marrying him because her mother and grandmother had been married at her age. Her wedding was basically a check mark on her to do list and her older brother convinced her that love doesn't work like that. Umm how about the fact you're engaged to a slime ball as a good reason to call off the wedding?! If my fiance ever did that to me then tried to tell me it was my fault I'd be causing him bodily harm to ensure he never did it again and I certainly wouldn't marry him. It wouldn't be my fault it would be his fault. Cate does grow through out the book, getting a backbone, slowly seeing her worth, a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    easy read

    Enjoyable, light read. Tempted to try one more of hers, but not quite decided yet. Seems a little too familiar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    If you like romantic advenure and mystery storys then you should enjoy "Thirty Nights with a Highland Husband"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    A Romantic Romp Thru Time

    A great read. Time travel, romance and mystery, all in one. I'm thrilled to find out its only the first in the series. Let's hope there's some connections between this and the ones to come!! I love a big family saga!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2