BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

This Beautiful Life

Average Rating 3
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent character driven short novel

The plot of "My Beautiful Life" is well-described here already.

What seems to have been missed in the reviews below is that the reason to read this book is the revelation of character. Despite the sensational premise, it's not about the plot. It's not a "beach read."...
The plot of "My Beautiful Life" is well-described here already.

What seems to have been missed in the reviews below is that the reason to read this book is the revelation of character. Despite the sensational premise, it's not about the plot. It's not a "beach read." And while suspenseful, it's best read not too quickly.

Jake in particular, the 15 1/2 year old boy, is a tour de force. but his parents, the other two main characters, are well-drawn also if not as completely fleshed out. I'd have liked to have understood more, for example, about the mother's actual interest in art history as art & history, and not merely a career. I'd have liked a little more elaboration of Richard's conflict between his drive and gentler qualities. It's all explained, but I'd have liked to have seen the conflict.

I found the ending satisfying and realistic.

Definitely 5 stars.

posted by BillGNY on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Really bad...

I'm sorry but this gratuitously vulgar, stale, self-absorbed book was a waste of $12. It is so overwritten and precious that I feel like I am reading some high school creative writing project.

posted by 9238787 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Excellent character driven short novel

    The plot of "My Beautiful Life" is well-described here already.

    What seems to have been missed in the reviews below is that the reason to read this book is the revelation of character. Despite the sensational premise, it's not about the plot. It's not a "beach read." And while suspenseful, it's best read not too quickly.

    Jake in particular, the 15 1/2 year old boy, is a tour de force. but his parents, the other two main characters, are well-drawn also if not as completely fleshed out. I'd have liked to have understood more, for example, about the mother's actual interest in art history as art & history, and not merely a career. I'd have liked a little more elaboration of Richard's conflict between his drive and gentler qualities. It's all explained, but I'd have liked to have seen the conflict.

    I found the ending satisfying and realistic.

    Definitely 5 stars.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    DON'T POST AT MY BAR!!!!

    IT AIN'T FOR ADVERTISEMENTS!!! GO BE A SL.UT SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    I Like your story/blog thing!

    It is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Nice

    Good luck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    This Life

    I'm not a girl who has everything she wants. I'm also not living a bad, horrible life. But things are kept inside. And I want to let them out. There's nothing bad about that, right? I wouldn't call myself pretty. I have brown eyes, brown hair. There is nothing special about me. I have my best friends: Katy, Arlie, and Emma. They're basically my only friends. Yesterday Katy and I were homecoming dress shopping. She got a great, beautiful dress. It was the prettiest thing I have ever seen. Mine was basic. Normal, but it made me feel better about myself. I looked i the mirror at the store and told myself that I looked okay. I felt wonderful. So I got my dress for homecoming. I wish there was a way to get a homecoming date that easily. Okay, I'm going to be 100% honest. I have never had a real life boyfriend. I have had some internet ones that have only resulted in crushing heartbreak. I got cheated on...twice. By the same guy. Anyway, I would love to hav a homecoming date. More specific, I'd really like this guy in my English class that I have a major crush on to ask me. But that won't happen. I haven't talked him. Maybe twice...about English. I listened to his stories Friday. I looked in those light green eyes and got trapped inside. I'm pretty sure I left my heart there. It hurts...for no specific reason. I just really like him. He's not the hottest thing, which is good because I'm not exactly a looker, but he's got my heart. He doesn't even know me that much. It's sad. I'm such a hopeless romantic. I'm also very, unnaturally shy around him. I have trouble, looking, at him. I got some advice today. The next time I see him I will send a smile his way...hopefully. It might come out as smile...or an awkward face scrunch. I' getting butterflies just thinking about it. Anyway, this guys name is Carson. Hopefully he will be in this story a lot later on...or soon. Soon would be great. But I might actually have to talk for this to happen. Is it bad that I have been watchig youtube videos about how to get a guy to like you? And everyone says be confident. I really just want to dive into Carson's eyes, and never come back from that sea of green. But if you think I'm telling him that, you're crazy. This is the first time I've had crush in a while. I'm going crazy. He is always on my mind. I think about him legit 24/7. My heart flutters. He's tall. Like...really tall. Probably around 6'0"...or taller. I'm a whole 5'4". I'm already nervous for tomorrow. Because I have to smile at him. That has taken my patheticness to a whole new level. Maybe this is more of a blog...whatever you want to call it, it is going to have to come to an end for now. Maybe tomorrow I will have some exciting news. Or I could just continue to mentally imagein Carson and I together. So, this will be al for today...wish m luck. And for the ones who will come back tomorrow, if there are any, you are the best. I just feel the need to tell someone everything. And this is my way of doing so. Ifyou were bored beyond recognition, well...bye then. I won't see those wh don't care. Okay, I'm leaving now. Did I mention my crush is a fighting ginger? Yeah, now I'm really going to go. Daydream about my bae *snorts sarcastically* or not my bae. I just found out what that meant too. Bye guys, thanks for listening and not judging. Or judging. Whatever suits you best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Miss holo

    Sits in a chair, feet propped up on her desk. She has her eyes closed.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Anna

    Bad you! I'll recommend the another book to you lol.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Gripping read, Flat ending

    I enjoyed this book but thought the ending could have been more developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Literally could not put this book down...as a mother of twin 20 year old men, I could easily identify with Jake and his family, and felt that, "but for the grace of God, there go I."

    This book was selected as our book club's September reading - and when I read the prior reader reviews on the Barnes and Noble website, I was not sure that I wanted to spend $25 for a book that was so poorly rated. However, I am glad that I ordered it and have read it, as it is timely, pertinent and thought as well as discussion provoking. As a 4th and 5th grade Sunday School teacher, I like to keep abreast (no pun intended) of what things are happening in all facets in the lives of my students, including morally. This book rocked me to my core - not because it was inappropriate in any way - but rather because I realized how easily this could happen to anyone - and the devastating consequences that would result - on a myriad of levels. Highly, highly recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book. Great characters. Very real and could happen anyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1