BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

This Boy's Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2001

    This Boy's Life: Two Thumbs Up

    Living in a dysfunctional family in the 1950s and 1960s isn¿t easy. Tobias Wolff¿s novel This Boy¿s Life is a moving tale of the frustrations of young Toby, constantly on the move with his mother, Rosemary, to avoid his violent father. They travel from Florida to Utah to Washington in hope of a better life; but what they really find is that they are no better off when they were back in Florida. Throughout the novel, Toby struggles in finding his own identity and pretends to be what other people want him to be. Because of this, Toby starts to steal and lie to find friends and fit in. He tries to make his mother happy by being the person she wants him to be. In doing so, he loses sight of his own identity. But his mother sees his problem as a lack of a fatherly figure and tries to appease him by marring a man named Dwight, who turns out to be an abusive drunk and a liar. Toby¿s strategies to avoid Dwight¿running away to Alaska, forging checks, stealing cars¿lead Toby to believe in the possibilities of escaping to a new world. This Boy¿s Life is truly a novel that will catch anyone¿s attention. Although the book can be read fairly easy, many people can relate to the struggles of adversity, which makes this novel so powerful. Wolff does a remarkable job of creating the frustrations and the cruelties of adolescence. The humor combined with the seriousness makes the reader have a new outlook on life, and how fortunate some of us are to have it. Overall, this book rates five stars and should be a part of everyone¿s book list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    This book should really be read with his brother Tobias' book 'T

    This book should really be read with his brother Tobias' book 'This Boy's Life' as a companion. Taken together they become all that more powerful and we see the true power of family and brotherhood. Both are amazing writers and both cause you to loose your place in your own world as you are drawn into theirs. If I could I would recommend these two books for college courses as well as high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    My favorite memoir of all time. Poignant and funny. Great storie

    My favorite memoir of all time. Poignant and funny. Great stories that touch on your heart. I've read it three times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A childhood filled with hardships that turned out for the better

    A childhood filled with hardships that turned out for the better. Wolff completely amazed critics and readers of this intimate memoir that tells the stories of his early struggles in life. A life that wasn’t as happy or easy as it should be during juvenile times. The separation of his mother and father will be hard for him to reminisce on, but that did lead him into the person he is today. Mr. Wolff depicts relatable family issues that allow the audience to feel as if they could or have possibly gone through the same difficulties. The novel is a strong dose of reality that can hit hard to some people who own a past that they also can’t seem to forget. Yet Tobias and those people both know that everything happens for a reason since life always gets better. Life is supposed to be a challenge that tests a person’s capability to face them, but it will never win someone over unless they let themselves vulnerable to failure. A piece that will remind the reader to count their blessings and never let their hopes down, trudge forward to a brighter future. That’s what his mindset was throughout the entire book. Optimism kept his faith in a destination that will be joyful for his mother and himself, a place that will take years to get to (one dislike: the story was kind of long since it described unnecessary details of each year). But in the meantime, his chin was high and that was a moral that every reader should take from reading this memoir. Not only does has Wolff written an inspiring piece of his personal memories, but he has also published two other memoirs; In Pharaoh’s Army, a frontrunner for the National Book Award and The Barracks. Theif, winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction (pictured below).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Love Stephen King? You'll love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Great read

    This book is amazingly fun to read. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Incredible

    I havrnt relly read the book but the movie is so touching im 13 year old girl i cried during the movie its so touching and sympathetic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    wonderful

    I've read this 3 or 4 times--and I rarely reread books. Such a rich a warm memoir. If you haven't read, you are in for a treat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    not a gentle childhood

    tough and difficult story told with obvious honesty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Memoir

    I was surprised to enjoy this book as much as I did. I picked it up a few times, read the first few sentences and put it back down, which usually isn't a good sign. But after reading it in its entirety, I found This Boy's Life a great read. It's tough, realistic, and not overly sentimental.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    A Great Read

    I enjoyed every page of Wolff's memoir. As I read the book I connected with a lot of what Wolff was describing as he was younger. The diction that Wolff used made it really easy to understand him, but the things he writes about make the book anything but simple. I felt that Wolff used understatement wonderfully in his story. I never thought that the good times were all that good, and the bad times never seemed too terrible. At times, I even felt myself feeling sympathetic to Toby¿s drunken, abusive stepfather. This is a great book for anyone that is looking for a quick, engaging read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    BEST BOOK EVER!

    this was an awesome book. one of the best i have ever read. anyone who wants a good book to read should read this one. its really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    The greats book I ever read.

    This boys life was a great book to read as a teenager. It absolutly fasnated me in all kinds of ways. If you haven't read this book yet I suggest you go get it and read it.It is my faorite book of all time to this day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    A near-perfect memoir

    Wolff writes with painfully truthful and accurate prose. A Boy's Life is one of those rare books that educate, inspire, and stay with you for years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    A good Movie also.

    I wanted to read This Boys life but I only got to see the movie. Which is great!! In the movie Dwight almost chokes Toby to death!! But luckly his mother comes through for him. The ending was weak, but still it was a great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    A MUST READ BOOK FOR EVERY GROWING TEEN

    During high school, I was recommended to read this book for my class and like all class readings I usually skimmed it. However, Tobias Wolf's writings won me over and I read his book cover to cover. It's an emotional rollcoaster of humor, sadness and pure determination. What make this book so intereesting is that Wolf presents his life story in a format as if he is explaining it as if he was the young Toby; an excellent writing technique. As a result, this makes the reader feel as though he is taking the jounrey with young Toby. Even during college, I found myself wanting to read this book every year and it never seemed to lose its lustier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    A Good Essay Book

    This book was a very excellent book to read. It is a fast reading book, I read it in 2 days. I ended up getting an A on my Summer Reading Book Essay on this book. It is easy to understanding all the key points in it and how young Tobias matures. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate this book at a 10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    This Boy's Life

    I was required to read this book for school, and I thought it was an okay book. Not Outstanding or Horrible. Just Okay. It tells of Toby's adolescence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    An outstanding book

    This book was really good. i enjoyed it. i had to read it for the summer for school and it was great. Wolff did an awesome job writing this book and anybody would enjoy this book. I would recommend this to anyone, so go to your nearest library or bookstore and read it. its 285 pgs but you will get into it so much that you wont even notice the pages because its that interesting. Enjoy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2002

    A Memoir

    'This Boys Life' by Tobias Wolff tells about the authors boy-hood and the struggles he went through to gain self-respect. Toby is a cunning, non-racial youth. The novel is a great coming of age book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3