Customer Reviews for

This Charming Man

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

a superb character study.

The media and most of the female population of Dublin named Paddy de Courcy ¿Ireland's most eligible politician¿. Many females dream of being the one who caught the handsome hunk. However, when he announces his engagement, a horde of women go into mourning.-----------...
The media and most of the female population of Dublin named Paddy de Courcy ¿Ireland's most eligible politician¿. Many females dream of being the one who caught the handsome hunk. However, when he announces his engagement, a horde of women go into mourning.------------------- Stylist to the rich and famous Lola Daly is especially stunned feeling betrayed as she had been seeing Paddy for over a year and had no inkling he was dating someone else more seriously. Reporter Grace Gildee is also a wee bit surprised as she remembers Paddy from college when he and her twin sister Marnie had an odd relationship that led to her sibling becoming emotionally fractured. Unable to resist and not trusting Paddy, Grace investigates only to learn the truth about the soulless rogue. She decides it is time for a reckoning with the help of Marnie and Lola.-------------- This is a great charmer that balances darkness with hope. The three women are solid characters teaming up on a mission of vengeance while their antagonist is a fabulous shallow hunk who uses people like a soul draining vampire. Using dark humor at the perfect moments, Marian Keyes provides a strong look at the causal effect of alcohol and drug abuse, depression and suicidal tendencies, and violent relationships leading to individual destruction. THIS CHARMING MAN is a superb character study.------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I have really enjoyed all of Marian Keyes' books, so I was a little surprised to not dig this one very much. The premise of the book was promising and there were some truly good moments. However, I found it hard to care about any of the characters and I was particularly...
I have really enjoyed all of Marian Keyes' books, so I was a little surprised to not dig this one very much. The premise of the book was promising and there were some truly good moments. However, I found it hard to care about any of the characters and I was particularly disappointed that Alecia's viewpoint was reduced to about 4 total pages of the entire book. Maybe because the topics (alcholism and domestic violence) were so sensitive, I found it hard to find the whimsical, comedic tone I've come to appreciate with Keyes' previous work.

posted by Anonymous on July 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    CONTAINS SPOILERS!!!!- I am a huge fan of Marian Keyes. Rachel's Holiday and Anybody Out There? are my favorites. I really really liked This Charming Man, but gave it only 4 stars for one reason: The decisions Grace makes with respect to Paddy are not believable. Grace knew what Paddy did to Marnie and yet was still drawn to him?? I have a sister and I can tell you if my sister was hurt in that way I would never go near 5 feet of her abuser. Other than that I loved the book. I didn't find Lola's sections difficult to read. They were hysterical. Thanks Marian for a wonderfully entertaining book that made us laugh and cry all in one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read with depth

    Although it is a work of fiction, the author weaves deep topics, such as alcoholism and abuse, into the story line. At the beginning, I was put off by the short, choppy journaling of Lola, and was relieved to see that the author didn't use that method when telling the other characters' stories. Paddy was a piece of work (and all of us know someone like him that has influenced either us directly or someone close to us) and it was great to see him get his just reward! There was a twist to the story at the end that I didn't see coming. Nice job, Marian. This is my first book by this author and I will look forward to reading more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    GOOD READ!

    GOOD EASY READ. EVEN THOUGH IT WAS LONG, TOOK ME NO TIME TO FINISH IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating with True Life Dilemas!

    Marian Keys has a knack for writing. In her books, she brings about real life struggles that people go through, adding touch of reality to her novels. "This Charming Man" centers around domestic abuse, depression, true love, alcoholism, and trust. Its tells the story of 3 woman, all who have been with one charming man 'Paddy deCorsy' and how their lives were deeply impacted by him. Now, although I was a bit disappointed in the end (because it didn't tell us what happened next) I was pleased reading it. Its a hit, and one that should not be missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    This was a great book esp for a rainy day. I have read many books by this author & have loved them all. I was a little confused w/ the Lola character at one point in regard to the cross dressing crew. I didn't understand who was who & what gender some of the characters were. Other then that, it was a really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    A Few Loose Ends, but still an Enjoyable Read

    I have always enjoyed Marian Keyes' novels, and this one was no exception. Keyes has a knack for writing about some heavy and dark relationship issues while still managing to interject a lot of humor. I have only a couple of complaints--yes, like others who have commented on this novel, Marnie's struggle with alcoholism does get a bit bogged down. However, I think it was meant to be that way. Just as in real life, when someone has a chronic problem, those closest to the person care, and care, and care, until eventually they pull away out of exasperation. There is a limit to how much one is willing to put up with, and the reader is put through that emotion right along with Grace.
    The bigger issue I had trouble with was in the second and final confrontation with Paddy de Courcy. Getting him to make an apology to each of the women -- and, if you ask me, not much of an apology ("I'm sorry IF I hurt you???) was presented as if it was some big triumph on the women's part. It would have been much better if he had been arrested and publicly humiliated. The other item I took issue with was Grace and the others wanting to go off and celebrate by drinking. It didn't ring true to me that Grace would want to do this and have her sister come along after all she had been through trying to get Marnie off liquor. Alicia's character was also too minmal. I would have liked to see her personality fleshed out much more. However, those three issues aside, this was an enjoyable read. It's nice, too, to read a story once in a while that has a happy or hopeful ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not very charming...

    I really enjoyed reading the different viewpoints from some of Mr. Charming's women. Lola's "voice" became annoying at times, but I thought her story was the most compelling. And the little snippits between chapters, giving us a glimpse of his actions, was a great idea! I totally understood how these otherwise smart women could get sucked into an abusive relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Pretty Good

    Marian is such a good story teller, it's hard to diss her books. And while I recommend this one, I do so with the caveat that it's not quite as good as her others. Marnie's story, particularly, became tedious. Marian does a fabulous job of getting her point across about what it's like to be an addict, as she so deftly showed us in 'Rachel's Holiday', -- the denials, the exuses, the sacrificing of all things good in one's life for love of alcohol and/or drugs. She makes the reader understand, but she seems to have a hard time knowing when to stop. I found myself thinking, 'O.K., I get it. You can stop now.' Also, the way she wrote Lola's story 'that incomplete, choppy style' was difficult to to read, but Lola's story was so good, I was able to eventually get the rhythm. In the end, and in typcial Marian fashion, she has tackled very heavy subjects, alcoholism and marital abuse, with wit and sensitivity. Not to mention the hopeful, if not downright happy, endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    I was a little surprised, but I loved it.

    I've read all of her books and this one surprised me a bit. It started off in Lola's voice (I, for one, like the diary short hand!) Very funny. Grace is a cool, likable character. But the tone quickly turns darker and serious when we see hints of horrible abuse taking place and Marnie's story is heartbreaking. (The story gets a bit bogged down with her). Still, Marian is able to keep it real and keep it funny. I think it's a great book that hits a lot of nerves. I finished it last night and I've been thinking about it all day. I recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    A Good Read

    As usual, Marian Keyes newest novel, This Charming Man, kept my interest and I recommend it. Although the book claims to be about 4 women affected by one man, Paddy de Courcy, Alicia remains a mystery to the end. I never considered Paddy as charming, either. A number of reviewers have commented negatively on Lola's voice, as the writing is in diary short-hand. However, in the first chapter, her voice rings true and she is very, very funny. Later on in the book, her short-hand style began to get on my nerves, as all the characters sound like her. Keyes deals with some tough subjects in this book--domestic abuse and alcoholism. She does an exceptional job with these subjects. I really did like this novel, but it was unevenly edited. The beginning and the end were top-notch, the middle needed work. While I would have appreciated more humor in the heart of the book, Keyes does a great job of keeping the reader mystified over several key plots. Keyes has a keen understanding of human behavior that comes out in her books and which make her an internationally best-selling author. She falls slightly short on two key characters in this book, but the other characters--Lola, Grace and Marnie--are all fleshed out very well and I came to care deeply about them. By the author of the award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2