Customer Reviews for

This Family of Mine: What It Was Like Growing Up Gotti

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

riveting! exciting! a page turner!

like all things Gotti--I could not put down this book! From the father, John Gotti and now the daughter and now the rest of the family, I find everything Gotti fascinating! especially since all the public has is the tabloids to depend on when it comes to info on one of ...
like all things Gotti--I could not put down this book! From the father, John Gotti and now the daughter and now the rest of the family, I find everything Gotti fascinating! especially since all the public has is the tabloids to depend on when it comes to info on one of the worlds most talked about families--Victoria Gotti lets readers and curiosity-seekers inside her secretive world for the first time and I could not put the book down! A definite page turner....K. Ross

posted by katieross on October 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A no read

I wish i would not have wasted my money. There are a lot of things being said in this book thst have been proved otherwise... just a way for her to make money to pay her bills since daddy cannot help out anymore.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    This Family of Mine Will Feel Like This Family of Yours

    Book is surprisingly well-written and a heartwarming story in many ways. This Family of Mine will spark similar memories of your own growing up in a close-knit family proving that no matter what your differences are with your parents or siblings, and your history, family comes first and nothing else in life can replace that. A thoroughly enjoyable and a seemingly candor perspective of exactly what it must feel like to grow up with a family of hidden secrets and drama. Read this book and I promise, you will not want to put it down. I loved the touching memories she shared growing up. Congrats to Victoria for an excellent triumph.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    riveting! exciting! a page turner!

    like all things Gotti--I could not put down this book! From the father, John Gotti and now the daughter and now the rest of the family, I find everything Gotti fascinating! especially since all the public has is the tabloids to depend on when it comes to info on one of the worlds most talked about families--Victoria Gotti lets readers and curiosity-seekers inside her secretive world for the first time and I could not put the book down! A definite page turner....K. Ross

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Very interesting look into the Mob

    I loved this book and would recommend it to any person interested in truly understanding a family's journey from poor to rich. The only problem is this daughter did not agree with how her father got there...just that he provided for his family no matter what he had to do. I was intrigued, disgusted, sad, and worried all at once while reading this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    A no read

    I wish i would not have wasted my money. There are a lot of things being said in this book thst have been proved otherwise... just a way for her to make money to pay her bills since daddy cannot help out anymore.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    interesting story, not literary art...

    I read this out of curiousity, and was reasonably surprised at her story telling capabilities. The author provides a realistic account of what it was like growing up sheltered while inside 'the life'.
    Still tragedy and mayhem follow their family as a result of their ill-gotten gains and choices they've made in life. VG gives a human element to her perspective while trying to make a few bucks off her story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    YOU MADE ME FEEL AS I WERE THERE....

    Victoria, I enjoyed your book and I am going to read all the books on you and your father, I could never imagine your life and all you and your family went through. I think you are so beautiful and fun.. I wrote you a letter a while back asking you to help me and my family out.
    I did not receive a responce which surprised me. I will tell all my friends and family about your book and pass my copy on to whom ever is interested in reading it. keep writting, you made me feel as if were there and part of your family. If you are ever interested in a good story about someone that has been though hell and has gotten screwed over. I will be more than happy to share it with you.
    Love you lots.
    Dolores

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Literally was unable to put this book down. I am absolutely enam

    Literally was unable to put this book down. I am absolutely enamored in story of John Gotti and "The Life" in general. Something about the mystery and the secrets just intrigues me beyond reason. I was impressed and pleasantly surprised with how well written this book was. Victoria Gotti is a well educated and well versed author, and shame on me for ever thinking otherwise. It was difficult for me to even put this book down. I kept on wanting to know and learn more. I hope something in the near future will come out from her on a similar subject. I know she is also a fiction author, but I'd much rather read her non-fiction like this story. EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great read

    I could not put the book down it was a well written book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    A very honest well written biography.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Truthful, thought provoking, surprising look into an American enviroment and a side of it that few readers knew they would experience.

    Victoria Gotti, is a far better writer than I would have suspected. The book held my interest in an unusual climate for me. I didn't feel the writing was slanted towards or against anybody or any organization. More of a fact finding experience to the reader.I left the last page with the thought,"no matter what our occupation, interests, endeavors in life, there are many similarities in all of them, good and evil, allowing all of us to be grouped into the same species." Ms. Gotti, did an excellent job of letting us realize her father was indeed a mobster, indeed a human being, indeed kind and loving, after all, there is good in all of us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    touching,inspiring & insightful

    i thought i knew alot about the mafia & the gotti family. i guess i didnt know that much until i read her book. this book made me laugh, cry, and get angry. i loved the part where her uncle peed on her grandfather. i was laughing so hard. i felt bad for ms.gotti w/her health problems and i felt bad for mr gotti. i couldnt believe how much ms.gotti had gone through and the lies from her exhubby. man she went through hell. i think what the prison did to mr.gotti when he died was disrespectful to him and to his family. they could of at least respected his wishes and placd him in a coffin and not a body bag.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enough Already!

    In reading the this book, I became angry, sad, and even frustrated with things that happened in the past with the Gotti family. Victoria takes after her father with her positive attitude and being a strong individual in general. I was very familiar with what happened with her father , but had no idea the problems in her life with her ex husband Carmine and with her health issues. Victoria is a good example of why GOD is good. From miscarriage, birth, abortion, health, death issues , my heart went out to this woman, and I am really am happy to know she is alive and well. Although she is still going through so much issues regarding her personal and professional life, she will get through it, I pray that she does. Victoria in my opinion is a strong, dedicated, no bull-****, type of person, and a woman like her is the type of women young adults should look up to, not celebrities such as Brittany Spears, etc. I smiled, cried, and laughed in this book, it was well written and made you feel the emotions she was going through as if you were going through it yourself. A definite must read. But enough already, let the remaining Gotti family live in peace!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    Really Victoria, really?

    This book should have been called: Victoria Gotti and my opinion of the Gov't and the wrongful accusations they have made on This Family of Mine. Save your money and buy it used! I love mofia stories and the FACTS about the families, this book was a jaded view of the Gotti family. She made her father out to be a kind, giving, shy, and loveable man that would do anything for anyone at any time. While her father was a saint, she made you think her mother was the crazy bat swinging sociopath ready to level everyone. Like one of the previous reviews says, she does contradict a lot of 'facts'. I will stick to the documentaries on History Channel.
    If you like funny criminal fiction or just want a good laugh then this is the book for you!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    Sue (college professor)

    I found this book to be filled with so many contradictions. I would not recommend this book...save your money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    You Should Read This Book

    This is one of the best books I have read all year. It is filled with intriguing stories of real life drama. I couldn't put it down. I hope Victoria will write more booked about the truth of what it was like to live the life she and her family have.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    Great Book

    This book was fantastic. A realistic, honest story of "the life" and her life. Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. Its a very interesting book. It makes you laugh, it makes you cry, and its very down to earth. I give Victoria Gotti a lot of credit, as I do her family. I did not know her father, but wish I had. I wish the family nothing but good luck.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    why should i care about how she grew up?

    her father was a criminal and she has had a bunch of plastic surgery...oooooo real interesting life!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I could not put this book down. It's a great read for anyone that is interested in how things were in the mob life.
    Victoria Gotti's book is very well written and showed how she viewed
    things through the eyes of a child and adult in the life.
    It is very interesting to see how much the family went through and I just thought it was a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    A stunning memoir by a daughter about her father. Yes, his name

    A stunning memoir by a daughter about her father. Yes, his name was John Gotti .. Dapper Don, Teflon Don, Boss of Bosses, yada yada yada. And for those who are Cosa Nostra-obsessed, you'll get your fair share of 'inside' information about one of the most interesting Family figures since, i supposed, the family itself began. But there's another whole story in this book, as it explores the relationship between father and daughter. For me, it touched off so many memories of my own relationship with my Father .. the hero, the tough guy, the poet, the prisoner but, always .. my father. Victoria Gotti sees the flaws .. but the love between them sustains her always, and this is what i found in the book .. not the sensationalized 'mafia princess' stories .. but the story of a father and her daughter .. the love, the anger, the admiration, the loyalty, the unending connection .. and in the end, the impossible goodbye. Absolutely beautiful book. Congratulations, Victoria!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Loved it!

    Ok, my review may be a little biased, as I am a HUGE Mafia buff. I always found the subject interesting and mysterious, so when I saw that the Don's daughter had an inside view of the life, I could not wait to get my hand's on it.

    She told a good story, and really gave some insight into her family and what it was like for all growing up. It allowed you to see what may have made them the way that they were. Not meaning it justifies some of the things that were done over the years, but it was eye-opening. I was impressed with how well written it was (I wasn't expecting much) and it seemed to flow nicely and keep my interest. Good read for a lazy weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5