Customer Reviews for

This Heart of Mine (Chicago Stars Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

one of my favorites

I really enjoyed THIS HEART OF MINE, it was just a wonderful book. I liked finding out finding out what happened to Kevin and Molly after hearing about them in earlier books.

posted by Anonymous on February 12, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good story, but Heroine not my favorite

This Heart of Mine is part of Susan Elizabeth Phillip's Chicago Stars series. Molly Somerville is the younger half sister to Phoebe Calebow the owner of the Chicago Stars football team. Molly has had a long time crush on the quarterback Kevin Tucker, yet he has no idea ...
This Heart of Mine is part of Susan Elizabeth Phillip's Chicago Stars series. Molly Somerville is the younger half sister to Phoebe Calebow the owner of the Chicago Stars football team. Molly has had a long time crush on the quarterback Kevin Tucker, yet he has no idea she exists. To most people Molly outwardly seems like a woman who is sensible and kind and conservative. But actually Molly has these periods when a little chaos and impulsive behavior leads her into trouble. One such period occurs when Molly finds Kevin Tucker at the Calebow's vacation home unexpectedly. Molly's behavior leads to some very dire consequences which eventually lead Molly and Kevin unning a camp for vacationers, which is where Kev and Molly learn about each other and fall in love.

This Heart of Mine out of the books I have read by SEP has to be my least favorite. It's a testament to SEP's writing that I gave this book a B- rating as the writing is really good, but Molly was a really hard character to like. I was absolutely appalled at her behavior towards Kevin at the beginning of the book. For those of you who have already read this book know what I am referring too, for those of you who haven't I will be vague because I don't want any spoilers in this review. (You can always email me if you want details. I'll be happy to divulge those to you personally.)

Despite Molly's despicable behavior, if you can move past it the rest of the book is actually quite entertaining and a love story finally unfolds. I liked that Kevin eventually unwraps this quirky spontaneous side to Molly and loves her that much more for it. There is also a secondary romance between Kev's Mom and a reclusive artist at the camp. SEP just makes all these quirky characters come to life and they are a treat to read about. If you can get past Molly's cringe-worthy behavior in the beginning then you'll probably be able to enjoy the book.

posted by Romance_rookie on October 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Good story, but Heroine not my favorite

    This Heart of Mine is part of Susan Elizabeth Phillip's Chicago Stars series. Molly Somerville is the younger half sister to Phoebe Calebow the owner of the Chicago Stars football team. Molly has had a long time crush on the quarterback Kevin Tucker, yet he has no idea she exists. To most people Molly outwardly seems like a woman who is sensible and kind and conservative. But actually Molly has these periods when a little chaos and impulsive behavior leads her into trouble. One such period occurs when Molly finds Kevin Tucker at the Calebow's vacation home unexpectedly. Molly's behavior leads to some very dire consequences which eventually lead Molly and Kevin unning a camp for vacationers, which is where Kev and Molly learn about each other and fall in love.

    This Heart of Mine out of the books I have read by SEP has to be my least favorite. It's a testament to SEP's writing that I gave this book a B- rating as the writing is really good, but Molly was a really hard character to like. I was absolutely appalled at her behavior towards Kevin at the beginning of the book. For those of you who have already read this book know what I am referring too, for those of you who haven't I will be vague because I don't want any spoilers in this review. (You can always email me if you want details. I'll be happy to divulge those to you personally.)

    Despite Molly's despicable behavior, if you can move past it the rest of the book is actually quite entertaining and a love story finally unfolds. I liked that Kevin eventually unwraps this quirky spontaneous side to Molly and loves her that much more for it. There is also a secondary romance between Kev's Mom and a reclusive artist at the camp. SEP just makes all these quirky characters come to life and they are a treat to read about. If you can get past Molly's cringe-worthy behavior in the beginning then you'll probably be able to enjoy the book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2001

    A good read on a rainy day

    This book got really good about halfway through. Once Molly and Kevin began spending time together out at his family's campground, it started getting really interesting. I liked the relationship that grew between the two of them and I really liked the other characters as well. The ending was good...which is so important! I may recommend this book, although it's not one of my favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2001

    one of my favorites

    I really enjoyed THIS HEART OF MINE, it was just a wonderful book. I liked finding out finding out what happened to Kevin and Molly after hearing about them in earlier books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    ?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    THE GENIUS AND THE JOCK

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK!!MOLLY IS A GREAT CHARACTER THAT DOESN'T RELY ON FLASH OR BEAUTY TO GET HER MAN. SHE USES BRAINS AND GUTS AND SNAGS ONE OF THE SEXIEST JOCKS AROUND. S.E.P. REALLY KNOWS HOW TO GET INSIDE A PERSON'S HEAD AND GRAB ON TO BASE EMOTIONS. I LAUGHED AND CRIED THROUGH THE WHOLE BOOK AND DID BOTH AT THEIR FINAL SHOWDOWN.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    Never A Dull Moment

    I was quite surprised how much I enjoyed this book. This is not your typical romance. The characters are not stereotypes as expected and nothing can be predicted. This is a first SEP book I have read, so now I look forward to the rest of her stories. If you want to laugh and feel all warm and fuzzy inside, pick up this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2001

    Couldn't put the book down!!!!

    This was my first SEP book and I can't wait to read the rest of her books. I loved the characters and couldn't wait to get to the end of the book. This book will make you laugh and cry. Keep writing Ms. Phillips!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2001

    Touches your heart and funnybone!

    This book has it all; romance, fun, and tears. I fell in love with not only Kevin and Molly but both their families. All the characters were memorable. The romances were fun and sexy. A great book! My first book by this author but not my last. You never want to put it down or for it to end. I'm looking up her other books now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    Don't Miss Out On This one!

    This was my 1st S.E.P. book, but I have to say, if all her books are as great as this one, she is on my auto-buy list from now on! Loved this book! The characters were funny, and so real! Great job Susan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    So so start for hardback debut

    Kevin is the star QB of the Chicago Stars. Molly is the sister of the owner. They are vaguely acquainted at the outset of the novel, but that rapidly changes. The novel is full of the dialogue and plot twists that SEP's books usually have, but somehow, this book didn't grab me. There was no explanation for Kevin's recent erratic behavior or for Molly's periodic outbursts of odd behavior. Ultimately, they just seem like strained mechanisms that force the plot along without any place within the story. I kept waiting for the book to become as interesting as SEP's early books, but it never happened. Not a bad book, but not the best of SEP's work. I'd wait for it in paperback or check it out at the local library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining contemporary romance

    In her late twenties, Molly Somerville, children¿s author of Daphne the Bunny, chides her self for her teen-like crush on football player Kevin Tucker. Molly¿s sister and brother-in-law own the National Football League¿s Chicago Stars where Kevin is the superstar quarterback. Kevin sleeps and dreams football, but his behavior has changed this year as he does daring stunts almost like he suffers a mid-life crisis. <P> One night by chance, Molly and Kevin end up together at her sister¿s vacation home. They share a wonderful night of lovemaking, but the morning light brings acrimonious feelings. When Molly informs Kevin that she is pregnant, they reluctantly marry. That ends when she miscarries. However, Kevin knows he loves Molly and will do what it takes, including a Hail Mary as time runs out, to gain her love. <P> THIS HEART OF MINE is an entertaining fun to read contemporary romance. The story line will blitz the reader due to the cast. The lead characters are an enjoyable duet and the snippets from Bunny add to the understanding of Molly. The support cast also provides the readers an opportunity to further understand the essences of Molly and Kevin. Award winning Susan Elizabeth Phillips scores a touchdown with her hardcover debut novel. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Enjoyable Read

    Maybe it was due to the very low expectations (that other reviews had made me) set for this book...but I really did like it. Yes, the leading lady is immature and flawed- but who isn't? In fact, the very normal-human insecurities and screw-ups of SEP's heroines are a huge draw for me. I laughed out loud, winced, felt deep sadness, and was genuinely delighted by the story. I could have done without some of the bunny stuff, and was not really into the cartoonish ending, but was still sad to finish the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips books are great.

    I love all her books. they are funny, touching, realistic and characters are so real. I keep all of her books to re-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Great read for those who enjoy romances

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips has been one of my favorite authors for many years. This Heart of Mine is also a favorite. I enjoyed this novel about two people who learn to accept and love each other in spite of their seemingly obvious differences, and who willingly make personal sacrifices to protect and preserve that love. The story of these two people is both funny and touching at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Do not recommend.

    Not as good as book one in these series. It all came together at the end, but wasted to much time to get me interested. Lost me in between.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Loved it.

    I loved this book. It is one of my favorites. Definitely a good one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    I love S.E.P. books..

    She did not disappoint....I loved this book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Best read

    Good story and humor you sill enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Might be the best

    This definitally rates in the top 3 for this series. Very sweet and funny. Loved it all, just could not help myself. Also love Bobby Tom's story and the story of Heath Champion... but all this series is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    I loved this one

    Kevin was back as the main man this time, and so is Molly the weird geeky sister that Phobe took in back in ' It had to be you'. The characters are engaging, the story is interesting, and its a fun love story, sure to grab your attention. I really like how there was other smaller love stories developing in the back ground, it makes the story more believable. Even if you haven't read the previous Chicago Series you could still enjoy this book, but rhe prevoius books do fill in background details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8