Customer Reviews for

This Is Gonna Hurt: Music, Photography, and Life Through the Distorted Lens of Nikki Sixx

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Love this book

Nikki Sixx is a genius

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Fail.

The photography is something I've seen done before in my high school A.P Art class. It isn't that hard and honestly the editing can all be done on a mac osx without photoshop. He hasn't been doing photography devoted most of his life like he claims. I can't believe that...
The photography is something I've seen done before in my high school A.P Art class. It isn't that hard and honestly the editing can all be done on a mac osx without photoshop. He hasn't been doing photography devoted most of his life like he claims. I can't believe that... Not when I saw more shocking images in my College and high school classes. My opinion is he picked up photography after seeing Kat do it and he was inspired by her. (nothing wrong with that) but he has not been doing this for more than 3 years at my guess. The photos are too elemantary and I'm shocked no one else is pointing this out.

I do like the style and direction he is heading in with his work though.
Just a little early to be throwing a art book out there.


His Stories are so out right ego boosting and self rightous. Half of them sound like made up stories. I laughed to myself with some of the things he wrote... Honestly, people belive some of this stuff?

I do like his writing style, because he managed to get me to read the whole book. so kudos to him.

The layout looks like it was made on INDesign software; which is what most companies use...but, it looks like he was the one behind the computer laying it out. The font is hard to read in some places due to poor background color pick out; and other novance mistakes.

all this said. I wasn't amused.. this is obvious. ha!

-but he got published so who am I to judge. haha

posted by AllisonXPaige on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    Love this book

    Nikki Sixx is a genius

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fail.

    The photography is something I've seen done before in my high school A.P Art class. It isn't that hard and honestly the editing can all be done on a mac osx without photoshop. He hasn't been doing photography devoted most of his life like he claims. I can't believe that... Not when I saw more shocking images in my College and high school classes. My opinion is he picked up photography after seeing Kat do it and he was inspired by her. (nothing wrong with that) but he has not been doing this for more than 3 years at my guess. The photos are too elemantary and I'm shocked no one else is pointing this out.

    I do like the style and direction he is heading in with his work though.
    Just a little early to be throwing a art book out there.


    His Stories are so out right ego boosting and self rightous. Half of them sound like made up stories. I laughed to myself with some of the things he wrote... Honestly, people belive some of this stuff?

    I do like his writing style, because he managed to get me to read the whole book. so kudos to him.

    The layout looks like it was made on INDesign software; which is what most companies use...but, it looks like he was the one behind the computer laying it out. The font is hard to read in some places due to poor background color pick out; and other novance mistakes.

    all this said. I wasn't amused.. this is obvious. ha!

    -but he got published so who am I to judge. haha

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Great read!

    Give a breath of fresh air and incite to your reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    another great book by such a great author

    Again Nikki doesn't fail his fans. This memoir is great as a way into to his mind to what he believes his purpose in life is. Nikki's way of writing is great for those who like blunt, honest, and straight to the point stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    life-changing & eye-opening

    If you've ever hurt, if you've ever suffered depression, felt left out, pushed aside, or felt ugly and unaccepted.... read THIS book.
    Nikki Sixx rips away the ideology of conventional "beauty" and blows away the mass-marketed images we were all drugged into believing all this time. See the world as never before... see it with your HEART instead of your eyes.
    After reading this book, you will never look at things the same way again. I am grateful for all it has taught me about life and about myself.
    5-Star emotion carnival!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    A must read

    This and his outher book saved me form my depession and my slaf. It canges the way you look at life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Beauty is in everything

    Nikkie sixx once again tought me to look around me... to not just pass by something... i could not put this book down!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Maddog

    Wow. This book is amazing. I love how Nikki is so honest and so inspiring. Once I read this I became so motivated to do what I love. If your looking for inspiration read this book!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Great follow up to 'the heroine diaries'!

    Nikki's sometimes brutal honesty is what makes this a great read for true fans of rock n roll. I highly recommend this book. I can easily say that the writing puts other rock star memoirs to shame and his photography and its message is truly inspiring. Can't wait for his next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Excellent Book!

    This is a book you won't put down. Nikki Sixx writes from the heart and captures it in his photography. His journal entry after breaking up with Kat and sitting at Funny Farm is the closest thing I've ever read to capturing that pain.

    There are many emotions you will feel while reading this book, the big one I took away was inspiration. People get so wrapped up in life that they lose focus on what's important and what SHOULD make them happy.

    Wonderful work Nikki, spectacular writing and exceptional Photography. Looking forward to more photos!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Hghly recommend!!!

    This book is so good I am reading it again. Nikki Sixx has some very great insights. He makes you want to look for the beauty in things you would normally overlook or pass off. He has defiantly moved and inspired me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

    I have been a Motley Crue fan since I was 12 years old and while all my friends loved the front man or the drummer or the amazing guitarist I said "what about Nikki? He seems to have something he's not telling." And go figure.... I was right. He is amazing on the inside and out. This book is the most anticipated thing since my wedding and the birth of my children.
    What an amazing time to put it put there when we have have kids dying because others don't want to understand them, as well as the younger generation being roped in by all the press to be prettier, or sexier, or have a more defined shape. Beauty is on the inside!! Look deeper people, this book and album will not only allow you to, but force you to, if your not scared and read it through.
    I can't wait to read it all. (tears while I write)
    Good Luck to you in your future,
    Jamie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Kya

    She dosent know who u r though

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Frank

    Which kya is real

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Kya

    I fpund her....ally

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another excellent book by Nikki Sixx. His photography collection

    Another excellent book by Nikki Sixx. His photography collection is amazing. It is wicked to look at beauty through his eyes. Really makes you stop and appreciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Ok

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Love it

    I completely appreciate Nikki's honesty. This is a beautiful and personal book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Incredible!

    Not as good as Heroin Diaries but still an incredible story from Nikki Sixx, with beautiful photographs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Brad

    Great Book liked it a lot. You will like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4