Customer Reviews for

This Is How: Proven Aid in Overcoming Shyness, Molestation, Fatness, Spinsterhood, Grief, Disease, Lushery, Decrepitude & More. For Young and Old Alike.

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The truth shall set you free

This is an amazingly simple, straightforward book. I plan to read it over and over again, and believe me, that's rare for me. In fact, I plan to buy hard copies and distribute to certain friends and family.

posted by lindalaelmillerLM on May 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not typical Burroughs

I tried to enjoy this book but couldn't. It was missing the wit and humor I was used to from Burroughs.

posted by 4685031 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    The truth shall set you free

    This is an amazingly simple, straightforward book. I plan to read it over and over again, and believe me, that's rare for me. In fact, I plan to buy hard copies and distribute to certain friends and family.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I hardly ever write reviews. This book is an exceptional gift t

    I hardly ever write reviews. This book is an exceptional gift to the world in the times we live in. If you are sick and tired of pop psychology and want the truth about your situation, this is the book for you. The author cuts through the b.s., with a machete. He literally reasons with you as to why all the conventional wisdom on these issues is completely wrong. I suspect he's done a lot of self investigation. If you are the slightest bit skeptical, I suggest you down load the free sample. You will know what he says is true on a spiritually intuitive level.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Highly recommended

    What I recommend is reading all of Augusten's books in order. He will really connect with you. It's like you know him. He is hands down one of the best writers out now.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    I cannot say enough about how wonderful I found this book to be.

    I cannot say enough about how wonderful I found this book to be. I am wary of the mental health field, self-help guides, blah, blah, blah. This was a no nonsense, practical, down-to-earth handbook for life's many hurdles. I have already given 2 as gifts. Anyone who is contemplating the therapy route should read this book first.

    Thank you, Mr. Burroughs, for your wisdom and humor.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    *advanced readers copy* Augusten Burroughs provides methods of o

    *advanced readers copy*
    Augusten Burroughs provides methods of overcoming numerous obstacles in our own psyches like: grief, shyness, lushery and spinsterhood to name a few. This advice coming from a realist is honest and darkly humorous at the same time. He covers every topic that is the bread and butter for psychologists everywhere.
    I am not a fan of self help. I have seen people go down dangerous and illegal avenues after reading some self help books available on the market. This is not that kind of self help. You aren’t required to travel the world spending money you don’t have or buying a bunch of vitamins you can’t pronounce. This is the stuff that we already know, but are too lazy to face. To use the now famous cliché; I had several ah-ha moments while reading this and getting stomach cramps because I was laughing so hard. This is the one self help book I will recommend to everyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    I am addicted to self help books and so when I heard Mr. B wrote

    I am addicted to self help books and so when I heard Mr. B wrote one I ran to get it. This is funny and harsh yet a real eye opener. I agree with him, this is the book he was meant to write!! I heart him

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    I hate self-help books. But . . .

    No, I really do. The paper they're printed on would be better used for bird-cage liners, or shredded for mulch. Psycho-babble, clap-trap, "I'm OK, You're OK" -- good grief, if we're all OK why are we reading these?

    This book, however -- no sugar-coating, no garbage. Just full, brutal honesty. From ending your life without committing suicide, to becoming "thin," to dealing with the death of a loved one -- you'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll feel the sting of a wake-up slap across the face. Burroughs is not here to comfort you. He's here to show you how to reach deep inside for those nuggets of truth that you've so carefully wrapped in camouflage and hidden away. Because, as he says, truth is a force. Hiding it is like standing in front of an on-coming tornado and saying "I don't believe in tornadoes;" that's not going to stop the wind from blowing you away.

    Get this book. Really.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    this is a must read for any person of any age. a raw and honest

    this is a must read for any person of any age.
    a raw and honest book that makes you re- examine every element of your own life is almost impossible to come by, but this one does so seamlessly.
    this has changed the way that i think about my life in more ways than one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    AUGUSTEN BURROUGHS SELF-HELP BOOK IS PURE TRUTH

    Burroughs breaks free from the typical self-help genre and with true grit writes off the edge of the page pulling the reader with him. He takes the reader to the interior of the soul and teaches us how to not only survive life's tragedies rather how to remain in the present, connected, while finding beauty, even if only a glimpse, inside the deepest pain and darkness people will face. He offers navagational tools and a mirror which reflects truth in its raw form. Augusten Burroughs writes as a maestro, playing his symphony of words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Exceeded my expectations!

    This book made me laugh and cry and seriously stop to think about certains things that I and other people do on a regular basis without even knowing what we're doing. There's a chapter in here for everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    One of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Probably my favorite book , got my copy signed at a book signing

    Probably my favorite book , got my copy signed at a book signing in LA and lent it to a friend, bought a second copy to give as a gift, just all a great no b/s kind of book, I suggest  if you feel the same to buy a second copy and lend it out. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2