Customer Reviews for

This Is How You Lose Her

Average Rating 3.5
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Author Junot Diaz has crafted a wonderful, intensely entertainin

Author Junot Diaz has crafted a wonderful, intensely entertaining story about Yunior, a young Dominican immigrant who previously appeared as a side character in his Pulitzer Prize winning novel "The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao". In this book Yunior is the...
Author Junot Diaz has crafted a wonderful, intensely entertaining story about Yunior, a young Dominican immigrant who previously appeared as a side character in his Pulitzer Prize winning novel "The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao". In this book Yunior is the central figure, occupying a place in nearly all of the nine tales within. The main theme of the stories involves his search for love. Like with most of us, the search contains a myriad of ups and downs.

Yunior grew up in the macho, Dominican world of his male role models, namely his father and brother. While learning from their ways with women, Yunior finds himself interested in other, less macho pursuits, such as comic books and science fiction. The book jumps from his first days in the U.S. as a young boy (learning to speak English from TV) to his teen years and through adulthood. Diaz's writing is infused with pop culture references (most of which I got), Spanish slang (some of which I got), and Dominican references. The tales run the gamut from funny to sad to uplifting. The chapter about the death of his older brother from cancer was particularly affecting and stayed with me. Overall, it's a fascinating pastiche of stories, all with the central theme of love, romance, and even sex.

Diaz has crafted a tale worthy of the many comparisons to author Phillip Roth. His stories all intertwine together with a familiar voice, to make a read worthy of a Pulitzer Prize winning novelist. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in the complexities of how the male psyche deals with love, culture, and finding oneself.

If you enjoy this book, I highly recommend that you read Anthony Youn's "In Stitches." This immensely entertaining memoir follows the author, an Asian American, as he struggles with many of the same poignant relationship issues as Yunior, except with a completely different set of surroundings and upbringing. While reading Diaz's book, I was reminded many times of Youn's story, and the fact that our longing for love is universal, no matter our race, ethnicity, or personality. Youn's is a coming-of-age story that made me laugh, cry, and just overall feel. Isn't that what we all look for in a story, and, I suppose, life in general?

posted by 7970514 on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

good not fantastic

I bought this book for a long plane ride. I love Junot Diaz, really. Like a Junot Diaz/Aaron McGruder slashfic? done. But this book just felt like there was no point. It tapered off at the end and then it was just done. It was certainly a page-turner and I enjoyed it fo...
I bought this book for a long plane ride. I love Junot Diaz, really. Like a Junot Diaz/Aaron McGruder slashfic? done. But this book just felt like there was no point. It tapered off at the end and then it was just done. It was certainly a page-turner and I enjoyed it for the duration of the trip, but I felt like it was lacking in completion somehow.

For anyone contemplating this book and are wary of the reviewers who complained about the "over-use" of Dominican slang, check your white privilege at the door, please. POCs aren't writing to serve you. So, the use of Spanish is NOT particularly harmful, just as his highbrow lit references aren't meant to be alienating (I almost choked on airplane wine when I read the "she Bartlebys me" line) and even if you happen to be white, you won't feel like POCs are out having a great time without you. Unless you're just like that anyway.

Really enjoyed reading this book, but I wish Diaz had delved more into intellectual discussions of his--sorry--YUNIOR's relationships. Entertaining, but I wouldn't read it again.

posted by 9453281 on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Funny, heart warming

    I bought this book because of the reviews and the catchy title. I didn't know the author. However, after reading This Is How You Lose Her, I will look for more books by this author.

    In a nutshell, this is an autobiography of a Dominican immigrant. It is a rags to riches, dirt poor to Ivy League professor story. Diaz tells you every sad, embarrassing detail which endears him to the reader. You follow him from elementary age immigration to the loss of his older brother - a strong influencing character - to leukemia during high school. Early disconnect from both his father, who left the family for another woman, and his brother hint at rationale for Diaz's emotional distance in future relationships. We watch him struggle to become a responsible man with no positive role models and discover quite the womanizer. The title of the book should tell you all you need to know about the results of his behaviors. He loses, over the course of his adult life several women he truly respected, possibly loved, and is left to ponder his own behavior.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Interesting read

    I was initially put off by the narcissistic, womanizing protagonist, but soon the interconnecting stories became more intriguing and the reader comes to understand why Yunior acts the way he does. Diaz deserves his many accolades.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Great read!

    I wish this book was longer! Junot Diaz once again intrigues the reader through various tales of lost loves in this quick read. It's raw, relatable, and impossible to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Too short but great while it lasted

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Captivates the mind

    Manages to capture the male perspective about life and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Love fades. Love is passionate. Love is obsessive. Love is reckl

    Love fades. Love is passionate. Love is obsessive. Love is reckless. Pulitzer Prize-winner Junot Diaz pens a collection of short stories with a central theme: irresistible love.

    At the heart of every story is Yunior. Through his memories, readers get a glimpse of his experiences with women. My major gripe is that the series of short stories are not in chronological order. At times, it made the book hard to follow, causing me to pause and figure out when exactly the particular events occurred. Was this relationship before this one? Did he date this girl before or after the last girl? Despite this minor annoyance, Diaz's prose flows into a collection of stories with love at the center. Some of the love affairs fail; some are unresolved. Such is life. However, the author successfully showed that Yunior learned a lesson from every relationship and led him to ultimately realize how he lost her.

    For readers that are sticklers for organized chapters, this book may be hard for you to get into. But stick with it; This is How You Lose Her is worth reading. It may spark memories of your own past relationships and will make for good book club discussions.

    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Eh

    I just didn't enjoy this book. It wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    Realistic and heart-breaking; a must read for everyone who has b

    Realistic and heart-breaking; a must read for everyone who has been, is currently into AND PLANNING into going through the relationship CHEATING. Haha. “A cheater’s guide to love.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Great Read!

    This book was a quick read. Diaz defintely has a very concise smoothness in his writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly recommended

    After reading "the Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao" I found myself hungry for other stories by this writer. This book was hardly disappointing and a quick, yet entertaining read. I absolutely adore the way Díaz gets right into the story weaving English and Spanish in a way you forget you are reading. Yet alone, reading in another language. 'This is How You Lose Her' makes you think about the relationships you have had and lost for whatever reasons, and how the really good ones you never really get over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Suitable entertaining, quick read.

    Suitable entertaining, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    I was strangely enthralled by this book.  While I found some of

    I was strangely enthralled by this book.  While I found some of it reprehensible, it nevertheless made sense.  I was surprised that what should've bothered me, though I did find it offensive at times, didn't really bother me.  I guess you can say that the story advances in such a way that what you find to be offensive or questionable is quickly brushed aside to make room for the new set of circumstances that is coming your way.  

    I can see that some people will have issues with the language, as Diaz freely peppers the novel with Spanish words and phrases throughout.  And, it's specifically of the Dominican persuasion.  So, even if you are fluent in Spanish, as I am, some of the terminology might be a bit difficult at first.  But, I say, roll with it.

    It truly is a great story of a young man with no real male role model being raised in an atmosphere rife with machismo that affects him and his relationships for years, culminating with how he loses the one woman that he ever really cared about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    A breath of fresh air in fiction writing. I was left wanting mor

    A breath of fresh air in fiction writing. I was left wanting more from Yunior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    It was  decent read that i enjoyed! Wish it was longer though...

    It was  decent read that i enjoyed! Wish it was longer though...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Such a great and entertaining book

    Such a great and entertaining book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book but in my opinion you need to know Sp

    I really enjoyed this book but in my opinion you need to know Spanish to really understand its meaning and to truly enjoy it. The Spanish quotes are so clever and full of meaning that I almost feel the author should have taken the time to translate them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    surprised at the size of the book when i got in...small in statu

    surprised at the size of the book when i got in...small in stature...full of emotion..we suffered along with yunior as he experienced a heartbreaking of his own making...understanding fullly that indeed in life...you do reap what you sow...yet still, we rooted and cheered him on in his quest for redemption and some good lovin....back and forth...from side to side we rolled along with him...and all of the characters..until finally the conclusion was drawn.....live life...love throughout...and keep it movin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Love, Sex and Regret

    Brilliant. And beautifully written! Sure the sprinkling of slang words and sometimes the dialogue can be slightly confusing, but it is still a well-written story that is insightful.

    This is my first read by Mr. Diaz. I am definitely looking forward to reading more of his stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    This book is very real and incredibly honest. I hadn't previousl

    This book is very real and incredibly honest. I hadn't previously read any of Junot Diaz's work, but I look forward to purchasing more of his novels in the future. It was interesting to view relationships from Yunior's perspective; this is a great read about how truly fallible humans are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great down to earth, honest and very FUNNY read!

    Junot Diaz kept it honest, funny and real! Really enjoyed it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3