Customer Reviews for

This Is Not a Test

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Easily best book of the year

This is definitely one of my favorite books of the year! Seriously, it was superb. It was terrifying and raw, and as far as I am concerned, a definite foreshadow of the future. It is not a question of “if”, but rather “when”.

This first chapter had such an eeri...
This is definitely one of my favorite books of the year! Seriously, it was superb. It was terrifying and raw, and as far as I am concerned, a definite foreshadow of the future. It is not a question of “if”, but rather “when”.

This first chapter had such an eerie quietness; it was almost like the silence was a character in the book. Do you know what I mean? Like it was thick with silence.

Then there is chaos at the front door. Pandemonium outside. Confusion and blood. Her dad is in a fight with a woman who is clearly deranged. Isn’t she?

There are six teenagers and they’ve made their way to the high school. Rhys, Cary, Trace & Grace (twins), Harrison and of course, Sloane. Somehow, someway they’ve made it past the hordes of infected “people” and they’ve barricaded themselves in the high school. Pretty darn smart if you ask me. You’ve got food, water, entertainment, every facility you could just about hope for. Except Sloane doesn’t want to really survive. She’s been a survivor her whole life, and so much has happened in a short amount of time that her will is just sort of short circuited. You really feel for her. This is a first person point of view, which doesn’t always agree well with me. But in this story it fits the whole urgent-but-waiting theme perfectly. There are a few action scenes, but this book is not battle after battle with the undead. It’s more psychological than that. There are some battles, but it’s not really about the infected, it’s about the survivors.

Part two of this book explores a lot of group mentality issues and how you deal with the zombie apocalypse (my words, not the author’s) as an individual and as a group. It is so interesting how quickly the author immerses you into this story, that you find yourself yelling at the pages. “Don’t go there!!” and “Turn around!!!!” If you find a survivor who isn’t a part of your original core group, well, they are not really a survivor at all then, are they? You can’t trust them, can you? Do you take them in and embrace the addition of another living breathing person, or do you toss them out and make them fend for themselves because you just don’t really know their intentions, do you?

Part three will shake the foundation of everything you’ve come to believe about this story. It is a game changer, and dynamics definitely shift. It’s hard to know what is real and what is not when everything in your life for weeks now seems like something out of someone’s imagination and not the real thing. Courtney Summers does such a perfect job at illustrating the characters with her words, and not just the glamorous good stuff. We get to see all sides of this group. We see how they break down and how they build up, how they handle living now that everything they know has been chewed to pieces.

And Part four, well, part four I’d call hope. Hope to die, hope to live, who the hell knows what you are hoping for. For every person it is different. Personally I was hoping it would never end, the book that is. Put this book on your to-be-read this. Follow it. It’s not just a zombie story; it’s a look at what happens when all hell breaks loose.

posted by FictionalCandy on June 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book was a little too young adult for me. The book really

This book was a little too young adult for me. The book really played on the tensions and interactions of the teen group during the zombie apocalypse rather than the actual apocalypse itself. As a result I didn’t really connect or like the characters, although the aut...
This book was a little too young adult for me. The book really played on the tensions and interactions of the teen group during the zombie apocalypse rather than the actual apocalypse itself. As a result I didn’t really connect or like the characters, although the author does do a good job of making you feel sorry for/know where, Sloan, the main character is coming from. It was an interesting but didn’t have the normal action you would see in a normal zombie book.

posted by Drewano on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Easily best book of the year

    This is definitely one of my favorite books of the year! Seriously, it was superb. It was terrifying and raw, and as far as I am concerned, a definite foreshadow of the future. It is not a question of “if”, but rather “when”.

    This first chapter had such an eerie quietness; it was almost like the silence was a character in the book. Do you know what I mean? Like it was thick with silence.

    Then there is chaos at the front door. Pandemonium outside. Confusion and blood. Her dad is in a fight with a woman who is clearly deranged. Isn’t she?

    There are six teenagers and they’ve made their way to the high school. Rhys, Cary, Trace & Grace (twins), Harrison and of course, Sloane. Somehow, someway they’ve made it past the hordes of infected “people” and they’ve barricaded themselves in the high school. Pretty darn smart if you ask me. You’ve got food, water, entertainment, every facility you could just about hope for. Except Sloane doesn’t want to really survive. She’s been a survivor her whole life, and so much has happened in a short amount of time that her will is just sort of short circuited. You really feel for her. This is a first person point of view, which doesn’t always agree well with me. But in this story it fits the whole urgent-but-waiting theme perfectly. There are a few action scenes, but this book is not battle after battle with the undead. It’s more psychological than that. There are some battles, but it’s not really about the infected, it’s about the survivors.

    Part two of this book explores a lot of group mentality issues and how you deal with the zombie apocalypse (my words, not the author’s) as an individual and as a group. It is so interesting how quickly the author immerses you into this story, that you find yourself yelling at the pages. “Don’t go there!!” and “Turn around!!!!” If you find a survivor who isn’t a part of your original core group, well, they are not really a survivor at all then, are they? You can’t trust them, can you? Do you take them in and embrace the addition of another living breathing person, or do you toss them out and make them fend for themselves because you just don’t really know their intentions, do you?

    Part three will shake the foundation of everything you’ve come to believe about this story. It is a game changer, and dynamics definitely shift. It’s hard to know what is real and what is not when everything in your life for weeks now seems like something out of someone’s imagination and not the real thing. Courtney Summers does such a perfect job at illustrating the characters with her words, and not just the glamorous good stuff. We get to see all sides of this group. We see how they break down and how they build up, how they handle living now that everything they know has been chewed to pieces.

    And Part four, well, part four I’d call hope. Hope to die, hope to live, who the hell knows what you are hoping for. For every person it is different. Personally I was hoping it would never end, the book that is. Put this book on your to-be-read this. Follow it. It’s not just a zombie story; it’s a look at what happens when all hell breaks loose.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THIS IS NOT A TEST is the story of a girl during a breakout of a

    THIS IS NOT A TEST is the story of a girl during a breakout of a zombie apocalypse. Most zombie books are about survivors of a zombie apocalypse, not the very beginning of one. Sloane doesn't know what's going on. She's not clued in to the fact that those are zombies running around outside her house. She's a poor, abused soul who doesn't understand that the world she so desperately wants out of is ending.

    In this day of mega zombie movies, video games, and The Walking Dead, it's unusual to see a take on zombies where the characters aren't hip on the zombie phenomenon. It was refreshing to see how realistically Summers approached such a campy topic. It's not so much a zombie story, as it is a story about people who are trying to survive something horrible. The zombies were scary, yes, but the people were scarier. Everyone, everyone, did horrible things in order to survive.

    The book was so full of despair and desperation, that it was almost addicting. It hooked me in a way that I've never been hooked before. I can honestly say that I did not enjoy reading it. It was horrible and depressing and your worst nightmare written down. But it's beautiful because of how horrible it is. And it will drag you in until you just can't look away. You have to finish it, even if it terrifies you. So I didn't enjoy reading it, but I had to read it. I couldn't not. It was too good.

    The detail that Summers uses in her writing brings out the true horror of Sloane's situation. This is definitely not a book for the faint of heart. There is gore, adult content, violence and adult language, so if that offends you this might not be the book for you. There are a few sexual situations, nothing very graphic, but still. If you're uncomfortable with subjects like sex, depression, suicide and death, than like I said, this one is probably not for you.

    The first word I thought when I finished the book was, "wow". THIS IS NOT A TEST is one of those books where you don't know how it could possibly ever end on a happy note, or even on a good note. And it doesn't. The government doesn't come and save everyone, the zombies don't go away. Sloane doesn't wake up and it was all a horrible nightmare. It's hell, and she's living it, and your living it with her. But in the end, somehow, someway, Courtney Summers manages to give you a little bit of hope when the world she's created is so hopeless. This is definitely Summers at her best.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Raw and powerful story of survival

    Courtney Summers delivers a unique take on zombies in her genre-bending book.

    Sloane's home life sucks with her abusive father. Sloane had her sister Lily to turn to, to love her, to support her, and to suffer with. They made a plan to escape their house together when Sloane turned 18. Except Lily breaks the promise, leaving Sloane to fend for herself. The abuse is so much that Sloane has no reason to have hope anymore. In the initial scenes of the book, it's evident how brutal her life has been, and she immediately garners sympathy. Even though what she wants to do isn't necessarily sympathetic, it's understandable. And when the zombies arrive, Sloane is elated; it's her chance to die.

    Then we're tossed into Cortege High School, where Sloane and five fellow students have barricaded themselves. It's frantic and desperate, at least to those five; Sloane is annoyed. Her plans were ruined, and now that she's been dragged to safety, she's even more frustrated. The thing is, she can't seem to find a way away from these people who want to live, and even when she has the chance to end her own suffering, she doesn't.

    Sloane is one of the most interesting characters I've read, but she's very challenging. She is obedient in every sense of the word. Because of her father, there's a sense of reluctance in her. She allows herself to be dragged to safety (where it would be easy for her to not), and she doesn't actively seek out her options for dying when she has the chance. Rather, she continues to follow what she believes is the right thing to do. To stay alive. Anything she could feel for herself has been taken away, physically and emotionally. That's part of why she's unable to actually go through with ending her life. Amid all of this, Sloane is likable; there's just enough hope inside her and just enough desire to move forward to make readers pull for her and believe she can survive.

    This is a powerful character-driven novel. Despite the zombie apocalypse occurring, what matters is not the undead coming alive but the living coming alive. Secondary characters are fully developed, and they each serve distinct purposes for Sloane. Summers excels in her use of subtlety to develop the characters. There are single lines or short scenes so raw they sting, and they speak volumes to who Sloane really is (who she is, not who she's told she is or who she has come to believe she is). The pacing in the book is deliberately slow, begging the reader to pay attention to these things. The story doesn't drag, though. Summers delivers on strong writing that doesn't try too hard and works to advance these characters.

    This is an extremely physical book. Each blow can be felt, as can each of the more tender moments. The book doesn't shy away from brutality nor from being gruesome; despite being heavily vested in reality, it's still a novel about the zombie apocalypse. I felt beat up and bruised reading this; fortunately, I had the same moments of hope and promise Sloane did throughout.

    There's a definite conclusion to come away with at the end of the book, and the way it's done is savvy. Sloane has to make a series of very difficult choices that force her to confront everything she's been so eager to shy away from. She'll revisit everything with Lily and her father and come to realize her body and her choices and her life are hers. So while this is a story of survival, it's also a story about what we fight for, and why we fight for things at all.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters and was sorry to see it e

    Very good book. I loved the characters and was sorry to see it end.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Grate book!

    I love it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    This book was a little too young adult for me. The book really

    This book was a little too young adult for me. The book really played on the tensions and interactions of the teen group during the zombie apocalypse rather than the actual apocalypse itself. As a result I didn’t really connect or like the characters, although the author does do a good job of making you feel sorry for/know where, Sloan, the main character is coming from. It was an interesting but didn’t have the normal action you would see in a normal zombie book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Awesome

    people who dont like this book should die

    I love dthis book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Excellent book

    Fast paced, easy to follow, good twists and turns, extremely enjoyable. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Sara

    I loved this book cause it was just awlsome........... i will reread it over and over again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed 10/14/12 Just not what I was expecting...

    I really wanted to read This is Not a Test, like really bad. I mean if you know me any bit at all...you know I love zombies. I love the books, the shows, I even just love scouring over Pinterest looking for stuff on zombies. So when I saw This is Not a Test I knew I had to read it. I even slipped it in earlier than scheduled. The cover screams at the readers...READ ME! It's gorgeous! But it's what I found between the covers that got me. And not in a good way.

    Let me explain before the masses come and try to spear me like one of the living dead in the story. I just could not connect with Sloane, the girl whose Point of View we get throughout the book. The girl is depressed the entire time. I am talking the entire freakin time. And it brought me down with her. I get that she was abused by her dad, and I guess I am just insensitive towards her, but the girl didn't try to get better. Usually I quit reading stories once I don't connect with the characters. But I couldn't. I had to know what happened to all the kids. Did they make it out of the school alive? Were they infected? Did help find them?

    And so here I am continuing on...reading the story...and it's just not any better. I wasn’t crazy about Summers’ writing at all. And found it sometimes jumbled. There are several sentences I had to reread due to lack of understanding. Not understanding on my part, but with what the author was trying to portray. I hate that. If I have to reread a sentence it takes away from the story for me.

    I get that a lot of people loved it and have seen reviews of others raving about the ending. But me? Yeah I was not impressed. I think I was even more confused when I got to the ending. When I read a zombie book…I want a zombie book. This was all about Sloane finding herself and deciding on if she really wants to die or not. And to me, quite frankly…I was bored. Hope you will give it a try and see if it is for you. Unfortunately it was just not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Not worth the buy. As a fan of the zombie genre, it was hard for

    Not worth the buy.
    As a fan of the zombie genre, it was hard for me at times to pick the book back up after having put it down. The story is solid; apocalypse comes, kids take refuge in a school. The logic is there, and the dynamics for the characters are made very clear, but the likability isn't. It seemed like more often than not that I didn't feel the sympathy for the main character that was needed for her to be likable, nor the connection with the other survivors. The characters as a whole seemed flat, and were often focused around one central idea, nothing more.
    The ending of the novel all seemed rushed. There were a lot of details that went by very quickly that I had to go back and read more than once to fully get the idea. An attempt to seem fast-paced ended up coming off hurried. 
    The idea behind the story was good. Bits and pieces were cleverly-written and well-thought-out. In all, though, it seemed poorly executed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Best book ever

    This is the best book but the bad thing about it is that it ends withouht telling if they make it or not I really want to know :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    Before you go: ¿ugh, not ANOTHER zombie novel!¿, just hear me ou

    Before you go: “ugh, not ANOTHER zombie novel!”, just hear me out. I’ll admit that I’m also tired of zombie-themed books. If you’ve read five zombie books, you’ve pretty much read them all (or at least, that’s how I feel). What more can you say about zombies to make it new and original, right? Well, Courtney Summers may use zombies as a theme in this book, but it really forms a very small, though not less important, part of the plot.

    How often do you read books with a suicidal protagonist in the lead? In my case, very seldom. That alone was refreshingly different. So, what else is left to focus on? The romance, of course! But, we all know I’m not a big fan of romance, so if I tell you the romance in this book was slow and subtle, it’s something you can count on. 

    “This is Not a Test” is a character-driven novel that moves at a leisurely pace. Even though I didn’t feel that emotionally invested in the characters, I felt sympathetic towards them, and even more surprisingly, I actually cried at the death of one specific character (who, coincidentally, wasn’t bitten by a zombie). Each character brings something of value to the story and I was so immersed in their plight I finished this quick read in less than a day. 

    As far as post-apocalyptic novels go, this one has very little action in it, but it is well worth the read for the characters alone. 

    This is the first of Courtney Summers’ books I’ve read, and I’m definitely going to read more of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Jaiden

    A 14 year old girl with black hair that had a rainbow streak in it. "Hi..?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    To Ethan

    Go to 'highschool' result three and find Emma. She very active. Very beautiful, shes extremely popular in MB and head cheerleader. Her last Boyfriend dumped her for a nerd.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Kayla

    "Ethan."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Ethan

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    this was excellent! read the whole thing the day I got it. it

    this was excellent! read the whole thing the day I got it. it does end a little abruptly and I wish there was more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    I enjoyed it

    If i had to describe this book i would say its kind of like "monument 14" or kinda like the middle of a zombie appocalypse with a few kids trapped in a school with alot of drama going on between them. They rarley go outside into the whole mess. They only go out into the open twice after they get to the school when they have to defend themselves. But overall its an okay read i did enjoy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4