Customer Reviews for

This Is Not the Story You Think It Is...: A Season of Unlikely Happiness

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

For anyone in an imperfect marriage

Isn't that everyone? I recently happened upon a speaking engagement in which Laura Munson talked about this book. The subject matter definitely intrigued me, because I have found myself floundering in my marriage at times. This book shows the other side of the story ...
Isn't that everyone? I recently happened upon a speaking engagement in which Laura Munson talked about this book. The subject matter definitely intrigued me, because I have found myself floundering in my marriage at times. This book shows the other side of the story that you usually hear. Her husband tells her after 20 years that he is not sure if he loves her anymore. Usually at this point, there is an empowering story of starting over. However, this story is about hanging in through really tough times, in the hope that this crisis will pass. It is not as simple as it sounds, but I believe that the author is very brave for attempting it. This book has given me another perspective when it comes to marital discord. It just shows that we all have choices, and you never really know how life is going to turn out.

posted by NicVA on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This Is Not A Book You Want to Read

This book was annoying on so many levels. In this book, the author claims that she is in control of her own happiness and that nothing that goes on around her, including hostility, neglect, rejection, disrespect and more from her husband, will take away from her happin...
This book was annoying on so many levels. In this book, the author claims that she is in control of her own happiness and that nothing that goes on around her, including hostility, neglect, rejection, disrespect and more from her husband, will take away from her happiness. Well, maybe she is happy. But she and her husband are teaching their children everything right about staying in unhealthy relationships. The parents chose to stay in an unhealthy relationship for the sake of the kids. I have a hard time understanding exactly what was saved and what this taught their children. Are the children now going to treat their future spouses the way the author's husband treated her? Or perhaps they will think it okay to be mis-treated by someone, or even abused. This was not an original story; rather, it was a familiar, sad story about emotional abuse. Frost it however you like.

posted by 3945045 on June 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    Riveting marriage "Owner's Manual"

    As a member of the healthcare profession, and priveleged previewer of this book pre-release date, I must say that I heartily wish I could hand out this book to all my clients. No roadmap of the American marriage should be travelled without this wise, rocky, and witty sidetrip commentary for the survival of the inevitable marital pothole. How to get to the other side, in beautiful and funny language from the heroic Laura Munson. Read, listen, laugh, cry, learn... and survive the trip. Kudos and five big stars to this brave and terrific storyteller!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    An unforgettable, unpredictable 'marital adventure.'

    Thoroughly provocative. Munson's angle and attitude are unique. She meets her challenge head-on, with astounding courage and compassion.
    You're drawn right in to confront her 'crisis' in real time, right alongside her.
    As fun and funny as it was gut-wrenching -- completely absorbing.
    I loved rooting for her and will always remember the 'lessons learned.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Liked it very much

    Munson is a good writer. Slow to get going but with many brilliant pasages later. Just like jewels on a long silver necklace. Especially enjoyed the beautiful descriptions of nature, and the hard-to-put-into-words feelings she conveys. I'll be on the lookout for a novel one of these days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    A Season of Unlikely Happiness: This Is Not the Story You Think

    A Season of Unlikely Happiness: This Is Not the Story You Think It Is: A Literary Evaluation
    Fasten your seatbelt and prepare yourself for a thrilling, real-life journey with Laura Munson as you indulge in the pages of her memoir, A Season of Unlikely Happiness. If you are in need of some quality relationship and self healing guidance, this book is a must read. Munson uses a down-to-earth, realistic approach to her readers as she delivers the company of a therapist, novelist, and best friend all in the palms of your hands. The language she utilizes makes it an easy read and you can feel yourself slipping into her shoes. The mental illustrations she creates for the reader allows us to learn from her experiences. No matter what age you are or what type of struggles you are having, Laura Munson will teach you how to cope. A Season of Unlikely Happiness is a therapeutic, excellent read for men and women of all ages who need help dealing with the grey areas of their lives.
    After nine days of learning that her husband no longer loves her, you would assume that Munson's world would come crashing down. How would she be able to come up with enough energy to keep her devotion to her young children and to completing her daily writing tasks for work? Munson teaches her readers that we all have a choice- to either suffer, or simply to not. Sounds a lot easier said than done, right? Wrong! Munson's memoir takes you hand in hand with her through her journey of teaching herself not to suffer. We learn that the biggest thing in life is to stop "wanting" and start "creating." Although the writing does not end with a fairytale cliche ending, in a way it does. We, as readers, gain a sense of self love and assurance. With that, we can conquer any battle or climb any mountain, as Munson, in other words, preaches.
    Due to the fact that Munson uses a very realistic writing style, I actually found that it was a much more enjoyable read. I feel that when you are reading something that is meant to be therapeutic, an extensive vocabulary and background information are things that are not needed. She excludes these from her reading and practically keeps it naked- everything is out on the table. We are able to create a mental image of what the author is going through, and she calls us out on things that we are most likely thinking as we are reading. Just the fact that Munson had the idea of helping people through her writing makes me feel like she is a great author. She says in her memoir, "That's what this book is all about. Maybe it will help people. Maybe even save marriages, and jobs, and children's hearts from breaking. I wish I had this book on my bedside table right now. If only just to know that I am not alone" (15). And that is exactly how I felt while reading it- I was never alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Loved loved loved this book! I bought it years ago, and have rea

    Loved loved loved this book! I bought it years ago, and have read it over 5 times cover to cover.  I leave it in my car and read it whenever I have the chance! Laura Munson tells this story with such wisdom and hilarity it makes it an excellent read! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Medicine For The Journey

    As a horsewoman and therapeutic riding instructor, I know timing is everything. Reading this well scripted memoir was just what I needed to continue writing my own. As my partner and I struggle with the same life changes, I find solace in Laura's thoughts and ideals. She left out the 'gory' stuff and kudos for that. We can certainly fill in the blanks with our own gore. I' m not one to reread books--save that for the movies-- but I don''t think I'll archive this one just yet. Nice work, Laura.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    A Wonderful and Honest Memoir

    I heard about this book on MPR and was interested to read it. It delivered. It is written so honestly about her emotions and feelings about herself, her husband, her marriage, her life. She admits to feelings that are hard to talk about but I would guess most of us have. A provocative look at how we can control our own happiness but how challenging that premise can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Great Story Told Straight from the Heart

    This book appealed to me because of the author's determination to save her marriage. It is refreshing to read about old fashion values and her unshakeable faith in keeping her family together, especially when all society and the media tout otherwise. She was smart enough to see through her husband's midlife crisis and not succumb to his unhappiness. his dissatisfaction with life, and inability to love himself. She kept up a front for her children's sake even though she went through incredible suffering and pain, and managed to evolve and better herself in the process. Sometimes it takes something really big to make us change, and her husband's crisis was her catalyst. There is a lot written about long-term marriages but very few with practical, real-life situations as so vividly described in this book. She sprinkles stories about her youth, her love of Italy, and the Montana lifestyle she had grown to love. This is a beautiful story about the love of family and preserving the institution of marriage through thick and thin. Women also need to support each other because many of us will go through similar experiences, and sometimes we just need someone to listen to us or to bounce things off of. I have just finished reading this book for the second time and I felt like I just had a conversation with a good friend. I hope she writes a follow up book just so we can learn how she is doing, and if her marriage is stronger than before. I highly recommend this book, especially if you are in a long-term, committed relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    looking forward to...

    reading this memoir after reading the story in the new york times!
    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/02/fashion/02love.html

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1