Customer Reviews for

This Is What Happy Looks Like

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I went into this book expecting a lot. The preview of it was fun

I went into this book expecting a lot. The preview of it was funny, cute, and all around witty, but I didn't feel much excitement while I was reading it. 
The first couple of chapters offer a bit of suspense, but the rest was just words for me. I felt like the author ha...
I went into this book expecting a lot. The preview of it was funny, cute, and all around witty, but I didn't feel much excitement while I was reading it. 
The first couple of chapters offer a bit of suspense, but the rest was just words for me. I felt like the author had a good plot written out, but didn't deliver it as she should have. And I think the reason for that was the characters.
 In the beginning all of the characters looked promising, but by the end I was just really annoyed and frustrated. The protagonist, Ellie, was written well, but the fact that she let people walk all over her took away from her character. I understand that she's supposed to be the typical nice girl, but the fact that  she lets her supposed "best friend" Quinn treat her like crap through out most of the book and then forgives her without a second thought really bugged me. 
She also lets her mother dictate her life and lets her selfish reasons get in the way of her happiness. By the end, I could some what understand the mothers point of view, but she mostly just came off as self-absorbed and as someone who only cared about her image instead of her daughters feelings. The only character I truly liked was Grahm, Ellie's significant other. He was cute and charming and the author wrote his backstory well and was able to go really in depth with his character.




I just wish I would have gotten a couple more out of this, maybe a couple tears or a couple laughs. The beginning was promising, but now that I'm done with the book I'm not sure if it was worth the $10.
Overall, it was very cute, easy and quick read. 

posted by Mirn123 on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This is What Happy Looks Like was surprising, to me. I read a re

This is What Happy Looks Like was surprising, to me. I read a review yesterday by Jen YA Romantics, that described it as a mix of You've Got Mail, Notting Hill, and What a Girl Wants. That's about as accurate of a description as I could ever hope to come up with.

What...
This is What Happy Looks Like was surprising, to me. I read a review yesterday by Jen YA Romantics, that described it as a mix of You've Got Mail, Notting Hill, and What a Girl Wants. That's about as accurate of a description as I could ever hope to come up with.

What was surprising for me about This is What Happy Looks Like is that it was, hmm... underwhelming. Don't get me wrong, it was sweet, and charming. I liked the characters, but there was not a lot to keep me hooked. In fact, I put this down for three days because I got swept away in another series that was full of fun and passion and angst, highs and lows. And in comparison, this was just nice.

Smith is obviously an extremely talented author. I absolutely adored The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. I raved about it to all my friends for months, and credit it with making me love a boy named Oliver. Maybe that has caused me to judge this book a little too much. And though I liked Ellie and Graham, their portrayals were just sort of flat. I understood were they were coming from with their feelings and questions about their lives, but they didn't feel fully developed. I almost felt a true attachment to them and their story at certain points, the epic was just within reach, but then the story would move along and the feeling went away. Also, I would have like a least a smidge more resolution in the ending.

This Is What Happy Looks Like was a good, if underwhelming, story. I did like it, but will also say that I never fell in love with it. And I wouldn't discourage anyone from reading it, but I would also say to maybe be prepared to not be swept away.

posted by Andreat78 on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Buy this book and enjoy a gentle story of a young boy and girl w

    Buy this book and enjoy a gentle story of a young boy and girl who fall in love, you can't help turning the page and follow how they come 
    together over a summer in Maine. 

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was definitely a much needed read for me. It was sweet and

    This was definitely a much needed read for me. It was sweet and a quick read. I felt myself having a hard time putting it down to do, you know those every day life things that we need to do like eat and sleep and...well you get the idea.

    I fell in love with the blurb a while ago and couldn't wait to get my hands on it. Once it arrived this week, I dropped everything I had lined up to read and dove right in. I was a bit nervous that it wouldn't live up to my high expectations I already had for it. And I'll say that except for maybe just a slight disappointment in the ending, it was happy it just wasn't my dream HEA (Happily Ever After for those not familiar :D), but nonetheless I fell in love with this book.

    The characters of Ellie and Graham were both such a pleasure to read. Ellie is the sweet small town girl with dreams and goals..and a small secret. And she's the perfect love interest for Graham. She's not caught up in the glitz and glam of his celebrity like most girls her age would be, she hadn't even seen any of his movies, which added to the cuteness of them. And then Graham himself he wasn't written like you would expect most teenage "heart throb" types to be. He was pretty grounded and had a good head on his shoulders, but sort of stuck between two worlds. One in which he loved his job and what he did...but the recognition and paparazzi were getting to him. And even though he's surrounded by all these people he felt totally alone. They are both such likeable characters!

    I loved how the author all throughout the book would put pieces of their back and forth emails. Starting from the first mistaken one and then as it progressed we get to see a line, maybe two here and there. It was completely adorable and added some fun to the story.

    Like I said it wasn't my ideal HEA. But it's one that I can accept and be okay with. I am so glad I found this book and now was finally able to read it. It was my first book by Jennifer E. Smith and now that I've connected her with The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight I am going to go order it after I finish this review. I've passed that one by many times in the past and am now kicking myself! This book has granted Jennifer E. Smith a nice cushy seat on my auto buy list. I can't wait to read more of her work!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Sue

    Very romantic story. Loved the plot and how Ellie reacts to Graham.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    The statistical probability of love at first sight

    This is such a good book, i mean who doesn't want to fall in love, especially at first sight.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great

    Great beginning cant for the full thing!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    I loved it

    Its an amazing book and I loved it I recomend it for anybody who is gonna buy it. It is a beautiful love story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2014

    this book is AWESOME ily carl azus

    this book is AWESOME ily carl azus

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Hi

    OMG I love this book soooooo much!!! Anyone who likes a woderful sweet well-written romance has to read this book!!!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! It had a very interesting story and a great o

    I loved this book! It had a very interesting story and a great outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    AMAZING!!!!

    This book is so amazing!! My friend told me about it, and I finished it in about one and a half days. You won't be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Such a wonderfully sweet book. I happen to absolutely Jennifer

    Such a wonderfully sweet book. I happen to absolutely Jennifer Smith's writing style and find it nearly effortless in how she can develop characters with whom you can identify, empathize, feel, and love.

    Graham Larkin is yet one more male lead that you'll fall in love with. Love his wit, his heart, and his backstory. :)

    Ellie O'Neill is a sweet, somewhat timid yet strong, endearing female lead.

    Just a perfectly satisfying summer read that I finished in a day. Yes, you are left with a "what happens next??????" feeling, but not all books end with every last detail wrapped up, but I think the author here has given you enough that you can wrap them up in your own minds. Very highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER MADE! THR PLOT IS AWESOME AND THE ACTUAL STORY IS BETTER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Cheeey but an adorable, fun, quick read!!!

    Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Anynomos

    I honestly thought i would hate this book im not the type of person to read a love story if thats what you want to call this book. But she dose such a good job at describing whats going on in the book i could picture every thing she wrote. I ended up loving this story if anyone trys to tell you other wise dont listen.you will regret not reading it and her other books too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    a-MAZ-ing

    Best book EVER!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    My happy

    I wasnt always the happiest kid around back in middle school or the first few yrs of high school either i was lonley...unlil i met my boyfriend he makes me smile when i wanna cry he makes me laugh when im angry...he just idek i feel so much better when im talking to him when im texting him when im with him in his arms on the couch watching movie together and every once in a while he kisses me on the cheek and whispers something sweet in my ear and i shift my head and look up at himand smile as he leans in and kisses me i love him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    Just bought it and im already on page 100. Its such a cute little story and im not usually a person who likes reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Read this bok

    I absolutely loved this book. The ending didnt end how I wanted or expected, but i want there to bea second bookreally bad. I read stat prob of love at first sight and loved it too, an di reccommend both books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!!

    This book is so good and i loved it so much. I want to be ellie and live in henley maine and have graham be my boyfriend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Question

    I loved the statistical prob. Of love at first sight and i think i will lile this but is it worth 8 bucks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2