BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

This Is Where I Leave You: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 356 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

What A Perfect Book!

Jonathan Tropper is known for his hilarious and clever novels, and he does not disappoint with his latest creation, This Is Where I Leave You.

Judd Foxman's life is a mess. He comes home early from work to find his beautiful wife, Jen, in bed with another man. And no...
Jonathan Tropper is known for his hilarious and clever novels, and he does not disappoint with his latest creation, This Is Where I Leave You.

Judd Foxman's life is a mess. He comes home early from work to find his beautiful wife, Jen, in bed with another man. And not just any man, but his boss. After moving out of his charming suburban home and into a shoddy basement apartment, he is informed of his father's death. Suprisingly, although he was never a religious man, his dad's dying wish was for his family to sit Shiva for one week, in his honor. Reluctantly, Judd heads to his mother's house.

Judd's family is a comedy lover's dream. Dysfunctional doesn't even begin to describe this clan. His mother is a world renowned parenting expert who can't even begin to understand her own children. His youngest brother, Philip, is a playboy who is constantly finding himself in one crisis or another. He comes to the family home with a guest that no one can quite figure out. Paul, his older brother, harbors a lot of resentment towards Judd. He and his wife are also struggling with fertility issues. His sister, Wendy, is his rock. But she is stuck is a loveless marriage and dealing with her own romantic disasters. Now all these siblings are forced to stay under the same roof. Add to this list a number of oddball mourners who come to pay their respects and you've got a week of dysfunctional comic drama. The repercussions are laugh out loud funny and poignant at the same time.

As I read this book, I couldn't help but think that it would make an amazing movie. The characters are just so oddly lovable and relatable. The family dynamic is incredibly familiar and easy to identify with. The Foxman's are everyone's family. Sure, they are somewhat eccentric and manipulative, but the love they have for each other is clear. Yes, they may despise each other at times, but underneath the chaos is an undying loyalty to each other. And isn't that pretty much how every family works?

posted by hesitanthousewife on September 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

not recommended

This book is not what I expected it would be. First I may be too old to enjoy the abundance of foul language. The humor is over the top. I do not find it amusing but just a little sick.

posted by mbform on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jonathan Tropper's more messed up than you.

    Remember that time at your last family reunion when your Uncle Sal pinched your fiancee? In Tropper's world, it would have been your widowerer Father, and he would have wound up scoring with aforementioned fiancee in your childhood bedroom...from whence your shiftless younger brother runs his webcam porn business...thereby ensuring world-wide-web-broadcasting of the event. And that would have just been the first five minutes home. Hilarious and poignant by turns, Tropper navigates familial emotional minefields like nobody else today, keeping his larger-than-life wack-tastic characters shockingly real and vulnerable. Don't read this while drinking anything you'd mind snorting out your nose.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    very entertaining!

    I loved this book, the characters are damaged, sad, and hilarious. It's the dysfunctional family at it's best. I will read more of his books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    Laugh after Laugh

    A lot of humor that everybody gets. A couple things that only fellows will laugh at (or laugh at differently).

    Really liked his writing style! Often found myself saying "Hah! Cool! I like the way he said that. =)"

    Was a little surprised by the ending - not in a disappointing way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    I really enjoyed this story. This is the first I have read of Jo

    I really enjoyed this story. This is the first I have read of Jonathan Tropper. I enjoyed his style and truths, sometimes the insights seem to clear, but then I remembered how grief and life changing experiences sometimes can ring your bell. This story does that, the characters are very well rounded. We love to hold onto our hurts and indignation, until we discover everyone has their own truth and pain as well. I look forward to reading his earlier works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Great book

    Great book. It kept my interest until the very end. I can totally see Justin Bateman playing this character. I can't wait for the movie to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    X

    This is not the book for you if...
    *Foul language bothers you
    *Listening to a mans point of view told in crude words offends you
    *if you cant laugh or even find light in a dark situation

    I personally can! And loved this book it is LAUGH OUT LOUD funny .. the topics are dark,sad even heartbreaking but the way it is wrote puts a spin on it that you cant help but smile

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Brilliantly Written

    Loved loved lived this book!! As someone who comes from a large family, I could relate to this book completely...I would recommend this to anyone...beware the ending...it may piss you off...I know it did me!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Funny and good-

    I laughed so much while reading this book. It was an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Tropper's newest novel does not disappoint!

    This is Where I Leave You is a great novel about family and relationships, as are all of Tropper's novels. As a writer, he truly understands what it is about creating characters that readers want to meet and befriend, or hate, in real life. Although this was not my favorite book by the author, it was well worth the wait and left me wanting to know more about the lives of the characters after the last page. Great read, and overall another great novel by Mr. Tropper.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2014

    I found the plot to be interesting and the read enjoyable. It go

    I found the plot to be interesting and the read enjoyable. It got off to a slow start, but once it got past the character introductions and into the story, it was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Liked it alot

    This book is easy to read and interesting. It is the story of a woman who hits her head and forgets the last ten years of her life. It addresses our feelingg that the feeling of now is true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    SpruceTail & JuncoFlight

    Name :: SpruceTail
    <br>
    Age :: 17 Moons
    <br>
    Gender :: &male
    <br>
    Rank :: Medicine cat
    <br>
    Appearance :: A large auburn-colored pelt with faded tabby markings. He is "fluffy", bearing maine coon heritage. His eyes are a golden-hazel.
    <br>
    Persona :: Know him
    <br>
    Crush :: N/A
    <br>
    Mate :: N/A
    <br>
    Kits :: N/A
    <br>
    Other :: Ask
    <p>
    Name :: JuncoFlight
    <br>
    Age :: 17 Moons
    <br>
    Gender :: &female
    <br>
    Rank :: Warrior
    <br>
    Appearance :: A long-furred silver coat with white paws and tail tip. Her eyes are sky blue. The fur around her eyes are stark black.
    <br>
    Persona :: Know her.
    <br>
    Crush :: . . .
    <br>
    Mate :: Wouldn't mind
    <br>
    Kits :: Wants.
    <br>
    Other :: Ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Hard To Put Down

    While I thoroughly enjoyed the book, the only disappointment was the ending. It just, in a way, left me hanging. Good read though. Characters are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Just got done reading. I loved this book. I'll be honest and thi

    Just got done reading. I loved this book. I'll be honest and this book was on a list I found of books that should be read before the movie comes out. I'm a sucker for books I know are being turned into movies. I don't think I will want to see the movie because of how much I enjoyed all these characters; this family. It was painfully honest, funny, and real. I couldn't stop reading and am sad it ended. This is one of my favorite books I've ever read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    I'm only on pg 83 and I love this book

    Funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A microcosim of all families!

    This book held my attention from page one. Jonathan Tropper wrote as if he is sitting there and telling a story. You don't have to be Jewish to see parts of your own family in each character. I enjoyed it immensely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Great book!

    The kind of book you can read in one sitting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Good

    How bout sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Very good!

    Found it refreshing to hear a man's perspective on things. Very good story and I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Loved this book

    This book was so funny. I loved the way it was written about family. It makes you think about the crazy people in your own family. The only problem I had was how it ended. I would of liked more info at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6