BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

This Is Why You're Fat (and How to Get Thin Forever): Eat More, Cheat More, Lose More--and Keep the Weight Off

Average Rating 3.5
( 258 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

This is Why You're Fat

What a treat! Jackie Warner rocks! "This Is Why You're Fat" (And How To Get Thin Forever) A book that is loaded with some new ideas. For example, drinking a decaf green tea in the evening increases L-Theanine a chemical that releases dopamine and serotonin this regul...
What a treat! Jackie Warner rocks! "This Is Why You're Fat" (And How To Get Thin Forever) A book that is loaded with some new ideas. For example, drinking a decaf green tea in the evening increases L-Theanine a chemical that releases dopamine and serotonin this regulates the appetite, a persons mood, energy and cravings, it also contains compounds that block fat storage. She says to mix the green tea with a herbal fruit tea for extra flavor. Of course there is her eating 5 meals a day, eat before hunger pangs hit so your food isn't stored as fat, drink 3 liters of lemon water a day, a lot of information on what to eat and why, examples of meals. The 5 days of eating clean and having 2 days of being allowed a'cheat meal" Then Jackie gives even more! Exercise moves, detailed pictures making sure to inspire and educate.

posted by 3692815 on May 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bridget's Review

I have struggled with my weight ever since I knew what "fat" meant. Reading this book, I realized not only how to lose weight but what it is that has made my body look like it does right now. Jackie understands that it isn't just about diet and exercise, it's about a wh...
I have struggled with my weight ever since I knew what "fat" meant. Reading this book, I realized not only how to lose weight but what it is that has made my body look like it does right now. Jackie understands that it isn't just about diet and exercise, it's about a whole new vision of the life you have and the one you want. Anyone who is overweight should read this book. It's a real eye-opener.

posted by bridget3420 on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 258 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    This is Why You're Fat

    What a treat! Jackie Warner rocks! "This Is Why You're Fat" (And How To Get Thin Forever) A book that is loaded with some new ideas. For example, drinking a decaf green tea in the evening increases L-Theanine a chemical that releases dopamine and serotonin this regulates the appetite, a persons mood, energy and cravings, it also contains compounds that block fat storage. She says to mix the green tea with a herbal fruit tea for extra flavor. Of course there is her eating 5 meals a day, eat before hunger pangs hit so your food isn't stored as fat, drink 3 liters of lemon water a day, a lot of information on what to eat and why, examples of meals. The 5 days of eating clean and having 2 days of being allowed a'cheat meal" Then Jackie gives even more! Exercise moves, detailed pictures making sure to inspire and educate.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    This Is Why You're Fat

    Jackie Warner may be the fitness guru to the stars but this book is a book for anyone that wants to lose weight and get healthy. I liked the layout of the book as she lays out the plan and what you should do and follows with helpful extras. The book contains detailed pictures and instructions for the weight training portion of the plan, menus and recipes, and appendices with charts to help you plan and track your meals and exercise. Jackie writes in an easy to read, motivational, get your butt in gear and do it attitude that I really liked. The food plan is one that I would actually use with food items I would eat. Most of the diet and health books I have read before contain ingredients and food items that I have never heard of or are items that are hard to find in my area. I am overweight and unhealthy and this book has motivated me to make a change. I have set up another blog just for my journey in following Warner's plan. I would love for any of you to join me in using her plan or just stop by to read about my journey. Check it out at:
    http://thediet-journey.blogspot.com

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jackie GET'S IT ... WILL WE? THINK LEAN INSTEAD OF THIN

    Wonderful inspiring book that puts a lot of complicated information, (typically), into straight forward language and she is, herself, inspiring.

    I put three years without working, (saved for it), into getting fit and lean in the early nineties and NEVER felt better in my entire life. 12% bodyfat - lost 110 lbs in 1.5 years and was able to run 5 miles easily and had a 42 resting heart rate. Yes.... these are the data you want to track if you want to be really fit. But.... I was working out 2 hours daily and eating a very disciplined diet. I did find that, once I got really fit, I was able to maintain my fitness on 45 minutes a day - BUT at the beginning it felt miserable and I was very fat, sweaty, breathless,
    sore and exhausted. You truly have to muscle through about 6-8 months of this before you see real gains that you can feel - although you are gaining fitness right from the beginning.... biggest gain in the first 6 weeks % percentage wise.

    Unfortunately, I also ran smack into a divorce after all of this effort and returned to the corporate world after this amazing sojourn. Lost everything in 3 years - except I noticed that my weight stayed stable without moving at all after the first 3 months of working out.... amazing because after that - it skyrocketed upwards - That explains the science of your metabolism and how bodies burn fuel (think muscle and mitochondria - aka aerobic fitness)

    No matter what anyone says - in order to be really fit and lean - you have to MAKE IT THE NUMBER ONE PRIORITY in your life to MAINTAIN it.

    Our American way way of eating is called by nutritionists the SAD diet (Standard American Diet) and our typical lifestyle is sedentary (both at work and at home). It's frankly horrifying.

    Jackie - I love your show and your spirit. The only thing I would change is the use of the old and tired word "thin" in your book jacket.... Really, didn't you mean LEAN?

    Love, a great fan

    10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    The most direct truth of why your butt is big. No BS and no sugarcoating! Excellent read!

    This is, by far, the most simple, straight forward, bs free diet book ever written. I've read so many and few can I name or remember the content of. Jackie speaks to you in the most basic way- explaining what's going on with your body and how to fix it- without gimmicks, lies, hidden agendas and everything else you've come across in a diet book. With our society so hyper sensitive to diet and fitness it's amazing we have an obesity epidemic. Perhaps it's the information overload?! Jackie totally breaks it down to a reasonable and rational approach that won't clutter your already "stuffed" body.

    There's work to be done to get your hottest body yet and this is the first step. Jackie is so helpful and motivating without putting you down but with a perfect dose of candor and tough love to make sure you realize you can achieve your fitness and health goals. This books will speak to that inner you who struggles with body image, self esteem, self hate and all those awful demeaning things you tell yourself.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    A friend recommended this book and i read it all in a few hours. This plan is amazing because although it is an easy concept to eat raw/clean and avoid sugar it is nice to see so many reasons why. I think Jackie's 5+2 plan will really help more people stay on track. I purposely waited a while after trying her plan to review this and it is working for me! So happy I read this book. It has honestly changed my life.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    Buy this book if you want to lose weight.

    I am so thrilled about this book. I havent finished it yet but started following the advice. I am trimming down and losing pounds after only 6 days! I am recommending this book to everyone I know!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Very Informative!

    Having gained 30 pounds since loosing my job over a year ago, I needed a plan that was easy for me to stick to, and not a fly by night fad. Jackie gives you all the information you need on what to eat, how to exercise and to get healthy! I especially love the jump start 2 week program and the 5+2 plan. Once you get used to the program, your mind will be trained to eat healthy and to avoid junk food. I've already lost over 5 pounds since getting this book almost a month ago. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a program that is real with real results to be had.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Great!

    A non-nonsense, easy approach to eating right and getting healthier. Finally a diet and exercise book that explains why you need to eat right and how it will immediately impact your life/moods/and energy!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great diet.

    I have been a fan of Jackie Warner since Work Out on Bravo. In this book, she tells you what you're doing wrong and how to correct it--and with what foods. I got a lot out of the diet and think it will work long term.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I have struggled with my weight ever since I knew what "fat" meant. Reading this book, I realized not only how to lose weight but what it is that has made my body look like it does right now. Jackie understands that it isn't just about diet and exercise, it's about a whole new vision of the life you have and the one you want. Anyone who is overweight should read this book. It's a real eye-opener.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    I found this book to be so easy to read an understand. I loved the parts that explained how to get your hormones back in balance! I was eating clean all summer last year and this has me back on track. I wish i had read it last year then i wouldnt have had to scour the web for the few vauge bits of info i found on the supplements and vitamins. This is a must for any one looking for the real deal, Not a magic pill. And its true your cravings for crap food really do go away quickly. I just wanna say thank you Jackie!!!! This is gonna be my best summer yet!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Amazing!

    I like Jackies tough love attitude, very inspiring! Ive lost 20 lbs so far!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    this was great!

    I was imedeatly imersed into this book. I lost 300 pounds after 2 years. Read this bokk if you want stop being a fatty!!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This book is just plain good sense. What shocked me so much is the simple things she tells you to add for the first 2 weeks actually DO take away your cravings sugar and refined foods. I have never been full eating healthy except now. I have lost 5lbs in the 2 weeks initial stage (which is not even starting her plan yet!)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    At last !

    Bravo Jackie ! I am insulin resistant and it has been near impossible for me to lose any weight. On a recent 1200 calorie a day diet I only lost 3 pounds in 5 weeks (not a typo) In a little less than 2 weeks, along with exercise I have lost 3 pounds on Jackie's plan. I don't know how this plan has you eating more and losing weight but I am here to tell you this plan works......I am actually having a hard time eating everything each day. I am thrilled with all the in formation in this book and cannot recommend it highly enough. This is such an easy doable plan that I know I will not only reach my goal but will not be gaining any of the weight back.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Warriors den

    Foxtail deputy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    This Book was fantastic. Extremely detailed and full of so much

    This Book was fantastic. Extremely detailed and full of so much information , but from a different perspective. She explains that you can make changes, it won't be easy, but is absolutely doable. I benefited from this read, and continue to do so. I read her book at the beginning of the month and started her program around Jan 9th and have lost 9 lbs so far. It is coming off slowly, but I am seeing so much definition in my muscles from the strength training workouts and cardio combinations! I recommend this book to anyone that wants to feel fit and fabulous!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Fabulous! Butt kicking.

    Fabulous! Butt kicking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    To "IT IT THE WORST NOOK EVER"

    Are you saying this for attention, or did this really happen?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    A good read! I learned a lot!

    Just what the title says!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 258 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13