Customer Reviews for

This Lullaby

Average Rating 4.5
( 1449 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1043)

4 Star

(270)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

This Lullaby

The book This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen is a heartfelt story about a young adult known as Remy. Remy has always had her fair share of boyfriends and step dads. She just finished high school and is ready to go to college clear across the country so she can escape her fam...
The book This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen is a heartfelt story about a young adult known as Remy. Remy has always had her fair share of boyfriends and step dads. She just finished high school and is ready to go to college clear across the country so she can escape her family. Remy was prepared to have a fun, free summer; but fate had a different plan for her. As she was helping her mother plan for her fifth wedding, she found a new boyfriend she was not expecting. Dexter teaches her how to love and he is the first boy she never had to give "the Speech" to.

This is a book that girls can connect to, and they can understand how Remy feels about moving away and learning how to live life on her own. It also teaches you how you never can expect to find the perfect guy you have imagined in you mind. The perfect man does not look like a movie star or act like a gentlemen; it's a man that makes you happy when you are sad and dries your tears when you cry. Dexter is not like Remy's thoughts of a perfect man he is everything she did not want, but in the end he is everything she does.

Sarah Dessen has written many books similar to This Lullaby. Sarah has written The Truth about Forever, and many other books in the Young Adult genre. She writes books that teenaged girls can understand and relate to. She also puts everyday things into situations that girls can relate to. Mrs. Dessen has been awarded many awards for her books. As fair back as Sarah can remember she has been writing. Now she is a professor at the University of North Carolina, where she teaches creative writing. She also lives in North Carolina with her loving husband.

Sarah Dessen is a well known writer when it comes to young adults. She really captors the fascination with Remy's love life, and life in general; also with how Remy responds to things. This Lullaby is a book that almost every teenage girl will love.

posted by dragonflyDD on June 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good book, but...

It was a tad boring. I mean the characters, like the characters in most of Sarah Dessen's books, were lively. They were unique and all different and quirky. But Remy's character was a little annoying for me at times, and sometimes the story could get quite predictable. ...
It was a tad boring. I mean the characters, like the characters in most of Sarah Dessen's books, were lively. They were unique and all different and quirky. But Remy's character was a little annoying for me at times, and sometimes the story could get quite predictable. There was a point where I started reading another book because this one was getting dull. You just knew in the end they were going to end up together, no matter what. It seemed like a pointless read, I'd give it a six out of ten.

posted by teamjacob1326 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1453 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 73
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Lullaby

    The book This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen is a heartfelt story about a young adult known as Remy. Remy has always had her fair share of boyfriends and step dads. She just finished high school and is ready to go to college clear across the country so she can escape her family. Remy was prepared to have a fun, free summer; but fate had a different plan for her. As she was helping her mother plan for her fifth wedding, she found a new boyfriend she was not expecting. Dexter teaches her how to love and he is the first boy she never had to give "the Speech" to.

    This is a book that girls can connect to, and they can understand how Remy feels about moving away and learning how to live life on her own. It also teaches you how you never can expect to find the perfect guy you have imagined in you mind. The perfect man does not look like a movie star or act like a gentlemen; it's a man that makes you happy when you are sad and dries your tears when you cry. Dexter is not like Remy's thoughts of a perfect man he is everything she did not want, but in the end he is everything she does.

    Sarah Dessen has written many books similar to This Lullaby. Sarah has written The Truth about Forever, and many other books in the Young Adult genre. She writes books that teenaged girls can understand and relate to. She also puts everyday things into situations that girls can relate to. Mrs. Dessen has been awarded many awards for her books. As fair back as Sarah can remember she has been writing. Now she is a professor at the University of North Carolina, where she teaches creative writing. She also lives in North Carolina with her loving husband.

    Sarah Dessen is a well known writer when it comes to young adults. She really captors the fascination with Remy's love life, and life in general; also with how Remy responds to things. This Lullaby is a book that almost every teenage girl will love.

    41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    i really liked this book

    i liked this book because it's realistic. It's not one of those lovey dovy kind of books where prince charming comes and sweeps you off your feet and you immediatly fall in love. I think this is a book girls can relate too. i read this book in a couple of hours, it was that good. I really liked all the characters too. this book is funny and romantic. What more can you ask for?

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    Fantastic Great read. I enjoyed every minute reading this.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    This Lullaby

    Sarah Desson's This Lullaby is all about believing in love. It's a story about an eighteen year old girl named Remy who doesn't believe in love and doesn't think it exists. The novel opens with Remy's mother getting married to her fifth husband, which explains her lack of belief in love. Even though she has been in multiple relationships, she's never actually been in love. Remy dates boys and then dumps them before she gets emotionally attached.<BR/>But one day at her step father's car dealership Remy runs into a guy named Dexter. She wants nothing to do with him but he is extremely determined to get to know Remy. Eventually the two get together, will the two find love or will she dump him before she gets attached?<BR/>This book would have to be my favorite by Sarah Desson. She is such an amazing author that gets into all her characters. They are very developed and unique. I love all her books because they are very relatable. Everything her characters go through, I went through or I'm currently going throught them. It's a must read for all teen!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    I absolutely loved this book!

    This was an awesome book! I absolutely loved Dexter! He seems like such a clutzy person but so sweet and funny. ANd i love the way Remy ust completely denies Dexter at first but as she begins to see him she starts to like him even more. This is probably one of my favorite romance book novels! (besides the truth about forever and along for the ride both by Sarah Dessen!)

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    What is there not to love about about any Sarah Dessen book?

    This Lullaby is definitely one of my favorite books of all time. I have read it several times and I am never disappointed with Sarah Dessen. She has a great understanding of teens and the troubles of growing up. Remy is a girl who is reluctant to fall in one because of her unstable parent figures. Dexter is a charming boy with a band and Remy wants nothing to do with her despite Dexter's best efforts. One of my favorite parts in this book is probably the band members and all their shenanigans. The eating contests never fail, i laugh every time. This book, and really all of Sarah's books are so relatable to every person. If you have not read all her books I urge you to go read them. I am positive that they will not disappoint.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    This Lullaby, by Sarah Dessen is a really good book, it was so g

    This Lullaby, by Sarah Dessen is a really good book, it was so good I finished reading it in 12 hours!! This book is a book about a girl named Remy whose dad left her mom before she was even born. When he found out he had a daughter he wrote her a lullaby, and he is very famous for it. He died before he could even meet her and tell her he loves her. Now she doesn&rsquo;t trust any guy in a long relationship, or a guy who is a musician like her dad, Will that change when she meets a boy named Dexter, a musician and a guy who is not up to her standards? Read this book to find out.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not My Favorite...

    Out of all the books i've read by Sarah Dessen this is my least favorite...I don't know why...I mean I love this book but I don't know...

    I think its cuz the ends leves you wanting to know what was going to happen after the story...if you read the book you would know what i'm talking about...

    It's about a girl who doesn't belive in love...who then meets a boy...

    All in all I liked it...i'd recommend it to my friends...GO READ IT!!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book, but...

    It was a tad boring. I mean the characters, like the characters in most of Sarah Dessen's books, were lively. They were unique and all different and quirky. But Remy's character was a little annoying for me at times, and sometimes the story could get quite predictable. There was a point where I started reading another book because this one was getting dull. You just knew in the end they were going to end up together, no matter what. It seemed like a pointless read, I'd give it a six out of ten.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!

    This book by Sarah Dessen was really good. It taught a great lesson about finding love and incorporated it into real family situations. It captured how life really is. The characters were likeable and very believable. I recommend this book to people looking for guidance in what love really is or for those who just enjoy a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Anonymous

    This book is wonderful, i love the dramatic turns and twists throughout the book. The comedy in this book makes it a funny book but also it has serious parts to it that definitly make it a funny yet serious book. I would reccomend this book to pre teens and teens. Read this book i definitly recomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Remey

    This book i think was a great read. Remey is a girl that i think doesnt know for sure how to deal with certain thing and i think this can relate to a lot of girls lives... and personally i just love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    ???

    Is this book good? I just finished reading dreamland by sarah dessen and I absolutly loved it :')

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Best of Sarah Dessen

    This Lullaby has always been my favorite from Sarah. I love Remy and how she isn't the typical lead female character, and Dexter is so lovable in his own way. The characterization and emotions are realistic and relatable and the story keeps you hooked from beginning to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    OMG!!!

    I loved this book. It was funny, exciting, heartfelt, and sad. I would read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    So adorable!!!!

    I fell in love with Dexter!!!!:) Reminds me of my best friend!!!!!<3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Stargazer

    Remy is a girl who doesnt belive in love. She has had her fair share of boyfriends and her mom has had plenty of husbands. She meets Dexter and her beflief in love is still the same untill after the breakup. She relizes that two people dont have to be perfect together or be exactly their type......their can be some differences

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Read

    I really enjoyed this book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My fav book by sarah dessen

    Well I love that it's about 2 people that can relate to each other but are complete opposites. But you know what they say opposites attract. This is obviously a love story because almost all stories are. You can disagree but name one book that didn't have a couple in love. Or one night flings or something like that. When Dexter and Remy meet there's an instant connection between them which is not only cute but well magical I guess you can say. I won't tell you anymore but if you realize you want to know more READ THE BOOK I'm 100% sure you'll love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know I did

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one of my favorites

    this lullaby was one of my favorite books that ive read. it was very realistic and easy to read. i absolutely loved all the characters! it had my attention throughout the entire book. never a dull moment. must read! sarah dessen is truly a great author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1453 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 73