Customer Reviews for

This Lullaby

Average Rating 4.5
( 1449 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1043)

4 Star

(270)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

This Lullaby

The book This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen is a heartfelt story about a young adult known as Remy. Remy has always had her fair share of boyfriends and step dads. She just finished high school and is ready to go to college clear across the country so she can escape her fam...
The book This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen is a heartfelt story about a young adult known as Remy. Remy has always had her fair share of boyfriends and step dads. She just finished high school and is ready to go to college clear across the country so she can escape her family. Remy was prepared to have a fun, free summer; but fate had a different plan for her. As she was helping her mother plan for her fifth wedding, she found a new boyfriend she was not expecting. Dexter teaches her how to love and he is the first boy she never had to give "the Speech" to.

This is a book that girls can connect to, and they can understand how Remy feels about moving away and learning how to live life on her own. It also teaches you how you never can expect to find the perfect guy you have imagined in you mind. The perfect man does not look like a movie star or act like a gentlemen; it's a man that makes you happy when you are sad and dries your tears when you cry. Dexter is not like Remy's thoughts of a perfect man he is everything she did not want, but in the end he is everything she does.

Sarah Dessen has written many books similar to This Lullaby. Sarah has written The Truth about Forever, and many other books in the Young Adult genre. She writes books that teenaged girls can understand and relate to. She also puts everyday things into situations that girls can relate to. Mrs. Dessen has been awarded many awards for her books. As fair back as Sarah can remember she has been writing. Now she is a professor at the University of North Carolina, where she teaches creative writing. She also lives in North Carolina with her loving husband.

Sarah Dessen is a well known writer when it comes to young adults. She really captors the fascination with Remy's love life, and life in general; also with how Remy responds to things. This Lullaby is a book that almost every teenage girl will love.

posted by dragonflyDD on June 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good book, but...

It was a tad boring. I mean the characters, like the characters in most of Sarah Dessen's books, were lively. They were unique and all different and quirky. But Remy's character was a little annoying for me at times, and sometimes the story could get quite predictable. ...
It was a tad boring. I mean the characters, like the characters in most of Sarah Dessen's books, were lively. They were unique and all different and quirky. But Remy's character was a little annoying for me at times, and sometimes the story could get quite predictable. There was a point where I started reading another book because this one was getting dull. You just knew in the end they were going to end up together, no matter what. It seemed like a pointless read, I'd give it a six out of ten.

posted by teamjacob1326 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    i really liked this book

    i liked this book because it's realistic. It's not one of those lovey dovy kind of books where prince charming comes and sweeps you off your feet and you immediatly fall in love. I think this is a book girls can relate too. i read this book in a couple of hours, it was that good. I really liked all the characters too. this book is funny and romantic. What more can you ask for?

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!

    This book by Sarah Dessen was really good. It taught a great lesson about finding love and incorporated it into real family situations. It captured how life really is. The characters were likeable and very believable. I recommend this book to people looking for guidance in what love really is or for those who just enjoy a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    OMG!!!

    I loved this book. It was funny, exciting, heartfelt, and sad. I would read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    A Brilliant Read

    This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen was not a difficult book to read. It is fast paced, yet still provides adequate details. This book is humorous thanks to the wry main character, Remy, an older high school girl who does not believe in long-term relationships. Can you blame her? Her recent boyfriend cheated on her. Her mother, a well known author has had five husbands. Ironically, her mother writes romance novels. The only memory Remy has of her father is the song he left behind for her, This Lullaby. "I will let you down" are some of the lyrics in this song. Remy's outlook on relationships is suddenly put on trial when she meets Dexter. Dexter is a messy musician. He hopes to break her pattern of temporary boyfriends. This book takes place in the summer before Remy heads to Stanford, hoping to start a brand new life for herself. Her summer is filled with trips to the Quik Zip with her three best friends, a receptionist job at a salon, chaos at home, and Dexter. This book is good, but the flashbacks to her past prove to be somewhat confusing and disjointed. The writer fails to imply how she changed so drastically from her devious lifestyle to her organized and mature ways.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A gift

    I got this book for Christmas from a friend and was pretty excited to read it since everyone bragged about Sarah Dessen. This was my friend's favorite book of Sarah Dessens so I knew I'd love it too. It was such a sweet book. Kind of like a fluffy book without the fluff. Nothing was overdone. Sarah Dessen puts just enough romance in it without making it boring. I wish there was more depth to the ending but other than that I completely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    I really loved this book and it was sooo good! I have read a lot

    I really loved this book and it was sooo good! I have read a lot of books of Sarah Dessen and she did a really good job writing these books.
    I loved the character named Remy  and Dexter in this book. But, this book was sad too in some parts of the book, which i did not liked. But, it was good overall.
    I recommend this book for people who read and liked this author Sarah Dessen and if you like romance books!!    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Great!

    I havent read all of it yet but so far its a really great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    I smiled

    I liked this book ^.^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    So adorable!

    Remy and Dexter, oh my... these characters sure pissed me off sometimes, especially Remy. But the whole book was nice, a true finding of what love really is. Props!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A really good read...

    I picked up THIS LULLABY after scouring over Dessen's books in search of the perfect one to read before she came to Memphis for a signing. And after looking over reviews (which I hardly ever do before I read a book...weird since I write reviews) I chose THIS LULLABY. And I think I am happy that I chose it out of all the other books she has wrote. Although I didn't give it 5 stars, I really enjoyed it. There wasn't much of a build up to that one epic outcome...not at all. It seemed to just flow and tell its story. So I am not sure if most of her books are like that, not packed with much suspense or dramatic moments, but it worked for this story.

    I am ok with there being a story that doesn't shock and awe you. As long as the story is entertaining and able to keep my interest I am ok with that. Plus it has to have interesting characters and THIS LULLABY did. I really enjoyed Dexter's quirky self. I so related to him and his friends and his living situation. I went through a phase during high school and hung out with a few friends that was this exact same way.

    The only person I couldn't connect with was Remy. She was cold, heartless, and bitter about love. And to think that she is the main character and having no connection, you'd think that I would put the book down like I have done several times before. But there was just something about her that made me keep reading; wanting to learn more about her and her anything-but-normal family.

    In the end, THIS LULLABY was a great read. And after the signing, seeing how one of the characters was actually part of a different story and 2 others show up in another book, I look forward to more of Dessen's books. I think it is neat how she will bring characters back to her other books for cameos so her readers will have those little sneak peeks at how they are doing. Keep in mind it is not a romance packed read though. There is mention of sexual situations, but no actual sex scenes. So yes, I recommend this to any reader who loves YA Chick Lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    A should read

    As I was reading this book I found that someparts were slow. But once I kept reading there were parts that I loved and really captured me. I read this book in about two days. It has a great plot about love itself and if its worth it to put yourself out there even if u get hurt. Overall a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Good

    Not my absolute favorite of her works but overall a very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Not her best but still great

    I love sarah dessen but i was not amazed by this book like i usually am. If you like her characters that go out and drink every night and love relationships then this is the book for you. If not then maybe you should try a different sarah dessen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    A great summer read!

    This was the first sarah dessen book that i read. I give it a four out of five because the characters were really well written and the plot was interesting. But sometimes in the book it would get kinda of dry and it seemed the characters were doing the same thing everyday. Im not saying this was a bad book. I just thought her other books were more interesting especiall dreamland and just listen. But this book review should not stop you from readint this book. Sarah dessen is a spectacular writer and everyone should read all of her books because they teach important lessons in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Good

    I've read this book before in my library! Its SO good. I loved all of it! Its super cute (: <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Well...

    Although all of dessens books are AMAZING, nothing beats Dreamland <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Really grate!!!!!

    The best book eva
    I love sarah dessen shes the best!!!!!
    Read just listen its my favorite book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Good but not the best

    It was an ok book but not my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Great

    Not her best but good. The nes of what i have read is thee truth about forever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Really good

    I thought it was really good but a little perdictable at thr end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14