BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

This Man

Average Rating 4
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

If you liked The Fifty Shades Trilogy or the Crossfire Trilogy t

If you liked The Fifty Shades Trilogy or the Crossfire Trilogy than this book is right up your alley. For all you Americans this book can be a little difficult to read if you are not used to a London writer. Just keep in mind wordings and spellings are a little differen...
If you liked The Fifty Shades Trilogy or the Crossfire Trilogy than this book is right up your alley. For all you Americans this book can be a little difficult to read if you are not used to a London writer. Just keep in mind wordings and spellings are a little different and you should be fine. Also, the books are REALLY LONG! I think there might be way more sex scenes than necessary but at least all the sex scenes are a really yummy!  So, if you can get past the length of the book with LOADS of sex scenes and the language of a London writer than you will LOVE this series. 

posted by mommywhetstone on July 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

I really didn't like this book. Ava started out weak but ended

I really didn't like this book. Ava started out weak but ended up spineless, Jesse is a controlling, manipulating, stalker, psychopath, and Kate is the worst bff EVER! Jesse is constantly correcting Ava's speech, telling her what to wear, what she can drink, who she c...
I really didn't like this book. Ava started out weak but ended up spineless, Jesse is a controlling, manipulating, stalker, psychopath, and Kate is the worst bff EVER! Jesse is constantly correcting Ava's speech, telling her what to wear, what she can drink, who she can be with and AVA LETS HIM!! She tries to get space from him and her best friend and roommate Kate, lets him into their apartment because she thinks he's just so good for Ava. Ava's birth control pills keep going missing, and it's obvious that Jesse keeps hiding them in an attempt to bind (trap?) her to him. He doesn't like a dress that she bought, so he cuts it up into pieces, but hey, he buys her another one that he does like, so that seems to make it okay with Ava. He gets crazy and mad but says he only does so with Ava and so it's her fault that he's acting that way and she totally takes it. I found that I was really annoyed with the characters, plot and book in general. Also, as a previous reviewer noted, the synchronized orgasms are really annoying.

posted by Spifferfish on June 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A train wreck waiting to happen

    ABOUT THE BOOK:

    Young interior designer Ava O’Shea has an appointment for a first consultation at The Manor with the owner, Mr Jesse Ward. She is expecting nothing more than an overweight, cravat wearing, well-to-do countryman, and on arrival, nothing would suggest otherwise. How wrong could she be? This Man is devastatingly handsome, charming and confident. He is also a conceited, hedonistic playboy, who knows no boundaries. Ava desperately does not want to be attracted to him, but she can’t control the overwhelming affect he has on her. Every instinct is telling her to run, so she does, but Jesse Ward is not so willing to let her go. He wants her and is determined to have her. She knows she is heading for heartbreak, but how can she run when he won’t let her.

    MY REVIEW:

    I’m torn on this book. And I’m torn for a few valid reasons. Okay, first and foremost let me just get this out there: I could not put this book down. Despite my issues with it, I was fully engaged, and actually had to wait (because I refused to put them down) until I was well into the third book in the series, before writing my review. The drama really had my breath catching and with each page turned, there was some new twist that literally had me squeezing my e-reader tighter. Yes, it was that angsty.

    That being said, I have a few issues with this (these) books. One, the relationship these two are in is completely unhealthy. I have never had a hero and heroine that I have disliked so much or frowned upon so much in my entire reading life. That’s saying a bit, especially since Fifty Shades wasn’t so keen on the healthy relationships either. These two did more destruction to one another, hurt, and brought out the worst in each other more than any other couple I’ve read about or known.

    Which leads to my second issue. One moment the heroine would be strong, standing up for something she believes in, and rightly putting the hero in his place. In the next second she’d be on her back, having sex, and nothing would be resolved. It led to another circle altogether with additional issues to arise. It was extremely frustrating and I again, a huge turn off.

    The last issue was the writing. There was a lot of repetition and telling in this book, and I felt as if the two took me out of the character’s heads and reminded me I was merely reading the book, not experiencing it.

    Outside of those issues though, again, I would say I had to keep reading, and had to see what was going to happen next. I really wish I liked these two characters more, but if I’m completely honest, the only reason I continued to turn the page was because it was like a train wreck and I couldn’t look away. I will check out more from this author in the future, although if the characters are like this, I doubt I’ll finish them.

    All in all, I enjoyed this read. 3.5 stars out of 5.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Disappointing

    It took me a very long time to get through this book. I kept having to put it down due to my frustration with the characters. I was close to not finishing it - and to be honest, I really wanted to know how old Jesse was. That's the only thing that kept me picking it back up and that information has yet to be revealed, so I suppose that I won't ever know and I am seriously disappointed. I have a HUGE issue with the desperation/neediness of Jesse Ward as well as his lack of respect for others. He keeps going through her purse as if he has the right to. I also have issues with the complete lack of a backbone or self worth that Ava O'Shea has. How can she be so established professionally and act like that in her private life? This has to be one of the most disfunctional couples I have read in quite some time. I understand what Jodi was conveying, but I just couldn't get into the characters at all. To me, Jesse came across as a controlling, stalker with nearly violent tendancies. In my opinion, some of the sex bordered on the thin line between consentual and rape - and Ava let it happen over and over again. Would I want to be with a man who practically forces himself on me because I went out with my best friend? No, and it doesn't work for me in a book, either. I was very pleased with the ending seeing Ava put her foot down and stick with it. However, we know that it doesn't last because there is a book 2 as well as 3. I do want to know what the deal is with why her birth control keeps disappearing and what he's done with them. I get the impression that he is trying to intentionally impregnate her so that she will never leave him. I really want to know, but not enough to continue reading the series. There have been a lot of people who loved this book and the series. I'm happy that they were entertained and found it enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Too much

    Too much from jesse not even belivable !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    You lost me at stereotypes

    I must admit this book lost me when she got to the manor and immediately saw tge black guy and then rather offensively kept implying that she needed to check to see if she had her rape whistle or whatever. Im sorry maybe at this point in my life little comments s like this and her seeming baseless fear and intimidation of this unknown black character big or not is a turn off for me. Maybe i will continue but more than likely not

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Not for me

    So normally I hate reading bed reviews, because I feel like everyone is a different type of reader....so to each there own...

    SPOILER ALERT!!!!


    I read up until I figured out that he was purposely trying to impregnate her just to be able to control her and then I put it down. I might pick it back up later....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Good read

    Trying to copy 50 Shades of Grey without the bondage. Ok storyline, but its not as fast as 50 Shades. Book 2 & 3 get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    On the fence

    I read the whole series in a matter of a few days. The story line was nice, the characters were well depicted however the grammar was horrendous and so was the context of some sentences. While I like the growth of the series, I couldn't help but cringe at somethings. There is a fine line between kink and abuse and these characters danced on it. Emotionally, this book was so abusive that I was reading it to make sure that the chick didn't do something crazy to set the hero off. Emotional abusive relationships should not be fantasized about. This love that the couple supposedly had with each was completely toxic and disturbing. I wish I could say that the emotional abuse got better but that would be a lie. If you are going to read this series, read it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Alright

    This book is okay and has a lot of steamy scenes but thats it. I wouldnt waste my time on reading the second one...the characters are terrible and the plot is lacking. Ehhhh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    I couldn't finish it

    The worst part of this book for me was the missing or incomplete words. Such as temp for tempt. They pull me out of the flow of the story which is irritating.
    It would be helpful if the reviews had said the wriiter was English. The unfamiliar terms just added to the interrupted flow problem.
    The story line was monotonous. Yes she will, no she won't. Over and over.
    Finally, I have to agree with other reviwers who said that the relationship is unhealthy. The lead male character is mentally unbalanced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1