Customer Reviews for

This Man

Average Rating 4
( 282 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

If you liked The Fifty Shades Trilogy or the Crossfire Trilogy t

If you liked The Fifty Shades Trilogy or the Crossfire Trilogy than this book is right up your alley. For all you Americans this book can be a little difficult to read if you are not used to a London writer. Just keep in mind wordings and spellings are a little differen...
If you liked The Fifty Shades Trilogy or the Crossfire Trilogy than this book is right up your alley. For all you Americans this book can be a little difficult to read if you are not used to a London writer. Just keep in mind wordings and spellings are a little different and you should be fine. Also, the books are REALLY LONG! I think there might be way more sex scenes than necessary but at least all the sex scenes are a really yummy!  So, if you can get past the length of the book with LOADS of sex scenes and the language of a London writer than you will LOVE this series. 

posted by mommywhetstone on July 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

I really didn't like this book. Ava started out weak but ended

I really didn't like this book. Ava started out weak but ended up spineless, Jesse is a controlling, manipulating, stalker, psychopath, and Kate is the worst bff EVER! Jesse is constantly correcting Ava's speech, telling her what to wear, what she can drink, who she c...
I really didn't like this book. Ava started out weak but ended up spineless, Jesse is a controlling, manipulating, stalker, psychopath, and Kate is the worst bff EVER! Jesse is constantly correcting Ava's speech, telling her what to wear, what she can drink, who she can be with and AVA LETS HIM!! She tries to get space from him and her best friend and roommate Kate, lets him into their apartment because she thinks he's just so good for Ava. Ava's birth control pills keep going missing, and it's obvious that Jesse keeps hiding them in an attempt to bind (trap?) her to him. He doesn't like a dress that she bought, so he cuts it up into pieces, but hey, he buys her another one that he does like, so that seems to make it okay with Ava. He gets crazy and mad but says he only does so with Ava and so it's her fault that he's acting that way and she totally takes it. I found that I was really annoyed with the characters, plot and book in general. Also, as a previous reviewer noted, the synchronized orgasms are really annoying.

posted by Spifferfish on June 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Hot

    Good read 450 pages that make you buy all 3 but when you buy books on line and you have to wait for each book to be release you better off waiting till all 2 or 3 come out at the same time. Shame

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Really Good!

    Very similar to 50sog, but still a really great read! Even though it has it's similarities, it is still different. I fell in love with the story and immediately ordered the 2nd. Now I am anticipating July 2 for the 3rd.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    great read

    Better than 50 shades. Each book had just as much excitement as the next. Once you start you won't be able to stop till you have finished the series. Read all three books in 3 days couldn't put down. Love jesse. Hot hot hot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Wow

    I just finshed reading all 3 books im so glad i didnt have to wait.the story was wonderful i fell in love with Jessie and Ava story. I couldn't put the books down. Wonderful wonderful good job telling there story. I read fifty shades last year and never thought i would find any books that good . But i will amit this series is top. Movie anyone. I would love to see that. Also kate and sam story there ur next 3 books . Great job thank you so much for writing them .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    I'm on the last book and I love this series. All three are out

    I'm on the last book and I love this series. All three are out now so no waiting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Finally on BN!

    Thie first book in the This Man triology and I have been waiting forever for this awesome British author to release on BN! I cannot get enough of Ava and Jesse! Power, possesiveness, deception, mystery, humor, sex, sex, and more hot sex!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Loved it!

    I loved, loved, loved this book. I love an intense romance and this series definitely delivered. All three kept me enthralled and the epilogue was perfect. I definitelt recommend this series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved this book. Could not put it down. Had some similarities to 50 shades but still was very much worth the read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    A Great read--wonderful series!!

    SO happy to finally have this on my nook--after borrowing a friends version on pc kindle. A great new author whose characters are surprisingly unforgetably poignant. HOPE too read many more books from this author!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    A new favorite!

    I loooooved this book! I'm so excited to start the next!

    'This Man' is sexy, funny and sensual! I fell in love with Ava & Jesse at their first encounter.

    Love love love this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Loved it, couldn't put it down finished all three in a week.

    Loved it, couldn't put it down finished all three in a week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Amazed

    I have heard so many negatives about this series and its hard to understand why! I thought the series was so good! Jesse was not as bad as I was expecting. I think it was beautifully written and wish there was more to the story. ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Surprising

    This book has become one of my all time favorites.....this book kept me engaged from tge beginning to the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    Highly recommended. A must read.

    When i first bought the book i wasn't sure if i would like it so i didn't buy the sequels. After i started to read the first chapter i already knew that i had fallen in love with the book. Although its no fifty shades of grey but it is second to fifty shades of grey. The whole series is. But the most disappointing aspect of the whole book and its series, is how the author really emphasizes the f-word a lot. And thats just cause i don't really like swearing. But all in all it is a good book and i would read it a second time. So yes i would recommend this book and its series to other to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    More of my book reviews: 500daysofbooks.co.vu For starters, I'v

    More of my book reviews:
    500daysofbooks.co.vu

    For starters, I've read this story last summer and I quickly fell in love with the characters and the story itself. I've been meaning to write a review for a while now and since I recently re-read the story last night, I can finally express with words the emotions this story evokes in me.

    Now I know you're thinking this book is probably just another cliche' story about a girl who falls in love with a playboy, who suddenly wants everything from her and only her. He'll stop at nothing to have her and let's face it, she'll let him. I know, I would. *sighs* But, I honestly feel this book has something that others don't - passion. And, I'm not just talking about the lust kind. I'm talking about passion that comes from within, when you've found that one person who can make you do unimaginable things, just to ensure you'll never be without it. That kind of passion.

    As you're reading, you soon find yourself wrapped up in the thralls of 'pull and push' between Jesse Ward and Ava O’Shea. Can I just quickly say how much I LOVE the name 'Jesse Ward', and the character itself. Anyway, the chemistry between the two characters is clearly seen right from the beginning, lust at first sight. But, soon that lust turns into something. Can you guess it? Yes, passion. It's evident that Ava is scared of Jesse's controlling/possessive demeanor which is why she finds herself always pulling away from him. But is the hot playboy going to let it happen? No! He's always right behind to make sure he doesn't forget what they both feel when their with each other.

    This story ends with Ava finding out an important secret that Jesse has clearly left out and it adds more strain to their 'relationship'. You're left right in middle of it. Can they rekindle or will they fall out? Well, you're just going to have to read this book as well as the next books that follow this trilogy. I can definitely say this book is on my favorites list and give it a 5/5. I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book. This book is a must read!!! *wishes I was Ava*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    This man

    Could not put this book down going straight into the next one
    There is everything you want in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Absolutely Love this Series !!!

    This series is Amazing , i just started reading it again !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    Loved it!!

    Can't wait for the next one.
    Me22LK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    One of the best book series I have ever read!!! I have read it t

    One of the best book series I have ever read!!! I have read it three times since it was released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Great trilogy

    Read all three, loved it! Will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9