Customer Reviews for

This One Is Mine

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

well...interesting!

It’s a little hard for me to give an objective review on this probably. I read this because I loved the author’s “Where’d You Go Bernadette” and wanted to check out her earlier writing. This one wasn’t near the caliber of Bernadette but was interesting in its own way. A...
It’s a little hard for me to give an objective review on this probably. I read this because I loved the author’s “Where’d You Go Bernadette” and wanted to check out her earlier writing. This one wasn’t near the caliber of Bernadette but was interesting in its own way. At least in Bernadette, even though the characters were a mess, there were redeeming qualities in them. These main characters? They are messed up...like totally detached from reality.

Violet – Out of all the characters I had the least amount of respect for her. It’s hard to feel sorry for her in any capacity and her choice in Teddy made my stomach ache. The way they author described Teddy...let’s just say “ewwww!” He’s physically dirty and smells for crying out loud! Where is the attraction in that? How am I supposed to believe that a woman like her (actually any woman) would be attracted to him? How? Unless I partition off part of my brain?

David – He’s pretty much what I’d consider the normal for a guy who has power. Oblivious to his family life and everything revolves around him. No surprise there. But he gives his wife anything she wants and she has unlimited spending ability. Since she quit her job he’s ok with her staying home and being a mom but she has a full time nanny and doesn’t even really seem to want to be a mom.

Sally – David’s sister whose only goal in life is to land a rich husband and she will stoop to despicable lows to do so. At times I found myself feeling sorry for her at least. She had some redeeming qualities in her even though you had to dig a little to find them.

Teddy – Ugh...gross! Look I get that we all come from different places. My revulsion for him has nothing to do with him being a drug addict, alcoholic, or having little income. No one is perfect and we all have baggage. The physical description of his constant uncleanliness was revolting to me. Dude lives in an apartment, he can keep himself clean. I don’t get the attraction Violet feels for him. Every time he speaks it’s an embarrassment. He’s just freaking nasty to me. Toe picking is a cardinal no no!

While the story line went in a direction I wish it hadn’t, I like the author’s writing style. I think Ms. Semple writes exactly whatever she wants without any concern or fear how her readers might take it and I respect that greatly. I’d likely read anything she writes because of that. She writes without fear.

If you are offended by profanity and sex this probably isn’t the read for you. I only mention it because more and more lately I see people complaining about this in their reviews. I don’t want you coming back and commenting that it was vulgar and I didn’t warn you. This is definitely a book written for adults without delicate sensibilities...someone like...me! *giggles*

posted by OurBookAddiction on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not bad for her first book, but could have been way better

I read this book based on the reviews and shouldn't have. While it wasn't bad for her first book, it was really superficial writing and the characters weren't realistic. The author needs to more research on type I diabetes. Speaking as a type I, reading that you can go ...
I read this book based on the reviews and shouldn't have. While it wasn't bad for her first book, it was really superficial writing and the characters weren't realistic. The author needs to more research on type I diabetes. Speaking as a type I, reading that you can go into a coma at a blood sugar of 400 literally made me laugh out loud. Overall, I probably won't read her writing again.

posted by 6545966 on February 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Smart and Witty Debut Novel!

    Answering the question of what happens after "happily ever after" is This One is Mine by Maria Semple. The novel follows the lives of two women: Violet Parry, a "have" as in have a rich husband, beautiful toddler, elaborate mansion with a full household staff, and lots of free time; and Sally Parry, Violet's sister-in-law and a "have not" as in no money, husband, mansion/wait staff or copious leisure hours. Neither woman is happy with her lot in life. Violet is at loose ends, because although she loves her daughter, being a mom it isn't enough. Moreover, her husband David, the ultra powerful music industry executive, treats her like an incompetent servant. Meanwhile Sally will do anything to have Violet's life. She pines for a deep pocketed hubby who can pay off her crushing credit card debt and score invitations to Hollywood's A list parties.

    Both women resolve to change their lives in all the wrong ways. After a chance encounter, Violet embarks on an affair with a broke, hepatitis C infected, recovering addict, musician Teddy Reyes. Fate, on the other hand, has little to do with Sally's elaborate plans to snare in matrimony, Jeremy White, a man she barely knows and doesn't love, but who will soon be a rich and famous sportscaster.

    This One is Mine is a witty send up of LA life while simultaneously unfolding an intricate story of complex people making very poor choices. Neither woman is particularly likeable. Nor are the men any more appealing with the loser-jerk Teddy and the Scarface quoting type A David. Amazingly, however, by the story's conclusion I was rooting for the whole gang! In spite of or maybe because of the bad decisions, the characters gain a bit of insight by the end of the novel. Along the way Semple satirizes the lifestyles of Hollywood's rich and clueless.

    This One is Mine is a smartly written and hilarious debut novel!




    Publisher: Back Bay Books (March 24, 2010), 320 pages.
    Advance Review Copy Provided Courtesy of the Publisher.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    A truly unforgettable story!

    This One is Mine is about the never-ending journey to find complete happiness (even when it's staring you right in the bloody eye) and the disastrous choices made in the pursuit of that happiness.

    Violet is a 40-something bored housewife. (She gave up her career as a television writer to start a family.) She's got it all: a successful husband, David, who's a rock-n-roll manager, a beautiful daughter, financial security, a massive house with staff, and yet she's miserably unhappy.

    Then Violet meets Teddy Reyes, a bass player who's battling his own demons. She becomes immediately infatuated with him, even with all his faults. Teddy is epitome of the-one-to-stay-away-from. He screams DANGER in every possible way. Although Violet isn't oblivious to the warning signs, she just chooses to ignore them. I found myself screaming at Violet NO! Don't do that! What were you thinking?!! There were a lot of red flags that she just blatantly ignored. Teddy's past and vices don't deter Violet, instead it only makes her want to help him in every possible way. (And made me want to smack her.) But he sparks her sexuality in a new and different way and she doesn't want to lose that. She's looking to find herself and she tries doing so with Teddy as her vessel.

    Sally, Violet's sister-in-law and David's sister, has had a rough life. Having been a type-one diabetic since she was three, she's always had to look to David for financial support and she's determined to cut that string. Unfortunately for Sally, she has a massive debt thanks to a good-for-nothing ex-boyfriend. Now she's single, which to Sally is unacceptable and just won't do. She is on the prowl to find her future, successful husband and only the best will do. Enter Jeremy. He's basically what Sally is looking for, even with his weird quirks, and the two date and later get married. Sally makes a poor, selfish decision (for all the wrong reasons) and jeopardizes their marriage.

    Teddy's presence in Violet's life brings these characters all together. Everyone's paths seem to eventually cross and intertwine with Teddy's. Makes you wonder what if Violet and Teddy never met...?

    Reading This One is Mine wasn't at all what I had expected from reading the book blurb. This is not your typical novel about an extra marital affair. These are not your run of the mill characters. These characters are gritty, shallow and fun to read. Their lives are like a train wreck; you're afraid to look at the horrific mangled mess but your curiosity gets the best of you and you have to take a peek. I had to keep reading to see what was going to happen next, and to see where these character's lives were going to go. I may not have agreed with Violet's choices but I certainly wanted to know where her two feet were going to land. Violet is one character that I won't soon forget.

    Semple has a great ability to take a simple, streamline plot and turn it into an unforgettable story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    quirky and fun

    I picked up "This One is Mine" by Maria Semple because I like the Hollywood background (wanting to move there when I was younger), but wasn't prepared to read about rich but bored housewife Violet and Sally, whose only goal in life is too marry rich. The story goes back and forth with what each is doing; Violet thinking about having an affair and Sally conniving to hook and catch a newspaper columnist, soon to be television star. This was certainly a quirky novel and more than just chick lit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    Hillarious

    This One Is Mine<BR/>Maria Semple<BR/>Little, Brown and Company, 2008<BR/>ISBN: 9780316031165<BR/>Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com<BR/>4 stars<BR/>Hillarious¿.<BR/>Maria Semple writes in a delightful style. The words just seem to flow. The characters make this book. They are well-developed, and each has a distinct personality. <BR/>The setting is LA. The cast of characters are shallow and self-centered. Sally is on the prowl for a rich husband. Violet is dissatisfied, so she has a fling. This One Is Mine is a hilarious read. I quickly turned the pages to see what would happen next. Fans of chick lit will enjoy This One Is Mine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1