Customer Reviews for

This Present Darkness

Average Rating 4.5
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 131 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    Excellent

    I loved this book. It was written brilliantly.I read it when I was seventeen, and finished it in two days flat, and have continued to reread it over the last few years. The characters in the book come alive,and you feel like you know them personally.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    A must read!

    This is so much more than a story. It is an awakening!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    The best ever

    I purchased this series when they were first published. The best yet ! This book is timeless. Worth every penny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book is my favorite book next to the Bible! It puts things into perspective. I have purchased it and given it away several times, just so it would bless someone else like it has me. I am looking at a paperback sitting on my desk and I have to have the ebook for my Nook now that it is out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    A thriller for rainy nights

    This work is a thriller of unseen things lurking just beyond human perception. The characters, some human & some spiritual creatures, are quite spellbinding as the plot unfolds. Time is of essence as the heroic characters race to unmask a dangerous conspiracy threatening to spiral out of control created by the antagonists. It is one of Peretti's earlier works that explores a tale of spiritual beings battling each other for control while the humans, unknowingly are caught in the midst of these battles. If you enjoy thrillers, this is one to keep you awake wondering whether there is something beyond our perception.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    Amazing!!

    I guess every other reviewer has pretty much said what I feel about this book but it couldn't be emphasized enough that it is an amazing fast paced story like you have never read. It definitely changes your perspective towards prayer. As a christian I am aware that this book might feel a little "preachy" to those who don't beleive in Christ but I suggest you read it anyway, it's spooky, action packed and interesting! I can guarantee you'll love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Spiritual Realities

    For a Christian, this book is a divine photo lens into the spiritual realm surrounding our lives. The invisible realm is an eternal battle for our souls and our ability to view this with open spiritual eyes heightens our ability to participate in the battle by living victorious lives in Christ Jesus. This book was a genuine inspiration to encourage me to be more sensitive to the very real battle in the heavenly realm and to be committed to do battle in a very special sense wielding prayer as a spiritual weapon of choice. Mr. Perreti's follow up book "Piercing the Darkness" was also a worthy read. I think these two books were his best works or at least my favorites of this author. I highly recommend both books. This review is the result of a purchase for a friend. It is not the first time I have given this book as a gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I first started reading this book in the waiting room of a car dealer 'waiting for my financing papers to be prepared'. Not sure why it was there, but it was. About 20-30 pages into it, I began to wonder if I should be reading this book at all. It was so graphic. And there were descriptions of demons and the actions the demons were taking... the way they talk, think, act, etc... in there. Nonetheless, I continued. It wasn't much longer and I couldn't have put the book down if I had wanted to. To put it very simply... it is simply amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2007

    This PREVIOUS Darkness!!!

    I LOVE Frank Peretti's novels, and this one only boosted my being a fan!!! You don't know Frank Peretti if you haven't read this one. The way he describes how the angels ward off the demons is so true! I REALLY REALLY enjoyed reading this book, and I'm sure you will, too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    This is one of Perretti's best books yet!

    The title is what got my attention, until I started reading it. The first few sentences got me into it. I would highly reccomend this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    AWESOME!

    Frank Peretti is an amazing author! When I picked up this book I did not expect anything really great, but boy was I wrong. It is so cool how the book pertains to real life. Peretti's whole theme is about searching for the truth, and I love it! This book may be fiction, but a lot of the spiritual things in it are happening right now. If you like Peretti's books, this is a book for you. If you have never read one before, this is a great one to start with!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    A-W-E-S-O-M-E

    This book ROCKED! It was so descriptive on the angels and demons and just everything! It was so thrilling and it keeps you on the edge of you seat! It is really REALLY good! I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2004

    AWESOME!!!

    I knew nothing about Peretti's books, but was in the bookstore on an off day, browsing the Christian Book section. I think God's spirit led me to this book! This book is so good, and it does make you ponder on the Apostle Paul's words that our battles here are earth as Christians are 'SPIRITUAL'. I loved reading about the angels, especially Tal! Peretti gave these angels real personalities and characters. Every Christian should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    Read this book!

    This was one of the best books with a religious theme I have ever read. Peretti knows how to make the characters, both of this and the spritual world, come alive. You will understand the battle between good and evil after you read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    I loved this book! (hence the 5 star rating I gave it)

    This is one of my favorite books! I read it in 3 days and gave up my afternoon nap to finish reading it. Naps are a big thing, so you can tell I liked the book enough. I highly recommend this book to anyone! I loved the description of the angels. I felt close to the Captain of the Host, Tal. I liked how people in the book saw angels (I hope to someday have that experience!) and I liked reading about casting out the demons that posessed some kids bodies. Real work of God. Read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    any christian should read this book and apply it to everyday life

    i am a teenage christian and i found this book to be hard to put down, its the first book ive actualy read of free will.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2003

    Great Book!

    I am not a religious person, but I found this book quite fascinating. I like the way the author portrayed the battle between good and evil by using angels and demons. There were times that the characters used prayer to help the angels that I found extremely powerful. I would definitely recommend this book for all. I am going to start reading Piercing the Darkness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2000

    Obsessed to read on

    I'm a retired female Police Officer from a large city. This book and its characters describe a real paralell of society today. The author has done an awsome job of making this book great reading, as well as sending a powerfull message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 1999

    Angels vs. Demons 1

    Ashton is a small college town. Why would the Strongman want to occupy this little comunity. On the mortal realm a occult gorup is trying to subjicate the towns people into what they call a 'universal mind.' Marshall Hogan is the editor of the Ashton Clarion the local newspaper. Whn he and his secritary notice people leaving town for back taxes they have paid they start looking into these strange events. Hank Busche is a struggling pastor at the small church on the hill. He starts to see demonic activity in the town. When both men compare notes they find out that something is trying to take over Ashton.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Everyone Read This Book! I really enjoyed this book. Angels a

    Everyone Read This Book!

    I really enjoyed this book. Angels and demons are all around us, and people need to realize it. You may not believe it now, but when it is too late....you will see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 131 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7