Customer Reviews for

This Same Earth

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A fast-paced, paranormal romantic suspense read that thrills!

Giovanni and Beatrice's story continues in This Same Earth, book two in the Elemental Mysteries series by Elizabeth Hunter. Beatrice has been abducted by Lorenzo and was held captive for several weeks before being freed by Giovanni, Caspar and Tenzin. Although she wasn'...
Giovanni and Beatrice's story continues in This Same Earth, book two in the Elemental Mysteries series by Elizabeth Hunter. Beatrice has been abducted by Lorenzo and was held captive for several weeks before being freed by Giovanni, Caspar and Tenzin. Although she wasn't tortured or hurt physically, the emotional torture has left its mark, primarily because she thought that Giovanni had willingly traded her for a book.
It takes awhile for Giovanni to convince Beatrice that this was not the case, but he gradually gets her to see that Lorenzo was going to abduct her no matter what so he simply played along with him. To give Beatrice time to heal from the emotional trauma of her abduction, not to mention witnessing the horrific fight between the two different vampire factions, Giovanni takes to the mountains of Chile. Beatrice and Giovanni are given the opportunity to show their feelings for one another and their relationship becomes much closer, or so Beatrice thinks. Regrettably their lives cannot be put on hold forever and Beatrice must return to the States to attend graduate school. So off they go, Beatrice to LA for school and Giovanni to try and track down her father, his errant son and to amass allies in the ongoing battle with his son.
Beatrice spends an enjoyable few years in graduate school and makes friends. She returns to Chile each summer but her time there is spent without benefit of Giovanni's company. She knows that she loves him and tells him so in a series of journals. Each year she says she's not going to return to Chile but her ticket is mysteriously left at her home and she returns. Fortunately she is afforded the opportunity to read through some of Giovanni's journals and learns a bit more of his past lives.
Fast forward a few more years and Beatrice is twenty-eight years old. She is an accomplished young woman, fluent in several languages, a homeowner, an employee at the Huntington Library in California, and in a relationship with a loving man, Mano. It has been six years since she saw Giovanni and she's trying to move on with her life, or so she thought until Giovanni mysteriously reappears. Giovanni is now the legal guardian and "uncle" to a precocious, street-smart twelve-year-old named Ben.
Beatrice must deal with renewing her relationship with Giovanni and building a relationship with Ben, her eventual breakup with Mano, and an introduction to her great-great-great-grandfather (I think I left out a few more greats but you get the idea), who just happens to be a water vampire that oversees LA. What follows is a series of fast-paced incidents including the abduction of one of Carwyn's sons. Beatrice and Giovanni wind up going to Ireland, England and France trying to track down leads on the whereabouts of Lorenzo and Beatrice's father, Stephen. Through it all Beatrice must confront her feelings for Giovanni and ultimately decide if she wants to have a relationship with him as a human or be turned.
This Same Earth is another fast-paced paranormal, romantic suspense read. There's slightly more action and intrigue in this story and more background information is given providing insight into Giovanni, Carwyn, Tenzin and even Lorenzo. The story ends leaving the reading hanging and waiting for more. Regrettably the third book in this series, The Force of Wind isn't due out until February/March 2012, but I'll definitely be putting it on my TBR list.

posted by The_Book_Diva on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not that good.

I dont reccomend this book. I prefer a shorter version of this with less repetition of the same old... . This is my first review and believe me I read a lot of books, but this one was so hard to finish because I felt tired just like Beatrice , who was tired all the time...
I dont reccomend this book. I prefer a shorter version of this with less repetition of the same old... . This is my first review and believe me I read a lot of books, but this one was so hard to finish because I felt tired just like Beatrice , who was tired all the time during this story....

posted by Luzymar on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    A fast-paced, paranormal romantic suspense read that thrills!

    Giovanni and Beatrice's story continues in This Same Earth, book two in the Elemental Mysteries series by Elizabeth Hunter. Beatrice has been abducted by Lorenzo and was held captive for several weeks before being freed by Giovanni, Caspar and Tenzin. Although she wasn't tortured or hurt physically, the emotional torture has left its mark, primarily because she thought that Giovanni had willingly traded her for a book.
    It takes awhile for Giovanni to convince Beatrice that this was not the case, but he gradually gets her to see that Lorenzo was going to abduct her no matter what so he simply played along with him. To give Beatrice time to heal from the emotional trauma of her abduction, not to mention witnessing the horrific fight between the two different vampire factions, Giovanni takes to the mountains of Chile. Beatrice and Giovanni are given the opportunity to show their feelings for one another and their relationship becomes much closer, or so Beatrice thinks. Regrettably their lives cannot be put on hold forever and Beatrice must return to the States to attend graduate school. So off they go, Beatrice to LA for school and Giovanni to try and track down her father, his errant son and to amass allies in the ongoing battle with his son.
    Beatrice spends an enjoyable few years in graduate school and makes friends. She returns to Chile each summer but her time there is spent without benefit of Giovanni's company. She knows that she loves him and tells him so in a series of journals. Each year she says she's not going to return to Chile but her ticket is mysteriously left at her home and she returns. Fortunately she is afforded the opportunity to read through some of Giovanni's journals and learns a bit more of his past lives.
    Fast forward a few more years and Beatrice is twenty-eight years old. She is an accomplished young woman, fluent in several languages, a homeowner, an employee at the Huntington Library in California, and in a relationship with a loving man, Mano. It has been six years since she saw Giovanni and she's trying to move on with her life, or so she thought until Giovanni mysteriously reappears. Giovanni is now the legal guardian and "uncle" to a precocious, street-smart twelve-year-old named Ben.
    Beatrice must deal with renewing her relationship with Giovanni and building a relationship with Ben, her eventual breakup with Mano, and an introduction to her great-great-great-grandfather (I think I left out a few more greats but you get the idea), who just happens to be a water vampire that oversees LA. What follows is a series of fast-paced incidents including the abduction of one of Carwyn's sons. Beatrice and Giovanni wind up going to Ireland, England and France trying to track down leads on the whereabouts of Lorenzo and Beatrice's father, Stephen. Through it all Beatrice must confront her feelings for Giovanni and ultimately decide if she wants to have a relationship with him as a human or be turned.
    This Same Earth is another fast-paced paranormal, romantic suspense read. There's slightly more action and intrigue in this story and more background information is given providing insight into Giovanni, Carwyn, Tenzin and even Lorenzo. The story ends leaving the reading hanging and waiting for more. Regrettably the third book in this series, The Force of Wind isn't due out until February/March 2012, but I'll definitely be putting it on my TBR list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Surprisingly good.

    You can't help but fall in love with all the characters and dig into to find out what will become of them!! Well written!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    great

    love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    A Good Read!

    Yes, it follows the same theme as most vampire stories out there right now - human girl falls for old vampire, people are after her, he has to protect her - but it's still a good read! I'm on book 2 already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    4.5stars actually After the adventures, changes and romance that

    4.5stars actually
    After the adventures, changes and romance that Gio swept into B’s life, 5years of the silent treatment has left her feeling abandoned by and angry with him since she is still very much in love with him. Despite a few false starts B now has a great “normal” life. She has her dream job, a wonderful house of her own, good friends and a man that adores her. When she least expects it Gio walks back into her life, looking and smelling as good as ever. According to Gio’s point of view he has given B time to grow into the woman she wanted to be without undue pressure to become part of his world and has had the opportunity to find and fulfill her dreams and now she’s ready to love with a woman’s heart instead of that of an immature girl. He thinks she can now choose eternity without feeling cheated. This is a love triangle that makes sense! Kudos Ms. Hunter!

    I really liked the characters (again), B has become an interesting and strong woman and I really, really like that she has an old fashioned name. Gio is just as handsome, alluring and mysterious as ever. Welcome additions Ben, Dez and Mano settle in so well you could swear they’ve always been in the series, I just wish there was more of them in the book overall.

    Things really take off when B finds that the “normal” life she has been reveling in is due to Gio’s preparation and overseeing to her welfare from afar. Incidents she may have written off as minor or coincidental seem to start happening around her at an alarming rate. Before long she is off to Ireland with Gio to help find Carwyn’s kidnapped son. This action links us back to the overall mystery and the characters introduced in book one. B gets to shine a little brighter this time when her memories are the key to the overall game and she gets to be action librarian.

    As these vampires have dominion over specific elements we know which one is featured for each book and as we’ve met key characters that possess these elements. Although we were linked to earth vampires, it seemed as if there was more than a little bit of water involved. In any event, it is a treat to delve deeper into the elegant mystery of each particular elements capability. These books could have been condensed probably to one book instead of spreading the mystery across the four that have been released for the series. But then you’d miss the layers and the intricacy of this mystery and the depth of each character. It is a fast paced and satisfying read that needs to be savored in order.

    My nit to be picked here is that I didn’t care for the repetition of some phrases and paragraphs – they came across as filler, quite unnecessary. And I really hate this title.

    Hmm….seems this piece of the puzzle seems to be blowing me toward The Force of Wind – book 3 of this great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1