Customer Reviews for

This Same Earth

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A fast-paced, paranormal romantic suspense read that thrills!

Giovanni and Beatrice's story continues in This Same Earth, book two in the Elemental Mysteries series by Elizabeth Hunter. Beatrice has been abducted by Lorenzo and was held captive for several weeks before being freed by Giovanni, Caspar and Tenzin. Although she wasn'...
Giovanni and Beatrice's story continues in This Same Earth, book two in the Elemental Mysteries series by Elizabeth Hunter. Beatrice has been abducted by Lorenzo and was held captive for several weeks before being freed by Giovanni, Caspar and Tenzin. Although she wasn't tortured or hurt physically, the emotional torture has left its mark, primarily because she thought that Giovanni had willingly traded her for a book.
It takes awhile for Giovanni to convince Beatrice that this was not the case, but he gradually gets her to see that Lorenzo was going to abduct her no matter what so he simply played along with him. To give Beatrice time to heal from the emotional trauma of her abduction, not to mention witnessing the horrific fight between the two different vampire factions, Giovanni takes to the mountains of Chile. Beatrice and Giovanni are given the opportunity to show their feelings for one another and their relationship becomes much closer, or so Beatrice thinks. Regrettably their lives cannot be put on hold forever and Beatrice must return to the States to attend graduate school. So off they go, Beatrice to LA for school and Giovanni to try and track down her father, his errant son and to amass allies in the ongoing battle with his son.
Beatrice spends an enjoyable few years in graduate school and makes friends. She returns to Chile each summer but her time there is spent without benefit of Giovanni's company. She knows that she loves him and tells him so in a series of journals. Each year she says she's not going to return to Chile but her ticket is mysteriously left at her home and she returns. Fortunately she is afforded the opportunity to read through some of Giovanni's journals and learns a bit more of his past lives.
Fast forward a few more years and Beatrice is twenty-eight years old. She is an accomplished young woman, fluent in several languages, a homeowner, an employee at the Huntington Library in California, and in a relationship with a loving man, Mano. It has been six years since she saw Giovanni and she's trying to move on with her life, or so she thought until Giovanni mysteriously reappears. Giovanni is now the legal guardian and "uncle" to a precocious, street-smart twelve-year-old named Ben.
Beatrice must deal with renewing her relationship with Giovanni and building a relationship with Ben, her eventual breakup with Mano, and an introduction to her great-great-great-grandfather (I think I left out a few more greats but you get the idea), who just happens to be a water vampire that oversees LA. What follows is a series of fast-paced incidents including the abduction of one of Carwyn's sons. Beatrice and Giovanni wind up going to Ireland, England and France trying to track down leads on the whereabouts of Lorenzo and Beatrice's father, Stephen. Through it all Beatrice must confront her feelings for Giovanni and ultimately decide if she wants to have a relationship with him as a human or be turned.
This Same Earth is another fast-paced paranormal, romantic suspense read. There's slightly more action and intrigue in this story and more background information is given providing insight into Giovanni, Carwyn, Tenzin and even Lorenzo. The story ends leaving the reading hanging and waiting for more. Regrettably the third book in this series, The Force of Wind isn't due out until February/March 2012, but I'll definitely be putting it on my TBR list.

posted by The_Book_Diva on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not that good.

I dont reccomend this book. I prefer a shorter version of this with less repetition of the same old... . This is my first review and believe me I read a lot of books, but this one was so hard to finish because I felt tired just like Beatrice , who was tired all the time...
I dont reccomend this book. I prefer a shorter version of this with less repetition of the same old... . This is my first review and believe me I read a lot of books, but this one was so hard to finish because I felt tired just like Beatrice , who was tired all the time during this story....

posted by Luzymar on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fierce, Sexy, and Mysterious

    This Same Earth is exactly what I have come to expect from the brilliant Elizabeth Hunter - fierce, sexy, and mysterious. This is the second book in the Elemental Mysteries Series, a series delving into a complete new world of vampires. The mystical creatures are able to call on one of the elements: earth, air, water, or fire to aid with anything from lighting a fire to battling their enemies. Their abilities coincide with their element, obviously. The lovely Beatrice stumbled into this world in A Hidden Fire, only to find herself deserted by the one she loved. In this installment, she will be forced to face her past and make decisions that will change her life forever.

    Beatrice has grown into a beautiful young woman and has attempted to put the past behind her. She has a great job, owns a quaint little home, and has normal friends - including a boyfriend she loves. Gio disappeared from her life the day she moved to California and she despises him because of it. She suspects he has had a behind-the-scenes role in her life over the years; what she doesn't know is how great that role has been. She has no idea the extents he has taken to assure that she is safe. The people Beatrice has surrounded herself with all these years may not be what they seem.

    When the past waltzes back into her life as nothing has changed, Bea finds herself buried in turmoil over her feelings for Gio. She is determined that he will earn her trust again, that he will not just up and disappear again, leaving her broken once again. The romantic tension between these two lurches up a few notches as Bea is determined to remain friends and avoid all romantic feelings for the fire vampire while Gio is determined to have Beatrice back in his life as much more than friends. Who will win, I wonder?

    Just as the two are making their way to becoming friends, Lorenzo strikes again...killing someone dear to Gio. Beatrice is determined to be a part of this journey in every way. We tag along with Gio and Bea as they tromp through Europe, seeking justice and freedom, meeting an eclectic group of characters who provide both stability and chaos throughout the adventure. Some you will love and others you will hate. And have no fear...many of the old characters make appearances as time moves forward.

    Ms. Hunter's phenomenal world building skills drop you deep into a world fraught with fantastical creatures, frightening circumstances, and unyielding love. This is an unique and addicting series.

    The Force of Wind makes it's debut in March of 2012. I am not sure I can wait that long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Epic Sequel!

    This Same Earth is a fantastic follow up to A Hidden Fire. As you all know I love the library and can lose myself in there. So when I first heard about this series and that it took place in a library I was like Holy Cow I need to read this! I was not disappointed :)

    This Same Earth picks up where A Hidden fire left off. Gio and Bea are no longer together. Gio let Bea go to college in California to get her Master's and to have a life. But every year he leaves tickets for her to go to their favorite place Cochamo Valley in Chile. She goes every summer saying this is it she will not return but every summer she packs up and goes in hopes of seeing Gio. She loves the house in the valley and spends her summer nights dreaming of Gio and longing to touch him. Gio has decided he wants Bea to have a normal life and tries to stay away from her so she can move on but he to is suffering and missing her.

    Gio can no longer take being seperated from Bea so he decides to pay her a visit. She is furious with him and does not want anything to do with him because she is hurt and has moved on. But Gio being Gio (God I love him!)does not give up. He asks her to help him with a translation of some letters he needs and she agrees to help him and be nothing more than friends. As time goes by Bea realizes that she and Gio work well together. They decipher the letters to help find out where her father is hiding but then the unexpected happens and someone that is very close to them needs them.

    Bea has to make a very hard decision and that is to go and help Gio and her friend or stay behind and chance losing Gio again. What is a girl to do? Will she chose her new life or will she chose Gio? Will they be together? And will they find her father? What will Bea do when she comes face to face with the monster who kidnapped her?

    Come along for the greatest ride of a lifetime. See Gio and Bea in action and meet some new characters and enjoy the old ones.Come see what Carwyn and Tanzin and Lorenzo have been up to.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    even better than the first!

    When A Hidden Fire ended Beatrice was off in California going to college. Gio had 'broke in' to her apartment to leave airline tickets for her, while stealing away a picture of her to take with him. Now 5 years have passed and Beatrice has yet to hear a word from him. Not an email, a phone call, nothing! Every August during those 5 years she would take the airline tickets he would leave for her to go to his house in Chile for rest, and every year she claimed would be the last. Gio wanted her to mature and find herself during that time they were away from each other. And during that time Beatrice became involved with someone new, finally moving on. But now Gio is back and hoping to rekindle what they had once shared before. When something happens to the man she is dating and one of Carwyn¿s children, both Gio and Beatrice set off in search of Lorenzo, wanting to put a stop to him once and for all.
    I loved how Beatrice didn't drop everything for Gio when he first came back into her life. I mean I love Gio, I really do. But it was great seeing him pursuing her this time around. Beatrice is a stronger, more developed person now. She should make him work for it! But Gio, oh my Gio, how I love thee. I think I loved him more in the 2nd book than I did in the first one. He is sexy, smoldering (no pun intended) and absolutely swoonable! Oooh what I would give to be Beatrice for one day, I mean come on people we are talking waterfalls here! (Read up, you will understand)


    This Same Earth had me smiling throughout most of the book with its fabulous storyline. I was so caught up in the romance and the nail biting suspense that I flew through the book in less than 24 hrs. Hunter is one fantastic author creating a world of vampires you will want to sink your teeth into (pun definitely intended). This series is one of my fav of favorites, and I know it will be yours too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Better Than Twilight Series

    This series in much better then the Twilight Series (I would have never thought that would be possible). This Elemental Mysteries is a paranormal book for adults. Teens will like it too, but finally a book where thousand year old Vampires have the wisdom of a thousand years and are not influence by the whims of 20-something year old girls. I loved, loved, loved these 4 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Excellent

    This is a really interesting book. The sex scene are rather pg and thankfully dont take up much of the book. Over 700 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This whole series is very good, great plot, and all the characters are awesome. Each book some what picks up right where the other has left off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    After reading the first book, I had to buy this one right away and it did not disappoint. Could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Excellent book!!!

    Full book, not a short story. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Book two is my favorite so far. You will really enjoy this one!

    Book two is my favorite so far. You will really enjoy this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    ***Careful Contains Spoilers*** Okay....I loved the first book

    ***Careful Contains Spoilers***

    Okay....I loved the first book of this series. I loved the characters...the writing style, the details, the mystery...it is about finding a manuscript by the way....and finding the heroine's father, who's own situation is intertwined into this story which has multiple layers. Sounds complicated right? it is...deliciously so.

    Book one ended in 2003....B has gone on to Graduate School, lands a great job, makes friends and buys a house. She has been building a "normal" life for herself. She has the best boyfriend, an ex-navy seal who opened a dive shop with his buddy and is sweet, down to earth and loves her to death.....Interesting choice of words "down to earth" because Water is clearly his element...if he were a Elizabeth Hunter Vampire that is. lol.

    But for five long years, B has pined for Gio....she has never forgotten him...never stopped loving him since he abandoned her. Once a year she travels alone to his hidden remote home in Chili...with hopes in seeing him, talking to him...but nothing. She spent that time reading his diaries...Each visit B would read and feel she was getting to know and understand this mysterious vampire. She too kept a diary while in chili where she expressed her anger and hurt at his silence.

    She can't shake her feelings for a vampire that she hasn't seen in five years. Her boy friend tells her, "You have an open heart, but there is a room that you keep locked...and yet you give him open access to everything."

    But we soon find out that her efforts to make a normal life for herself are only because of Gio. She is and will always be under his protection. Lorenzo is still out there, her family and friends are still in danger...she is marked and will probably never be set free now that she has tumbled into the vampire world. Gio gave her five years to grow and experience life...and now he is back and wants her....he tells her he will never leave....ever!

    She begins to realize that it was just an illusion. The life she lives in now is one of danger, paranormal science and a world that exists under the radar. She is hurt and angry with Gio and doesn't trust him...but little by little get's drawn back into his life.

    The story takes off from here. She is kidnapped herself by Lorenzo who is dripping in evil and reeks of diabolical hatred. And Lorenzo starts to tell her about the five years he has been tracking her father trying to find him. Find him....isn't he dead? Why would he be looking for him? Why was Gio looking for him?

    We know that Lorenzo has escaped Gio's grasp and they believe he is setting out for the east. Gio and Beatrice deduce the one place that her father must be. The labyrinth and intersecting travel he has undertaken points to one destination. Interestingly enough it is in Tenzin's territory....in China.

    This is a wonderful and detailed mystery and suspenseful love story between two different beings, from two different worlds who have no business being connected. It is so easy to sit down and get lost in this series. Book two was every bit as interesting as book one. And I can not wait until March to read book three. This author could have taken this story, simplified it and wrapped it all up in one book. That would have been a 3.5 star read....What makes it so interesting is the layers of complexity and detail to the story. Once again, she feeds us one piece at a time and that just adds to the excitement of reading such a fantastic novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1