Customer Reviews for

This Side

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I just discovered Nickel Creek..

    I was watching public television and saw their set...so young yet their sound is so captivating, I'm amazed at their ability to make such great music. After hearing them on TV, I had to buy the cd!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth every nickel

    I LOVED their first CD, and was waiting to get my hands on this CD. At first, I was a little hesitant as I listned to the songs. But, when I listened to it the second time, I fell in love with it. It's different, which is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better then the last

    I enjoyed their last CD, but this one is even better! It has a good mix of sounds, that even makes people that don't like country or blue grass like their CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Learn Something New Everyday

    folksie bluegrass diehards who obessed over the perfection of nickel creek's self-titled first release on sugar hill a few years back beware- you may be a bit angry not to find much bluegrass here. however, all the lame comments about nickel creek "wandering too far from their roots" are ubsurd and unfounded! the band members are from SoCal people, not your bluegrass capital of the world! however, keep an open mind, go through the album SLOWLY and DEEPLY, and you will be just as impressed as the first go around! Smoothie Song- is the only instrumental but is great, they need a few more ones like this on the album to round it out; Spit on a Stranger- not really my thing, but has attracted some new listeners i'm sure; Speak- gorgeous song, a lot like Sean's solo album (check that out too btw); Hanging By a Thread- Chris's voice is kinda funky here, and kinda makes you hurt; I Should've Known Better- awesome, love this song; This Side- another great example of why Sean should sing a lot more, his writing skills are really amasing!; Green and Grey- really cool lyrics here... great imagery so i'll give it the best lyrics of the album nod; Seven Wonders- kinda sleepy but sits well with Sara's voice; House Carpenter- long but good for the traditionalist's sake; Beauty and the Mess- Sara steps out of her shell here, it's an awesome song; Sabra Girl- great cover, could stand to be a bit more 'celtic'; Young- nice lyrics, pretty song; Brand New Song- really deep, Chris's growth since the last time is apparent here... on the whole- GIVE IT A CHANCE.. it, just like the last one, will grow on you... as allison krauss said "it's just nickel creek music"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Breathtaking Talent

    What Can I Say That Hasn't Already Been Said About Nickel Creek. Thile Has Developed As One Of The Most Talented Songwriters and Vocalists In Years. Great Vocal Debut By Sean Watkins on ''This Side'' and ''Speak''. Sara Shines As Well. Not What I Expected, But How Could I Expect An Album Of Such Unbridled Talent & Genius. Tracks: 1. Smoothie Song- Not A Sign Of What Is To Come, but a fierce Instrumental None the Less. 2. Spit On A Stranger- Like Nothing You've Heard Before. One of the album's distinctive highlights. 3. Speak-Good Song...Well Done, but not a signature track. 4. Hanging By A Thread-Thile has come a long way and it shines here. This song made me cry the first time I heard it. 5. Should've Known Better- Experimental and Brilliant. Great Risk With A Great Payoff. 6. This Side- Most Pop Song, But I love it to death. Hopefully, this will open them up to other artists. 7. Green & Grey- Loved It 2 Years Ago when i heard it in concert and just a great love song. 8. Seven Wonders- Fantastic Vocals by Sara and Also One Of The Album's HIghlights. She has such a strong voice, but it is better appreciated live. 9. House Carpenter- Traditional & Strong. More like the first album. 10. Beauty & The Mess- Where did this come from. Fantastic Vocals By Sara & Creative Tune & Lyrics By Thile. 11. Sabra Girl- Haunting. 12. Young- Strange Vocal Jumps. My favorite track. Daring & Amazing. 13. Brand New Sidewalk- Great Song Just Like Every Other Track. Honest Lyrics With Great Thought & Emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nickel Creek remains the best...

    Nickel Creek has always been amazing, but this time they've truly done it. I listen to "This Side" everyday of my life. If i didn't Id die... They are so amazing and have only become more amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Figuring out what it is...

    Nickel Creek is back, and perhaps we wish they would have figured out their own particular style by now. Maybe they have and there is no word for it yet. This album is a patchwork similar to the album preceding it. Lots of choices, and if you're good with the remote, you can program out the stuff that's really annoying to you. There are some good new sounds here - but the ones that soar are the ones with the harmonies, and there are just too few of these. Perhaps that's the point Nickel Creek is making - we'll do it our way. "All they get of you is what they get out of the show. The rest is mine I guess the beauty and the mess to hide." (Beauty & the Mess, Track 10). If you like the jazzy-grass-folk-fusion instrumental pieces, my suggestions below may be places to continue on your quest. There is a tradition preceding (or paralleling) this aspect of Nickel Creek. Even Chris Thile's own effort, "Not All Who Wander Are Lost" (2001) is pretty solid. Buy that one first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Come on over to "This Side"

    Nickel Creek's sophomore album does not disappoint. The songs live up to the band's energetic and lively playing! Kudos to the band for going out on a limb and daring to be adventurous in their song choices and interpretations. The title track stands out as well as their rendition of Carrie Newcomer's "I Should've Known Better." We can only hope they will continue to sing and play for many more years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrific Follow-up

    I liked Nickel Creek's first effort but 'This Side' blew me away. Every track on this CD is terrific. For anyone who loves acoustic music with outstanding vocals, this is a must hear. Their instrumental tracks are great, but 1 or 2 per album is enough for me. The four tracks on their debut release was a little too much. Great Job Nickel Creek!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Went to far

    I enjoyed the first album but I think this album ventured to far from the roots of bluegrass

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1