Customer Reviews for

This Star Won't Go Out: The Life and Words of Esther Grace Earl

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This Star Won¿t Go Out, a book about the life of a girl with thy

This Star Won’t Go Out, a book about the life of a girl with thyroid cancer, is an inspiration to all who read it. Esther Earl, first diagnosed at the age of twelve, spent her time on earth wanting to make a difference. Along with achieving this dream on a larger scale,...
This Star Won’t Go Out, a book about the life of a girl with thyroid cancer, is an inspiration to all who read it. Esther Earl, first diagnosed at the age of twelve, spent her time on earth wanting to make a difference. Along with achieving this dream on a larger scale, Esther was able to help fill the world with love and compassion. Prevalent themes throughout Esther’s story, aside from the obvious cancer aspect, are love and the want to have a significant impact on the world. This book kept you on your toes as you read, transitioning between journal entries, letters, drawings, pictures, and various dialogues from online. Combining all of these elements created a timeline of Esther’s life, but can get annoying if you’re hoping for a consistent read. I particularly enjoyed Esther’s journal entries and letters, the areas where she would speak her mind, as well as the photos that allow the reader to see that this really was just a normal teenage girl, cursed with the misfortune of cancer. Fans of The Fault in Our Stars (dedicated to Esther), Vlogbrothers, or the Harry Potter Alliance are prime candidates for this book. Esther shared a love for all things nerdy, something that many potential readers can connect with throughout the book. Upon achieving minor fame via the internet (thanks to John Green), many idolized the teenage girl with cancer, but her journal entries reveal that Esther considered her life rather dull, sleeping in till 7pm, mainly just leaving home for the hospital. For this reason, Esther’s story will hopefully not make it to the big screen like the upcoming Fault in Our Stars movie. Adapting her life to film would result in glorification, creating a story far less truthful than the reality. In reality dying is never pleasant, and those who are uneasy reading about the side effects of dying would be wise to search for a different book to read. This book easily deserves five stars, and would recommend it to anyone that wasn’t quite ready to hear the last from Esther Earl. 

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Buy buy buy

This is a beautiful book about a beautiful girl with thyroid cancer, and the kind that she knew she wouldnt live from. Esther Grace Earl had the most positive outlook on life ever. Even though she was stuck in bed for the last 4 years of her life, she still accomplished...
This is a beautiful book about a beautiful girl with thyroid cancer, and the kind that she knew she wouldnt live from. Esther Grace Earl had the most positive outlook on life ever. Even though she was stuck in bed for the last 4 years of her life, she still accomplished so much and inspired so many, including me. Although there were many things in her life that she never managed to do, like kiss a boy, she still left her handprints and footprints on this world. Esther Earl, nerdfighter, harry potter geek, friend, family, author, beauty. Few books or even stories me cry with real emotion. This book did. If you dont care about someone so special and beautiful that John Green even dedicated the fault in our stars to her, i would not recommend this book to you. But to anyone else, read this book. Esther Grace Earl, even though you didnt live long enough, you sure lived. Rest in peace.

posted by 17281033 on April 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    This Star Won¿t Go Out, a book about the life of a girl with thy

    This Star Won’t Go Out, a book about the life of a girl with thyroid cancer, is an inspiration to all who read it. Esther Earl, first diagnosed at the age of twelve, spent her time on earth wanting to make a difference. Along with achieving this dream on a larger scale, Esther was able to help fill the world with love and compassion. Prevalent themes throughout Esther’s story, aside from the obvious cancer aspect, are love and the want to have a significant impact on the world. This book kept you on your toes as you read, transitioning between journal entries, letters, drawings, pictures, and various dialogues from online. Combining all of these elements created a timeline of Esther’s life, but can get annoying if you’re hoping for a consistent read. I particularly enjoyed Esther’s journal entries and letters, the areas where she would speak her mind, as well as the photos that allow the reader to see that this really was just a normal teenage girl, cursed with the misfortune of cancer. Fans of The Fault in Our Stars (dedicated to Esther), Vlogbrothers, or the Harry Potter Alliance are prime candidates for this book. Esther shared a love for all things nerdy, something that many potential readers can connect with throughout the book. Upon achieving minor fame via the internet (thanks to John Green), many idolized the teenage girl with cancer, but her journal entries reveal that Esther considered her life rather dull, sleeping in till 7pm, mainly just leaving home for the hospital. For this reason, Esther’s story will hopefully not make it to the big screen like the upcoming Fault in Our Stars movie. Adapting her life to film would result in glorification, creating a story far less truthful than the reality. In reality dying is never pleasant, and those who are uneasy reading about the side effects of dying would be wise to search for a different book to read. This book easily deserves five stars, and would recommend it to anyone that wasn’t quite ready to hear the last from Esther Earl. 

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Read this book, its beautiful and incredible and John wants you

    Read this book, its beautiful and incredible and John wants you to!
    DFTBA

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Amazing

    DFTBA <3 Rest in awesome, esther.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Awesome

    This. Book. Is. Amazing. And beautiful. And freaking awesome.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    The life and words of Esther Grace Earl

    I love this book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Tell me please

    I really want to read this story my friend is reading it and says it is amazing. Do not spoil but tell me what the strenghths were in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Amazing

    This a collection of Esther Earls diay while she was sick with Thyroid Cancer. Introduction by award wining author John Green this book tells a story of a regular girl in a very scary situation.



    "Just be happy, am if you cant be happy do thing that make you happy, or do nothing with the people who make you happy" -Esther Earl

    For ages 10+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    Hi Everyone, I just finished reading This Star Won't Go Out las

    Hi Everyone, I just finished reading This Star Won't Go Out last night and I thought it was absolutely wonderful. What an inspiration. It is uniquely written and beautifully illustrated by Ester herself. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    AMAZING!!!!

    I love this book! It is amazing! It is sort of sad though. I couldn't put it down! I highly recommend it!
    -Amy :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Amazing

    Amazing book. DFTBA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    This book was awesome and inspiring to me

    This book was awesome and inspiring to me if u ever want a god book to read this is your book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Amazing.

    This is the most amazing book I have ever read in my life. Esther stayed brave in the face of death, and for that, she is one of the bravest people I have heard of yet. RIP Esther. And to every single child out there with cancer, just know that I care. You are all amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    Ms. Cupid &hearts

    Do you need love advice before Valentine's day? Come to Cupid res 1-5. I will answer your love questions.

    ~Ms. Cupid &hearts xoxo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    To Bella

    It is a very good book. No sex. I would reccomend to any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    To Bella

    No sex. Very clean good for any age. I hope this helps!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Help!!!!!!

    Is this an okay book for a 14 yr old? There is no sex or anything, right? Plz pzl plz plz plz plz plz plz plz plz plz plz get back to me! Put ur headline as "to bella" plz! Thx!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    TEARS

    This book is so amazing, i literlly cry every time i think about it. In fact i'm crying right now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Sad but beautiful Sad but beautiful


    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Taylor

    Mia this is our emergency book......

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    This book is a collection of Esther Earl's journal entries, her

    This book is a collection of Esther Earl's journal entries, her parents' blog entries, and basically anything that has to do with Esther.
         Esther has a way of writing that is very moving. She writes about her life, but she doesn't blur the edges. Everything she says is how it happened; it's real. She herself is real. She got drunk. She wants to have some sort of relationship with a guy. She kept secrets from her parents. And all those things are included. They aren't omitted because it would make Esther seem like a &quot;bad&quot; daughter. Instead, they are there and present and show how relate-able she is.
         Esther changed so many lives and the book explains that. Everything she has done, or inspired people to do is there and it is amazing to read about. Think about your favorite person who has a biography that is just somewhat fascinating. Now up the interesting tidbits by about two hundred percent and you have TSWGO.
         I loved reading the chats and conversations Esther had with her friends in their online group, Catitude. I loved seeing how the friendships grew so strong so that nothing could break them. This book probed even the deepest bonds between people and exposed them to the world (that sounds awful, but trust me, it turned out great).
         The book explains how Esther loved so wholly and deeply. Everyone who knew her mentions that at some point when they wrote. She seems like someone I would have loved to meet.
         Other side. Yes, I have read some of the reviews that say &quot;I just don't see what is so remarkable about Esther.&quot; And I understand where you are coming from, even if I do not agree in this particular case, because, wow, this girl did so much in her life, just by living. She inspired so many and she wanted to help as much as she could and more. But, I get what you reviewers are saying. I used to read magazine articles saying, &quot;Sixteen-year-old runs marathon for her dad, who passed away due to ________&quot; and I always said to myself, &quot;I ran a marathon when I was fifteen. Where's my article?&quot; But the fact remains that you have to blow on the flame a bit. You have to be good enough at what you do to inspire someone who has influence. Which Esther did. Both by making her own YouTube videos and by meeting John Green, Andrew Slack, Paul deGeorge, and many more. She was so good at loving and encouraging and living that she inspired some &quot;top people&quot;. Therefore, she is known. If you want to be known for something, get out into the world and do something. Something inspirational, preferably. Robbing a bank will not get you millions of fans. Hopefully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2