Customer Reviews for

This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection

Average Rating 4
( 334 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(168)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Our Time Together; Stories from an old friend....

As you read "This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection", it's as if Carol Burnett was sitting in your living room having a glass of wine or at the breakfast table sipping coffee with you and regaling you with funny, sweet and melancholy stories from her life.

Man...
As you read "This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection", it's as if Carol Burnett was sitting in your living room having a glass of wine or at the breakfast table sipping coffee with you and regaling you with funny, sweet and melancholy stories from her life.

Many of the stories in the book deal with her variety series, "The Carol Burnett Show", as well as showbiz friends and colleagues like Lucille Ball, Beverly Sills, Julie Andrews, Walter Matthau, Cary Grant, Jimmy Stewart and many others. Her family, her early career trials and tribulations in New York City, and her life after "The Carol Burnett Show" are featured as well in this wonderful collection. One story will have you literally laughing out loud (Ms. Burnett's quick retort to a prickly hostess at an upscale ice cream shop in NYC) while the next will bring tears to your eyes (how devoted Lucy was in sending Carol flowers every year on her birthday).

The book and its stories show the humor, talent, and heart of one of television's most iconic and real entertainers - the finest comedienne of our time. An idol of mine since childhood, my love for her and her work has grown even more with this reading.

"This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection" is a great gift for anyone who remembers her classic variety show with lovely stories of her, Harvey, Vicki and Tim! I finished this book in no time because I couldn't put it down and I thoroughly enjoyed my time together with Carol.

posted by LelandB on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Too much verbatim from original Book which I enjoyed, not enough new material

Carol revisits, verbatim, sections from her first book, One More Time, which was a poignant,funny, sad and wonderful book. So, I was disappointed Carol did not have enough new anecdotal material for us to enjoy in this second book. She and her fellow comedians were so ...
Carol revisits, verbatim, sections from her first book, One More Time, which was a poignant,funny, sad and wonderful book. So, I was disappointed Carol did not have enough new anecdotal material for us to enjoy in this second book. She and her fellow comedians were so very funny and special that I would have enjoyed a book just about her first show. This new book also bounced around to different time frames which was kind of awkward. If I had not read the first book, I would have enjoyed this book more. I did enjoy very much the stories about Carol and Julie Andrews. Two real ladies of the theater. I wish I could have seen them live just one time.

posted by 391739 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 337 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Our Time Together; Stories from an old friend....

    As you read "This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection", it's as if Carol Burnett was sitting in your living room having a glass of wine or at the breakfast table sipping coffee with you and regaling you with funny, sweet and melancholy stories from her life.

    Many of the stories in the book deal with her variety series, "The Carol Burnett Show", as well as showbiz friends and colleagues like Lucille Ball, Beverly Sills, Julie Andrews, Walter Matthau, Cary Grant, Jimmy Stewart and many others. Her family, her early career trials and tribulations in New York City, and her life after "The Carol Burnett Show" are featured as well in this wonderful collection. One story will have you literally laughing out loud (Ms. Burnett's quick retort to a prickly hostess at an upscale ice cream shop in NYC) while the next will bring tears to your eyes (how devoted Lucy was in sending Carol flowers every year on her birthday).

    The book and its stories show the humor, talent, and heart of one of television's most iconic and real entertainers - the finest comedienne of our time. An idol of mine since childhood, my love for her and her work has grown even more with this reading.

    "This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection" is a great gift for anyone who remembers her classic variety show with lovely stories of her, Harvey, Vicki and Tim! I finished this book in no time because I couldn't put it down and I thoroughly enjoyed my time together with Carol.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Too much verbatim from original Book which I enjoyed, not enough new material

    Carol revisits, verbatim, sections from her first book, One More Time, which was a poignant,funny, sad and wonderful book. So, I was disappointed Carol did not have enough new anecdotal material for us to enjoy in this second book. She and her fellow comedians were so very funny and special that I would have enjoyed a book just about her first show. This new book also bounced around to different time frames which was kind of awkward. If I had not read the first book, I would have enjoyed this book more. I did enjoy very much the stories about Carol and Julie Andrews. Two real ladies of the theater. I wish I could have seen them live just one time.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    "This Time Together" with Carol is well worth it!

    I grew up watching The Carol Burnett Show and am better for it, and so I couldn't wait to get this book. It is full of history, both of the show and of Carol, laugh out loud anecdotes and touching stories. I only wish this book could have gone on and on - because her stories are THAT good - meeting Cary Grant for the first time, firing Harvey Korman, raising her sister, appearing on her favorite soap of all time, "All My Children" and of course, her daughter Carrie, with whom she wrote "Hollywood Arms". Trust me, if you're a fan of Carol's (and really, who isn't??), get this book. You will probably be finished within a matter of days, because you won't be able to put it down; nor will you want to. Carol, I'M so glad we had this time together - Thank you!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Heartwarming and poignant

    I enjoyed this book. The characters were well presented. Nanny is a riot, you'll fall in love with her. I particularly enjoyed the parts where Carol had such a difficult time meeting her own idols, such as Cary Grant, simply because they were also fans and she didn't want to ruin their image of her. From the stories of how Burnett got into show biz to the funny tales of the people and guests of her regular show, the reader feels the warmth and humor, and the sadness, of each story. Burnett is truly a great entertainer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    A must have! Ms. Burnett is not only funny on screen but also on paper.

    When I heard Ms. Burnett's interview on my favorite Philadelphia radio station, I made it a point to purchase her book. I decided to buy the hard cover so that I could then share it with my mother and my dear friends, rather than keeping it all to myself on my Kindle. I was not disappointed in this decision. Her humor and ease of telling these stories kept me turning the pages. I took this with me to my boys ball games and practices so that I could continue turning. I was saddened to reach the end. I just wanted to keep hearing about her memories. When I was reading, I could actually hear her telling it. A must have! You won't regret it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tearfully touching and Laugh out Loud Funny

    This book is exactly what you would expect if you know anything about Carol Burnett. And if you don't? - Well get comfy with a new friend, but be careful who is around you because you will laugh out loud at times. The thing that is so sweet is all of the sincere credit and accolades Ms. Burnett bestows on her "second family" as she calls it. When so many stories surround the intense selfishness, to the point of ridiculousness that you laugh with bitterness it is nice to read something that makes you laugh without the negative head shake.

    The books reads easily just like you were being told the stories by the author herself with the belly laughs and conspiratal tones of someone sharing embarrassing stories. Nothing heavy, just sweet and funny. Will leave a smile on your face and make you look for her shows on tivo:)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    Great trip down memory lane!

    The moment I started this book I knew I wouldn't put it down until I read the whole thing. I grew up watching this talented performer and reading her stories, I felt as though I was having a one-on-one conversation with her. Needless to say I caught myself laughing out loud more than a few times in the course of the book's journey.
    She had a remarkable career and a great life story to tell. A great book too good to pass up. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    A Blast From the Past

    A real page-turner! I couldn't put it down, nor could I stop chuckling!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great read!

    I adore carol burnett! I remember watching her tv shows and they always made me laugh. The book was easy to read and get into.I finished the book in a couple days. She will always be one of my favorite comediennes of all time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Thanks good friend

    America's favorite funny woman Carol Burnett does a program around the country where she simply sits in a chair and takes questions from the audience. She candidly answers them and they range from the broad to the personal.
    This book is written in the same way, it is stories of her life and thoughts. She has been a pioneer in that she headed a variety show in a time when women were not part of the male dominated hierarchical structure.
    She did a bit in 1957 at the Blue Angel nightclub in East Side of Manhattan that revolved around a story of a girl who went ape over then Secretary of State John Foster Dulles. This garnered a lot of publicity and once the subject of her show as asked what he thought of it? He smiled and with a twinkle in his eye said "I make it a policy never to discuss matters of the heart in public". At least it shows that he had a sense of humor.
    Her grandmother was her patron and as was a real character. One time she went to visit her in her apartment, she was in her eighties, and she told her it was too dark in that room. As the good granddaughter she went to remove the cover from the light and her grandmother told her don't do that, that's my love light! Apparently she had an able 40 year old suitor.
    She shares insight into her Carol Burnett Show and the cast of characters from Jim Nabors, who always was always a guest on her first show for the eleven year run.
    Burnett befriended many of her movie idles in Jimmy Stewart and Lucille Ball. Lucille Ball taught her to be tough and always sent her flowers on her birthday. On the day she learned of Ball's death, she still received flowers on her birthday.
    Her life story is open and honest and she speaks to losing a child, her divorce, and finding love.
    This funny woman keeps working and sharing her talent with a new generation of fans.
    This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection by Carol Burnett will tickle your funny bone and also touch your heart to the life and times of this American icon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    LOL and Reflective all rolled into one

    We listened to This Time Together on a long road trip and we found ourselves not wanting to get out of the vehicle. Ms Burnett obviously has a way of connecting with people that she meets, even those of us who have not had the pleasure of meeting her. I absolutely LOVE Carol Burnett and I'm so glad that she opened up her life to us. It was a privilege to follow along with her highs, lows and life lessons that she learned along her jouney. A sense of humor, staying grounded and some good old fashioned good luck has helped her reach her dreams and it's a lesson that I will carry with me on my journey. FYI - My cat's name is also Mabel. Mabel Mae actually... :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    This Time Together,worth sharing!

    I so enjoyed Miss Burnett's latest book greatly. The stories are heartwarming and entertaining. I found myself laughing out loud at some times, others I shared Carol's pain.

    As a fan of her career and especially her variety show, I enjoyed all the reminiscing and remembered some of the stories. I'm planning to purchase another copy of this book as a gift for my in-laws to give them on an upcoming visit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    glad we had this time together

    It was in insiteful read into the mind of one of the greatest comic minds of our time. It was interesting to find out how she got her start and how she developed her comic wit. I enjoyed the book would recomend this book to other fans of the Carol Burnett show.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    So so

    Never really cared for her show but shes abetter actress in a serious role such as freedom fire which i saw when i was still in grade school and im49now stay hidden as lucille ballisstill the queen &jackie gleason isstill the kong of comedy youll never come close get lostcarol

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Funny, interesting and entertaining, just like Carol Burnett herself

    This was a funny entertaining account of the life of a very interesting lady.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Great Read!!

    The book is funny. I love to read about T.V. back in the day!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Extremely enjoyable

    What a wonderful read. It's like being with Ms Burnett and having a conversation with her. I bought a copy for my mother as she and I always watched the Carol Burnett Show together. This book brought back some wonderful memories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Class Act

    Carol Burnett is so real! I love how she invites you into her life and lets you see things from her point of view.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Fun Read!

    Like a lovely picnic in the park on a Sunday afternoon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Like watching clips from a show that I loved

    Really enjoyed the memories of the different skits from her show and reading the behind the scenes stuff. It made me laugh and cry and remember how much I liked watching the show with my mom. Only complaint was that the end came too fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 337 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17