BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection

Average Rating 4
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Our Time Together; Stories from an old friend....

As you read "This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection", it's as if Carol Burnett was sitting in your living room having a glass of wine or at the breakfast table sipping coffee with you and regaling you with funny, sweet and melancholy stories from her life.

Man...
As you read "This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection", it's as if Carol Burnett was sitting in your living room having a glass of wine or at the breakfast table sipping coffee with you and regaling you with funny, sweet and melancholy stories from her life.

Many of the stories in the book deal with her variety series, "The Carol Burnett Show", as well as showbiz friends and colleagues like Lucille Ball, Beverly Sills, Julie Andrews, Walter Matthau, Cary Grant, Jimmy Stewart and many others. Her family, her early career trials and tribulations in New York City, and her life after "The Carol Burnett Show" are featured as well in this wonderful collection. One story will have you literally laughing out loud (Ms. Burnett's quick retort to a prickly hostess at an upscale ice cream shop in NYC) while the next will bring tears to your eyes (how devoted Lucy was in sending Carol flowers every year on her birthday).

The book and its stories show the humor, talent, and heart of one of television's most iconic and real entertainers - the finest comedienne of our time. An idol of mine since childhood, my love for her and her work has grown even more with this reading.

"This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection" is a great gift for anyone who remembers her classic variety show with lovely stories of her, Harvey, Vicki and Tim! I finished this book in no time because I couldn't put it down and I thoroughly enjoyed my time together with Carol.

posted by LelandB on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Too much verbatim from original Book which I enjoyed, not enough new material

Carol revisits, verbatim, sections from her first book, One More Time, which was a poignant,funny, sad and wonderful book. So, I was disappointed Carol did not have enough new anecdotal material for us to enjoy in this second book. She and her fellow comedians were so ...
Carol revisits, verbatim, sections from her first book, One More Time, which was a poignant,funny, sad and wonderful book. So, I was disappointed Carol did not have enough new anecdotal material for us to enjoy in this second book. She and her fellow comedians were so very funny and special that I would have enjoyed a book just about her first show. This new book also bounced around to different time frames which was kind of awkward. If I had not read the first book, I would have enjoyed this book more. I did enjoy very much the stories about Carol and Julie Andrews. Two real ladies of the theater. I wish I could have seen them live just one time.

posted by 391739 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 335 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful Read - If you loved her show, you'll love her book!

    This book is a terrific trip down memory lane. I grew up entertained by Carol Burnett & Co and enjoyed reliving many classic moments of her t.v. show and specials. I also enjoyed her behind the scenes stories and personal stories of her family and friends. The chapters are short & sweet and had me laughing out loud or wiping a tear. It felt like I was catching up with an old friend and couldn't wait to get to the next chapter to hear the next story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Loved this book!

    Wonderful warm and funny..had me laughing out loud!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Warm, funny, poignant, funny, sad, funny

    Since this book is a collection of anecdotes, it is a little disjointed as far as smooth reading, but it makes up for it in insight, humor, and human warmth. If you are a fan of Carol Burnett and the assortment of mixed nuts who made up her cast and entourage, you will probably get a couple of belly laughs from this book. And if you can admire a person who matter-of-factly describes the dysfunction of her family and the difficulty of her early life, without ever making it an excuse for anything, you'll appreciate this book and the author. The book swings between factually biographical and anecdotally hysterical, and between triumphant and tragic. Throughout it all, the author has nothing but praise for friends, family and co-workers, with never a bad word about anyone...well, except for the Pants Nazi.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Carol, you are my hero!

    Miss your shows, guess dvd's are the next best thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    A Great Time and Great read

    "This Time Together" was not only a wonderful story, but a great insight to the many trials that an actress like Carol Burnett would face not only during her career, but after it as well. Carol Burnett, well known for her careers as an actress of both film and stage as well as TV, where her fame became nationwide. It discusses many of the events that took place during her life as a struggling actress, and even covers the years after she retired from the Carol Burnett Show after eleven seasons. Its main points discuss the awkward moments of her life, such as meeting famous actors that she knew in childhood or dealing with problems from her career.
    As the story begins, it covers what early Broadway was like in the ages before Television and Movies were the main source of entertainment. She starts out as a nobody, to whom money is a privilege, not a right. She soon gains enough to travel to New York though, and from there she slowly starts to look for bigger jobs. At first, she cannot seem to find any work, as all the jobs say she needs an agent to be in something, whilst the agents say she needs to be in something to get an agent. Frustrated, she eventually gets an agent to help her book her first real performance, and from there things go skyward.
    As the book goes on, it discusses Carol's first chances to be on TV, and her struggle to keep her head leveled. She starred on many shows such as Password, the Gary Moore show, and eventually gained her own show through talks with CBS's contracts. She also became a small starlet who was featured in several prominent features of that day and age.
    The show, which CBS thought would be a flop, lasted for eleven award winning seasons, but like all good things, had to come to an end. As Carol Burnett said, "The last show was bittersweet. It was 1978 and our creative family had been through so much together over the years: marriages, divorces, births, deaths, bad times, and good times. We were all blubbering when the final strains of "I'm So Glad We Had This Time Together" were being played. I sang "comes the time we all have to say so long," pulled my ear for the last time, and it was over." (Carol Burnett). This marked the finale of the hit show that had brought her and most of her friends together and had kept them happy over the years.
    The book emphasizes that hard work and a good sense of humor are all you need in order to succeed in life. People who know and love Carol Burnett, or even those with a small curiosity into what made this woman such a star, would enjoy the book and the many stories it is made up of. It is quite easy to like the basic humor, as I did, but one must be careful not to look too deep into some of the smaller stories. Overall though, I believe it was one of the best and most entertaining Autobiographies I have read in quite a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun quick read

    For those of us the grew up watching her show weekly all through our formative years, this book is an enjoyable walk behind the scenes with the fun characters that made the show happen. No great revelations. No hidden skeletons come out of the closet. Just descriptions of funny people being friends and coming together to make a show happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    For a Good Laugh and Inspiration

    Well written and highly enjoyable. My mom was much like Carol and so it brought back some great memories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    A great fun read before a cruise!

    Makes you really appreciate how hard the crew works to make us comfortable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Carol Burnett

    The beloved comedian tells about her life from childhood until the present day. Because each chapter is a single anecdote, this book can be picked up, read and enjoyed for a long or short periods, and saved to be picked up again at another time. However, because the author is such an interesting story teller, I found the saving "for another time" almost impossible. I did not want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a funny historic account of her career

    Such a wonderful, insightful look at Carol Burnett - any person who enjoys comedy - especially her comedy - you must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Great read

    Reading this book took me back. if you watched these programs when you hear her talk about them it takes you back to that day when you saw her come down the stairs in the curtains an you fall out in the floor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    I love Carol

    I have only read the "sample book" so far, but I love it! She's the BEST, even in book form. Can't wait to read the entire book!! Will purchase it soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I had hoped but not horrible either

    No lengthy editorial review needed. Simply because the author is such an interesting personality, the book was a fast and absorbing read. Lots of insight into her life behind the scenes. That being said, I kept waiting to hear myself chuckle and it just didn't happen. Worth reading but don't expect tons-o-giggles cause' they just aren't there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Like talking to an old friend

    Loved the book and it was the perfect reading material for me at the time. It is funny and touching and absorbing, it's reading and forgetting the time when you notice 2 hours have gone by, loved every page, I had not previously read the other book so a lot of this was new to me. Especially loved the segment on "Password" I laughed outloud.
    She is a wonderful human being and have enjoyed her and the comedy for years..great lady great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    Funny & entertaining

    I have always loved Carol Burnett and could hardly wait from week to week to watch her
    TV show. I also loved all her TV characters and her fellow actors. From her Bob Mackey
    designed clothing to her tongue-in-cheek humor, she is definitely one loved comedienne!
    "This Time Together" is a continuation of her story and her humor. As with many people
    in comedy, Carol has experienced her own sad and tragic times, but she always seem to
    come back with a smile and a ray of hope and encouragement for the rest of us. This book won't disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    Fun stories about one of my favorite screen personalities.

    Carol Burnett is one of my favorite all-time personalities. It was fun to read some of the behind-the-scene stories of her career and her show, along with the people who helped her make it the wonderful series it was. This is an easy read and always entertaining. If you are one of her fans, you will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    A

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It reminded me of Carol's Q and A's. The book would best be described as a collection of lifelong remembrances and it was over before I knew it! I bought it also in paperback as a gift I'm sure will be enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    This book is fantastic!

    I have loved Carol Burnett since I was young. This book tells great stories, wonderful lessons, and fantastic memories. Carol Burnett is an icon, and I'm thrilled I own and have read her book. I know who I will recommending it to. Its worth the time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Let's start with a disclosure: I'm pretty sure Carol Burnett is

    Let's start with a disclosure: I'm pretty sure Carol Burnett is one of the two reasons I have a catastrophic attraction to redheads/gingers, despite the fact that I'm gay. I crushed on her big time as a pre-teen who didn't really understand what crushes were, captivated by first her hair and then her performances. Carol's comedic timing and stage presence impacted me at that most impressionable of ages, and that impact has never left me. I could watch reruns of the Carol Burnett show and Carol's various variety specials over and over and over again and never stop laughing.

    But this is a review of her latest memoir, not of her or her shows. The book is, much like the Q&A sessions of her shows that it is modeled on, bright and breezy with just occasional hints of seriousness when warranted. She tells some very familiar stories and sprinkles in new anecdotes. It's not a heavy read, nor a slow one. Readers looking for depth of detail about Carol's personal life will be disappointed, but the book isn't advertised as that type of memoir. I enjoyed spending this time reminiscing with one of my favorite comedians. I wish it could have been longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Excellent

    Wonderful memoir and I love the way it is written - chapters aren't too long so that you can finish one and set book down if need be - so many funny memories with Carol and Friends.

    If you loved Carol Burnett, you'll love her book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 335 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17