Customer Reviews for

This Totally Bites! (Poison Apple Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Fun & spooky

Emma-Rose Paley is dark-haired, navy-eyed, pale-skinned and she just saw her Great-Aunt turn into a bat. Now, on top of the big school Halloween Dance coming up (which her friend Gabby has pushed her to help plan) and her parents working hard on a major gala for the mus...
Emma-Rose Paley is dark-haired, navy-eyed, pale-skinned and she just saw her Great-Aunt turn into a bat. Now, on top of the big school Halloween Dance coming up (which her friend Gabby has pushed her to help plan) and her parents working hard on a major gala for the museum, Emma-Rose wonders if she could be a vampire too.
This Totally Bites! is a ultra modern (cell phones and the internet factor in a lot, which is good because many times such things are ignored in modern literature) middle grade scary tale that bring the popularity of the paranormal into a kid-friendly book. Emma-Rose faces realistic kid-sized problems, some of which are even scarier than possibly being a vampire.
While this book does have the potential to be a little too scary for sensitive kids (my daughter insisted on sleeping with a bulb of garlic on her table after we read the Aunt Margo turns into a bat scene) it doesn't touch on any truly uncomfortable situations (for kids or parents). For kids who are trying to edge in on their parents' love of urban fantasy or paranormal romance, or who just love Buffy reruns, this is book, part of the Poison Apple series, is perfect. Recommended for public collections.

Contains: creepiness

posted by MicheleLeesBookLove on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

OMG

OMG THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!!!!!!!! LIKE THE HUNGER GAMES IT HAS SUSPENCE THAT MAKES YOU WANT TI KEEP READING!!!! EVRY OE SHOULD READ IT

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun & spooky

    Emma-Rose Paley is dark-haired, navy-eyed, pale-skinned and she just saw her Great-Aunt turn into a bat. Now, on top of the big school Halloween Dance coming up (which her friend Gabby has pushed her to help plan) and her parents working hard on a major gala for the museum, Emma-Rose wonders if she could be a vampire too.
    This Totally Bites! is a ultra modern (cell phones and the internet factor in a lot, which is good because many times such things are ignored in modern literature) middle grade scary tale that bring the popularity of the paranormal into a kid-friendly book. Emma-Rose faces realistic kid-sized problems, some of which are even scarier than possibly being a vampire.
    While this book does have the potential to be a little too scary for sensitive kids (my daughter insisted on sleeping with a bulb of garlic on her table after we read the Aunt Margo turns into a bat scene) it doesn't touch on any truly uncomfortable situations (for kids or parents). For kids who are trying to edge in on their parents' love of urban fantasy or paranormal romance, or who just love Buffy reruns, this is book, part of the Poison Apple series, is perfect. Recommended for public collections.

    Contains: creepiness

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    Totally Bites

    The book is going to be a super blast when kids 9-12 read this excellent book of vampire and the world of dark secrets.Love the new collection 20x's better than the Candy Apple Series.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Really good book!!!!!

    A thrilling story with a hint of romance,best friend battels, and has a dark side to it. Really good book people compare it to the candy apple series so if you've read those books you will poison apple books better!!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Awsum

    This was the first book in the poison apple series that i read nd it was aawsum! It was cool, creepy, and an overall good book. I think you should read this book because it has the perfect way to reel you in. I was hooked from the first chapter!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for TeensReadToo.com

    Emma-Rose Paley doesn't like being out in the sun or eating garlic, she likes her meat rare, she wears black, is pale, and has trouble sleeping at night. Could Emma be a vampire? This question comes to light when Emma-Rose's aunt visits their family and Emma catches her transforming into a bat. When her aunt arrives, animals start showing up dead in the local park, which hasn't happened in thirteen years. Thirteen years ago was the last time her aunt visited. Her aunt is from the Carpathian Mountains, more popularly known as Transylvania. Legends say that vampirism can skip generations and that the children don't become full-fledged vampires until their 13th year. Could Emma-Rose's aunt really be a vampire? Could Emma-Rose be turning into one? A great book for readers who are interested in vampires but aren't ready for Stephenie Meyer's books. The characters are entertaining and realistic, the plot is well-developed and makes for an interesting twist on the traditional vampire story. Readers who like vampires, magical realism, realistic fiction, and/or the Candy Apple counterpart series will enjoy reading THIS TOTALLY BITES!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    AWESOME

    GOOD 113 PAGES LONG SHORT READ

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A supernaturalish tale

    I bought this on a whim. Twelve year old emma rose is a not too cliche main character. However i recoommend this book for people about the main characters age.

    for parents and other concerned adults this story is clean and gore free.

    Spoiler alert this story does demonstrate the power of ones imagination.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Totally Bites Rocks

    I Was In Love With This Book Wean I Rend The 1st Page . The Book Is Super Fun And Kids Will Love It . I Think I Or What I Learned From This Book Was Try To Be What You Want To Be. Buy This Book You Will Love It

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Ok

    Do not read if you don't like creepy things. Sneak peak
    I turned my head and peeked into the guest room, not
    wanting to go inside again.

    My heart stopped.

    A glossy black bat flew in through the open window and balanced on the sill. The bats eyes were trained on the other bats in their cages. Like clockwork, all the bats in the room began unfolding their wings and opening their eyes, waking up. They even yawned, revealing pointy fangs.

    And then --

    The bat on the windowsill began to transform. The wings disappeared and were replaced by long, graceful arms. The squat furry body lengthened out and began to take on a human form. As i stared, my eyes growing wider, my pulse pounding at my throat, the tiny bat head began to turn into a human face. A familiar human face.
    Get the book to find out more :).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    AWSOME BOOK

    Ok i really love poison apple books check out this one it sounds awsome u will not regret this buy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Great

    Amazing book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Poison apple seizes rocks!!!!

    The pioson apple seizes has a mix of msytery horror

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Lol

    love this book it is a cool funny book u will lol to this

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Lol

    This book is as good as edward cullens ps love you sweet my rating is for him back of girls

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    I love this book!

    This book os really good. The cover might look boring but once you read the first 5 pages , you get adicted to reading this book and cant stop. I AM LIKE DEAD SERIOUS! I just finish the book and im going to read it again. This book is very nerve racking and keeps you waiting to get to the good part. If your a person who does not like to read about vampires or prefers i happy simple book i do not recamend this book for you. But if you like vampires and nerve racking/waiting for the truth/answer book i recamend this book for you. I always hated ready about vampires but i gave this book a try and it was worth it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Amazing book

    I love poison appl books, but this one is the best book i could choos.soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good. Also amazing.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. You will love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Amazing

    Talk aout vsmpires that is thebewst booin tbes serues so far!k

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    To: 1124.og

    So am i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    TAP HERE NOW!!!!!!

    This book is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo GAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Great

    Not rhe b

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4