Customer Reviews for

This Town: Two Parties and a Funeral--Plus, Plenty of Valet Parking!--in America's Gilded Capital

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

MY Town

I've lived in Washington for over 40 years & am more than a little amused that so many are caught up in the small (and often petty) world that's described in this book. It's a wonderful place to live, & many of us lead productive, fulfilling lives apart from the glitter...
I've lived in Washington for over 40 years & am more than a little amused that so many are caught up in the small (and often petty) world that's described in this book. It's a wonderful place to live, & many of us lead productive, fulfilling lives apart from the glitter & power struggles. Still, Mr, Leibovitz has woven a fascinating tale, a guilty summer reading pleasure. It's extremely well written & proves yet again that truth is stranger than fiction. I don't think anyone could make this s**t up! -- catwak

posted by catwak on July 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Too Many Pages About Cheesy, Self-Absorbed People About halfway

Too Many Pages About Cheesy, Self-Absorbed People
About halfway through this book, which started auspiciously, I became bored. Unless you live or work in "that" town, or you are a politicoholic, you will probably find that superlawyers and super hostesses aren...
Too Many Pages About Cheesy, Self-Absorbed People
About halfway through this book, which started auspiciously, I became bored. Unless you live or work in "that" town, or you are a politicoholic, you will probably find that superlawyers and super hostesses aren't  really all that fascinating - or important. Move on. Nothing to see here except vanity and greed, including the author.  

posted by 12608559 on July 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    MY Town

    I've lived in Washington for over 40 years & am more than a little amused that so many are caught up in the small (and often petty) world that's described in this book. It's a wonderful place to live, & many of us lead productive, fulfilling lives apart from the glitter & power struggles. Still, Mr, Leibovitz has woven a fascinating tale, a guilty summer reading pleasure. It's extremely well written & proves yet again that truth is stranger than fiction. I don't think anyone could make this s**t up! -- catwak

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This Town is a crazy good book. The writing is crisp and easy to

    This Town is a crazy good book. The writing is crisp and easy to follow. The characters are well developed. The plot is at times laugh-out-loud funny.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Too Many Pages About Cheesy, Self-Absorbed People About halfway

    Too Many Pages About Cheesy, Self-Absorbed People
    About halfway through this book, which started auspiciously, I became bored. Unless you live or work in "that" town, or you are a politicoholic, you will probably find that superlawyers and super hostesses aren't  really all that fascinating - or important. Move on. Nothing to see here except vanity and greed, including the author.  

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Very Highly Recommended

    The miasma in Washington goes much deeper than just ideology and partisanship. In this insider type account, Leibovich details a system that enriches the players while helping to paralyze government. The enticements work for members of both parties and nearly all ideologies. Thus few resist the temptation to cash in on their Congressional service after they leave Congress. Sadly, it also displays how the Obama administration, contrary to its initial intentions and values, finally joined the game. In fairness to Obama it would be difficult to stay out of the game given the high finance of our politics and 24/7 campaigns, both for running for office and for policies pending and even established. Obama would have needed extraordinary political skills which he appears to lack; and even seems to not like to play "real politics." The book demonstrates that the national government is now an industry and one that has fascinating characters whose actions just don't help the country. A must read for anyone wanting to understand why Washington is so dysfunctional.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Not one 5 star review from 7/18 back is about the book - just no

    Not one 5 star review from 7/18 back is about the book - just nookie/texters chatting - get a life.

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Joel

    Glooooopp..lmao...

    3 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Mark Leibovich has a really entertaining story here.  It has som

    Mark Leibovich has a really entertaining story here.  It has some of the juicy political drama that one who follows politics in America would expect to hear.  His writing style is very straight and easy to read, and he really does add some witty one-liners into the piece.  The stories each have their own unique features, characters, and settings.  He describes characters so smoothly, and I feel as though I have personally known some of those people for years after reading just one paragraph about them.  Mark also adds his two cents in every now and then in the form of a sentimental story or lesson learned.  These are truly the diamonds in the rough of this piece.  He learned a ton while covering this city, and it shows in this writing. 
    Initially I did really want to read this book, but I am very satisfied with my reversal on this book.  It is a worthy read from a good author.  It easily earns 4 stars in this rating, but lacks the perfection necessary for a 5th.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Not humorous

    I didn't find this to be a great book, but held my interest. It essentially confirmed what I suspected about the decline in respect felt for our elected representatives; overall they are disgusting. Many describe it as a humorous book, but I didn't laugh once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Good Read

    If you follow politics at all you will enjoy this book. Mr. Leibovich is an engaging writer and in this book he lets you become an eavesdropper at the parties and back room conversations of "This Town", Washington DC.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Great insider look at Washington DC

    A good look at inside Washington DC by an insider. Mark Leibovich, a NYTimes journalist tells all and names names. Treats both major political parties the same when describing how insiders really run Washington.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Great, quick read.

    Great, quick read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Hershey

    Kk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Steven

    Hey u on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    SCHOOL HERE

    teachers here and kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    VOTE FOR DIANE AND GET COOKIES!

    Seriously. I am not kidding. You also get free healthcare, equal opportunity to education, and jobs. We will have more jobs and larger police force...and Batman(I only work in black...and really dark grey). More safety means a lerger population.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Yrywu qw juo

    Sjxv qtX db
    UXq

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Good and bad

    Leibovich is clearly a good writer and seasoned reporter, but he was seasoned in the same pot as the people he critcizes, In one sense he has written a book that is new and interesting for its focus, but it is also a sad reflection on an auhor who seems to be every bit as insecure and enamored with his proximity to power as those he snarkily derrides, He comes off a bit like Exhibit A, Too bad because the aim of the book is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Term limits

    Worth the purchase, good read but really depressing. It makes a great case for congressional term limits and even makes one reconsider the First Amendment. What a bunch arrogant, intellectual morons.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Shitty Role players

    Please stop. Take your horny anime RPs to a chat site.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Honest

    Honest, refreshing, and endlessly amusing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4