BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

This World We Live In (Life As We Knew It Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 254 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

A year has passed since a meteor collided with the moon, sending it closer to the earth, and forever changing the world. In LIFE AS WE KNEW IT, Miranda chronicles the events her family experiences as they struggle for survival during dramatic weather changes, loss of fr...
A year has passed since a meteor collided with the moon, sending it closer to the earth, and forever changing the world. In LIFE AS WE KNEW IT, Miranda chronicles the events her family experiences as they struggle for survival during dramatic weather changes, loss of friends, and dangerous food shortages.

The companion novel, THE DEAD & THE GONE, follows the hardships of Alex and his sisters in New York City. The author paints a more gruesome side of life in this installment. One that stays with the reader long after the book is closed.

THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN brings the two stories together.

Once again, we see Miranda at home with her mother and two brothers as they continue to eke out a living. They find ways to deal with lack of food, poor air quality, cold temperatures, and no electricity. Even though they are doing okay now, Miranda knows it won't always be like this. The food deliveries might stop and then what would they do? Miranda's mother rejects any suggestion of leaving , but Miranda knows there will come a time when they'll have no choice.

Miranda's brothers leave for a fishing trip in an attempt to supplement the provisions they receive weekly from town. Matt and Jon bring back a lot more than fish. While fishing, they run into a band of travelers including Miranda's father, his new wife, Lisa, and their new baby, Gabriel. Also traveling with them is a man named Charlie and a brother and sister named Alex and Julie. As if that weren't enough, Matt meets a girl named Syl and claims her as his wife.

If supplies were dangerously low before, adding six more people to the mix made it downright frightening. Everyone struggled - with issues of privacy, issues of jealously, and issues of conscience.

THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN returns the reader to the first-person diary format of LIFE AS WE KNEW IT. Miranda documents her changing life as she talks about her growing family, her complicated feelings for Alex, and the grotesque discoveries that still seem to pop up even after a year. Their lives settle into a new routine until an unthinkable disaster rips through town. Miranda and her family are forced to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives if they want to survive in the world they live in now.

Susan Beth Pfeffer gives her readers what they've wanted. Personally, I'm very glad she went back to the first-person diary format. Even though there were times Miranda seemed at bit too whiny and I wanted to strangle Alex, I'm happy with the ending of the book.

If this series is new to you, please begin by reading LIFE AS WE KNEW IT followed by THE DEAD & THE GONE. You won't be able to understand the full impact of what these characters are going through in THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN without knowing a little about their backgrounds.

posted by TeensReadToo on January 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unfulfilling Conclusion to Fascinating Series

I loved Life As We Knew It, wasn't so hot about The Dead and the Gone, and was thrilled to have Miranda back as narrator in this one, and, as I got more into the book, I wondered when Alex was going to show up, since I knew that was the premise of this book. And then he...
I loved Life As We Knew It, wasn't so hot about The Dead and the Gone, and was thrilled to have Miranda back as narrator in this one, and, as I got more into the book, I wondered when Alex was going to show up, since I knew that was the premise of this book. And then he did. I just don't like him. And I really don't like the romance thing. He's a jerk. And he's the only boy around who isn't her brother. That doesn't equal mad, passionate, I'm-going-to-leave-my-family-for-him love.<br/>And don't even get me started about the ending. Besides the whole big decision Miranda has to make, If she writes another book in the series: SELLOUT. If she doesn't, What the Hell is up with the cliff-hanger?! I was really enjoying this third book until the last third of it. I enjoy speculating about how people would survive in this world. I enjoy seeing how these characters that I care about do. But I have to say, now that I've finished it, I'm leaving it with a tear-stained face, not least due to Miranda's poor decision-making skills, throwing her family under the bus, and very disappointed.

posted by Kirsten23 on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    A year has passed since a meteor collided with the moon, sending it closer to the earth, and forever changing the world. In LIFE AS WE KNEW IT, Miranda chronicles the events her family experiences as they struggle for survival during dramatic weather changes, loss of friends, and dangerous food shortages.

    The companion novel, THE DEAD & THE GONE, follows the hardships of Alex and his sisters in New York City. The author paints a more gruesome side of life in this installment. One that stays with the reader long after the book is closed.

    THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN brings the two stories together.

    Once again, we see Miranda at home with her mother and two brothers as they continue to eke out a living. They find ways to deal with lack of food, poor air quality, cold temperatures, and no electricity. Even though they are doing okay now, Miranda knows it won't always be like this. The food deliveries might stop and then what would they do? Miranda's mother rejects any suggestion of leaving , but Miranda knows there will come a time when they'll have no choice.

    Miranda's brothers leave for a fishing trip in an attempt to supplement the provisions they receive weekly from town. Matt and Jon bring back a lot more than fish. While fishing, they run into a band of travelers including Miranda's father, his new wife, Lisa, and their new baby, Gabriel. Also traveling with them is a man named Charlie and a brother and sister named Alex and Julie. As if that weren't enough, Matt meets a girl named Syl and claims her as his wife.

    If supplies were dangerously low before, adding six more people to the mix made it downright frightening. Everyone struggled - with issues of privacy, issues of jealously, and issues of conscience.

    THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN returns the reader to the first-person diary format of LIFE AS WE KNEW IT. Miranda documents her changing life as she talks about her growing family, her complicated feelings for Alex, and the grotesque discoveries that still seem to pop up even after a year. Their lives settle into a new routine until an unthinkable disaster rips through town. Miranda and her family are forced to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives if they want to survive in the world they live in now.

    Susan Beth Pfeffer gives her readers what they've wanted. Personally, I'm very glad she went back to the first-person diary format. Even though there were times Miranda seemed at bit too whiny and I wanted to strangle Alex, I'm happy with the ending of the book.

    If this series is new to you, please begin by reading LIFE AS WE KNEW IT followed by THE DEAD & THE GONE. You won't be able to understand the full impact of what these characters are going through in THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN without knowing a little about their backgrounds.

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hopefully not the last in series!!

    I really enjoyed this book. I read the other 2 as well, and was very glad this book was continued in Miranda's perspective. That's one of the main reasons I like this series so much, it doesn't feel like I'm reading fiction. It feels like I'm reading the diary of a real 16 year old girl, and re-living the extraordinary events through her perspective. It feels very real. If I knew for sure whether or not there was going to be another book, I'd "love" this book rather than just "like". If this is indeed going to be the last book then I'd have to say the ending sucks. Nothing was resolved. I know that in a series like this you don't necessarily get a "happily ever after", but things definitely could have been more settled. The ending is just begging for another book, and hopefully the author gives us one!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    ¿

    She is going to write a fourth one. Yay

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    To person who commented before me

    There is a fourth book. Its called the shades of the moon and its coming out in August.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Great

    Wonderful series

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Sci fi fan

    Epic freakin series this book should've been a lot longer though ok first off she blends the characters from the first to together it is very dark and depressing just the way i <3 my books tears. trickled down my cheeks. i had high hope for this family and they made it this far. I could not stop thinking about this book series. I layed awake with it constantly on my mind i need 2 read this again

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Love it

    One of my favorite books ever!!!! Worth your time and money. So sad tho :(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Spoiler

    I loved the series! I think Alex and miranda both deserved love. But seriously Matt? Some sort of Russian chick called Slyvia yu picked up from a motel!!?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    I so want to see book four, but it looks like the author is only writing short stories that star some of the characters. I just want to know what happens. The ending left everyone that loves this series hanging in mid air.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Its over?

    This book gripped me more than the first two. I guess I just prefer Miranda to everyone else. She is a survivor. The author ends the series with tragedy and almost zero closure. For whatever reason I still liked it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Good conclusion...?

    It was good, but there should be another book after this telling what happens to the earth. Not the best way to end a series... that's just my opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Unfulfilling Conclusion to Fascinating Series

    I loved Life As We Knew It, wasn't so hot about The Dead and the Gone, and was thrilled to have Miranda back as narrator in this one, and, as I got more into the book, I wondered when Alex was going to show up, since I knew that was the premise of this book. And then he did. I just don't like him. And I really don't like the romance thing. He's a jerk. And he's the only boy around who isn't her brother. That doesn't equal mad, passionate, I'm-going-to-leave-my-family-for-him love.&lt;br/&gt;And don't even get me started about the ending. Besides the whole big decision Miranda has to make, If she writes another book in the series: SELLOUT. If she doesn't, What the Hell is up with the cliff-hanger?! I was really enjoying this third book until the last third of it. I enjoy speculating about how people would survive in this world. I enjoy seeing how these characters that I care about do. But I have to say, now that I've finished it, I'm leaving it with a tear-stained face, not least due to Miranda's poor decision-making skills, throwing her family under the bus, and very disappointed.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Emotional

    I thought it was a very emotional book. The girl in the story is facing many challenges and trying to pick between family and love. I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Just okay

    Do not read this book without reading the first one, preferably two. You will not understand enough of the background to enjoy the story.

    The third installment of Pfeiffer's "The Last Survivors" series returns to Miranda and her family, who are continuing to survive in the world post-moon impact. They find new ways to survive, as Matt finds a wife and Miranda's father returns to their world - with some guests in Alex and Julie.

    Miranda is once again the one communicating through her journal entries, a refreshing change from Alex's stiff third-person narrative in "the dead and the gone". However, the darker mood of "the dead and the gone" is continued in "The World as we Knew It". There are far more tragedies and shocks to Miranda's psyche in this novel. This is perhaps a more realistic view of the way things are in this dystopic reality.

    The plot line is shaky and has an unlikely twist, without advancing the storyline very far from the original book. However, in Miranda's character there are signs of maturity and a true adaptation to her situation. Though the other characters demonstrate surface development, Miranda is the only one who seems to really develop and change. Alex, though the entirety of the second novel was devoted to him, was practically ignored.

    Though the concept is interesting, it has become tired, without enough character or plot development to make this novel a strong addition to the first. If I hadn't been so curious to discover more about how Miranda is living, I wouldn't have bothered finishing it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    The Demigod Twins (Part 20)

    We arrived in New York about two hours later. I somehow feel asleep again, without dreams. My neck finally stopped hurting. I was stiff and tired. I said good-bye to the pegisi and grouped Shelby, Jax, Ian, Well, Tina, Michael, and Ethan. I would be ready to go home, if I had one. I just need to get everyone to Camp Half-Blood, and to a place called Camp Jupiter for the Romans in the group. We found two cabs for us to go to Long Island. I paid the cab I was in which Michael, Tina, and my mysterous brother, Ethan. We had to walk to the valley from a road away. We were scratched up from a fight with a police officer that were actually was a hydra we met before the taxi ride. We took the sign that we were being followed by Arus's allies. We walked quickly to the camp entrence. I made sure everyone went before me. I did not want anyone else captured. I did a quick scan of the area. No one there. I do not know when, but my knee started to hurt. Tina and Ethan noticed me limping. "Anna, are you okay?" Ethan asked. "I'm fine," i said. "Go on in without me." "We are staying here with you," said Tina. I sighed. Tina could be stubborn, like me. "Fine! Help me in," I told her. She and Ethan helped me walk towards the white pine tree. Tina's half sister's spirt once kept the tree alive, guarding the camp border from monsters and mortals. Now the Golden Fleece, which my half brother, who is on a quest to stop the earth goddess (can't cause chaos which the name), and haven't seen him but once in a dream, the only time I saw him. It gave me strengh to think of a relative doing great things. Suddenly, a hand grabbed the back of my shirt. I knew it grabbed Tina and Ethan in the other hand. "I found you! Now I can use the best weapon around...... you!"

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    In with a bang out with a whimper...

    After reading the first two books in this series, I was hugely disappointed with this book. The author returned to the writing style of the first book, the first person narrative. This book also tied the previous books together, which I was excited about. However, the characters in this book were almost unrecognizable as the characters from the previous books. Overall the author didn't seem all that interested in further developing the characters, and this whole book felt rushed. This book was in fact much shorter than the second book, which wouldn't have been noticeable if the story was well written. Unfortunately, after looking at the final product, the author comes across as lazy. Or maybe she was just burnt out after writing such emotionally charged books before this one. I'm going to assume the latter, since she did such an amazing job with the first two books. The first two books were ended without resolving the lives of the characters involved, but it was done in such a way that you as a reader were going to silently cheer them on, this one was left as a cliffhanger, but it felt like the author simply ran out of steam. I wish the author had just left this series at two books, or intended to write more in the series. Having what was previously an amazing series end on such a low note is disappointing. If you loved the first two books, I would suggest skipping this one, as it taints the entire series. You would not be missing out. J.K. Rowling may have done a disservice to her peers, but a service to readers everywhere. The bar is set high for a series to keep up a consistent quality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    My fave

    Accidently read this part first. When i realized this had to be part of a seiries i was still hooked and couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    In the book"This World We Live In" the narrators name

    In the book&quot;This World We Live In&quot; the narrators name is Miranda she is 17 years old loves to read and help her family survive.Miranda lives with her mom and her two siblings Matt and Jon.Matt is the oldest and the craziest throughout the story he does some unexpected things.Jon is the youngest he is quiet and hard to satisfy, and Lisa is the mom she makes sure everyone survives and also sacrifices everything to make that happen.The main conflict in this story is an astreroid hits the moon and knocks it closer to earth blocking the sun  which makes the the earth frozen and gray, this character vs nature conflict changes her view in life and her life style.
     I liked this book because it makes u think about if this event every occurred and how I would deal with it , and I also like how the author makes every second better and better by putting suspense and feat ail in every event. For example her mom almost drowned trying to clean water out of her basement and passed out .Also another event is when they ran low on food and her brothers went out to fish for shed Matt brings back a girl and marries her. Finally there was another ever to where Miranda's dad comes back with three people plus his wife and a baby. I would recommend this book for all high schoolers and adults that are in to science fiction books because it's an amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Must read

    This book was really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Love this

    This series is one of the only series i actually liked. Its suspensefull and entertaining. I cant wait to read the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13