Customer Reviews for

This World We Live In (Life As We Knew It Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

A year has passed since a meteor collided with the moon, sending it closer to the earth, and forever changing the world. In LIFE AS WE KNEW IT, Miranda chronicles the events her family experiences as they struggle for survival during dramatic weather changes, loss of fr...
A year has passed since a meteor collided with the moon, sending it closer to the earth, and forever changing the world. In LIFE AS WE KNEW IT, Miranda chronicles the events her family experiences as they struggle for survival during dramatic weather changes, loss of friends, and dangerous food shortages.

The companion novel, THE DEAD & THE GONE, follows the hardships of Alex and his sisters in New York City. The author paints a more gruesome side of life in this installment. One that stays with the reader long after the book is closed.

THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN brings the two stories together.

Once again, we see Miranda at home with her mother and two brothers as they continue to eke out a living. They find ways to deal with lack of food, poor air quality, cold temperatures, and no electricity. Even though they are doing okay now, Miranda knows it won't always be like this. The food deliveries might stop and then what would they do? Miranda's mother rejects any suggestion of leaving , but Miranda knows there will come a time when they'll have no choice.

Miranda's brothers leave for a fishing trip in an attempt to supplement the provisions they receive weekly from town. Matt and Jon bring back a lot more than fish. While fishing, they run into a band of travelers including Miranda's father, his new wife, Lisa, and their new baby, Gabriel. Also traveling with them is a man named Charlie and a brother and sister named Alex and Julie. As if that weren't enough, Matt meets a girl named Syl and claims her as his wife.

If supplies were dangerously low before, adding six more people to the mix made it downright frightening. Everyone struggled - with issues of privacy, issues of jealously, and issues of conscience.

THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN returns the reader to the first-person diary format of LIFE AS WE KNEW IT. Miranda documents her changing life as she talks about her growing family, her complicated feelings for Alex, and the grotesque discoveries that still seem to pop up even after a year. Their lives settle into a new routine until an unthinkable disaster rips through town. Miranda and her family are forced to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives if they want to survive in the world they live in now.

Susan Beth Pfeffer gives her readers what they've wanted. Personally, I'm very glad she went back to the first-person diary format. Even though there were times Miranda seemed at bit too whiny and I wanted to strangle Alex, I'm happy with the ending of the book.

If this series is new to you, please begin by reading LIFE AS WE KNEW IT followed by THE DEAD & THE GONE. You won't be able to understand the full impact of what these characters are going through in THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN without knowing a little about their backgrounds.

posted by TeensReadToo on January 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unfulfilling Conclusion to Fascinating Series

I loved Life As We Knew It, wasn't so hot about The Dead and the Gone, and was thrilled to have Miranda back as narrator in this one, and, as I got more into the book, I wondered when Alex was going to show up, since I knew that was the premise of this book. And then he...
I loved Life As We Knew It, wasn't so hot about The Dead and the Gone, and was thrilled to have Miranda back as narrator in this one, and, as I got more into the book, I wondered when Alex was going to show up, since I knew that was the premise of this book. And then he did. I just don't like him. And I really don't like the romance thing. He's a jerk. And he's the only boy around who isn't her brother. That doesn't equal mad, passionate, I'm-going-to-leave-my-family-for-him love.<br/>And don't even get me started about the ending. Besides the whole big decision Miranda has to make, If she writes another book in the series: SELLOUT. If she doesn't, What the Hell is up with the cliff-hanger?! I was really enjoying this third book until the last third of it. I enjoy speculating about how people would survive in this world. I enjoy seeing how these characters that I care about do. But I have to say, now that I've finished it, I'm leaving it with a tear-stained face, not least due to Miranda's poor decision-making skills, throwing her family under the bus, and very disappointed.

posted by Kirsten23 on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    A year has passed since a meteor collided with the moon, sending it closer to the earth, and forever changing the world. In LIFE AS WE KNEW IT, Miranda chronicles the events her family experiences as they struggle for survival during dramatic weather changes, loss of friends, and dangerous food shortages.

    The companion novel, THE DEAD & THE GONE, follows the hardships of Alex and his sisters in New York City. The author paints a more gruesome side of life in this installment. One that stays with the reader long after the book is closed.

    THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN brings the two stories together.

    Once again, we see Miranda at home with her mother and two brothers as they continue to eke out a living. They find ways to deal with lack of food, poor air quality, cold temperatures, and no electricity. Even though they are doing okay now, Miranda knows it won't always be like this. The food deliveries might stop and then what would they do? Miranda's mother rejects any suggestion of leaving , but Miranda knows there will come a time when they'll have no choice.

    Miranda's brothers leave for a fishing trip in an attempt to supplement the provisions they receive weekly from town. Matt and Jon bring back a lot more than fish. While fishing, they run into a band of travelers including Miranda's father, his new wife, Lisa, and their new baby, Gabriel. Also traveling with them is a man named Charlie and a brother and sister named Alex and Julie. As if that weren't enough, Matt meets a girl named Syl and claims her as his wife.

    If supplies were dangerously low before, adding six more people to the mix made it downright frightening. Everyone struggled - with issues of privacy, issues of jealously, and issues of conscience.

    THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN returns the reader to the first-person diary format of LIFE AS WE KNEW IT. Miranda documents her changing life as she talks about her growing family, her complicated feelings for Alex, and the grotesque discoveries that still seem to pop up even after a year. Their lives settle into a new routine until an unthinkable disaster rips through town. Miranda and her family are forced to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives if they want to survive in the world they live in now.

    Susan Beth Pfeffer gives her readers what they've wanted. Personally, I'm very glad she went back to the first-person diary format. Even though there were times Miranda seemed at bit too whiny and I wanted to strangle Alex, I'm happy with the ending of the book.

    If this series is new to you, please begin by reading LIFE AS WE KNEW IT followed by THE DEAD & THE GONE. You won't be able to understand the full impact of what these characters are going through in THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN without knowing a little about their backgrounds.

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Its over?

    This book gripped me more than the first two. I guess I just prefer Miranda to everyone else. She is a survivor. The author ends the series with tragedy and almost zero closure. For whatever reason I still liked it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Emotional

    I thought it was a very emotional book. The girl in the story is facing many challenges and trying to pick between family and love. I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    Review for This World We Live In I would rate this book a 4/5 st

    Review for This World We Live In
    I would rate this book a 4/5 stars because this book was dynamic. There were things that I would never expect. Sometimes, I thought that nothing can go worse,and yet it did, so I think that the author did a good job on creating suspense. After a meteor hit the Moon, everything changed the way Miranda, remembered it. Life would be different from that point on. Everyday was a challenge. Not enough food, disasters, plague, and death faces Miranda, and her family. One day, she is surprised to see someone who she would never expect to see. But with good always comes bad. Can Miranda survive in this world? I would recommend this book to all the readers out there that like suspense and shock. There isn’t one part that you can expect, everything is presented with a boom just like when Miranda said there wasn’t going to be enough food, and then she finds a box of hidden food.The author did a good job of deceiving the reader. She makes you think in the book that there will be a meteor shower, yet it’s the end of life as we knew it for the people in the book.This is a great book, so what are you waiting for, pick it up and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    nice end to the series!

    there were so many questions that i had from book 1, and then more from book 2 - wondering what happened to our favorite characters and what happened to the earth...

    well, this was a pretty good series ender because you've got a bit more resolution behind what's happened, what's hpoefully goign to happen and how everyone made out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Good book

    Overall, I thought this was a good book. Once i started reading. it, it was hard for me to stop. I would highly reccomend this book to anyone who has read the first two books and enjoyed them. The only thing that I was unhappy with was the ending. The way the book ended left me with a lot of questios. But besides that, I still think this is a very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Y

    If u r reading my review, u will discover these things: love can b unexpected........things happen for a reason......and u will falll in luv with miranda and alex....keep a diary toooo...... u never know when life as we know it will become life as we knew it.

    MUST READ!!!!!!

    Em

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Very good

    This book has a very great plot, i loved that it had romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Ending

    Come on! Horible ending. How does it end?? Do they live? She better write more! Too short for my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Ended way to fast

    I mean i love a suspenseful cliff hanger but in 10 pages the book was over....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    The best of all three!!

    I loved this book because of all the action going on! You should really read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Cool but i want an ending

    This book was great but it ended with a total cliff hanger!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Cool!

    I am reading the first book, and i can't wait to read the second!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Combining+book+1+%26+2

    Pfeffer+did+a+very+good+job+finishing+the+trilogy+and+i+enjoyed+it+immensly.+I+wish+she+would+write+more+books+mayb+in+different+areas.+I+loved+it+and+you+will+too.+The+ending+is+amazing+like+it+is+in+all+her+novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Thrilling story that you wont ever put down!

    Althiugh i prefer Life as i knew it (book 1) to the rest of the series, i have to say this one had me reading it nonstop. The story line was well- thought out and i LOVED the way the characters from both stories were combined. I gave this book of 4 out of 5 because i mean, 158 pages for 13 bucks! Thats a little overkill. Plus the main conflict came a little to late for my taste. But overall, thumbs up to Susan Pfeffer! You're a great writer! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mostly realistic

    I really enjoyed this book. The images she paints in your head really hits home. The constant everyday struggles break your heart and really have you rooting for this family. The only complaint I had was the way the protagonist so quickly fell in love. I understand there are no boys around, but the fact that she fell in love immediately with the first boy her age she sees strikes me as unrealistic. Especially since he isn't the nicest to her.

    Otherwise a great book and I would definitely recommend to anyone, not just kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3