Customer Reviews for

The Thomas Berryman Number

Average Rating 2
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    just didn't like it

    it could of been the language,story,can't really say but i didn't like it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Boring

    Very hard book to get into, started it one month ago, still trying to finish it, I can usually finish one of his books in two days. I have read all the James Patterson series books, loved them all, always waiting for the next book to come out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Boring

    I have read almost all of James Patterson's books. Most of his books I am on the edge of my seat waiting to see what is going to happen next. This is the worst book I have ever read. It was so boring that it took me more than a week to read. When I finally finished reading it, I had no idea what I read. The plot was confusing. Don't waste your money on this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    First and worst book for J Patterson.

    I couldn't get past the first several chapters. It''s boring, jumps around, and confusing. I'm so glad JP has come a long way since his first book---he's a fine writer now and I have since read most of his books. I can get into them immediately and the plots and characters flow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ONE OF HIS WORST!!!

    I thought this book never-ending, and got to the point I didn't care. I lost track of people, the dates, and didn't care who "dont it". Not worth the attempt to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    Schizoid Tangential References

    I had no idea what was going on, and, worse, I didn't care. I cannot believe that the author who wrote such EXCELLENT ALEX CROSS mysteries penned such a disjointed and basically BORING story. Supposedly this was his first murder mystery and it was loved and praised. I don't know why. I was in my 20's in 1976 (when it was copyrighted) so I was aware of most of his time references. I only read it til the end because it was a James Patterson book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    B O R I N G

    Terrible! Don't waste your time & money. I struggled through & was disappointed. The critics that raved about this book must have been in a coma...The claims of the book being a terrifying tale was nothing but BS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No more

    I quit i have read most of j.p.s books for years. No more, do anything but do not bore me you bored me. No more j.p. books for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    What?

    I have no idea what the heck I just read. Worst book I have ever read in my life. Would give it zero stars if I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Awful

    I didn't like a single charachter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    A must to read!

    James Patterson does an excellent job in keeping the readers on the edge of their seats in this book. Well organized and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    First and worst book for J. Patterson

    I couldn't get past the first several chapters. It''s boring, jumps around, and confusing. I'm so glad JP has come a long way since his first book---he's a fine writer now and I have since read most of his books. I can get into them immediately and the plots and characters flow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Patterson has come a LONG way!

    I have read more than 3/4s of all Patterson's books and this was the worst by far! I had trouble getting into the book, into the characters, and following the story line. I finished it, just because i had started it. I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    The worst James Patterson I've ever read!

    Hard to believe this was James Patterson. I tried to pick it up on two different occasions and finally threw it out -- it was agonizing. It was an audio book and I forced myself to get into the second cd each time thinking "this is Patterson; it has to get great soon."

    VERRRRRY Slow! Painfully so.

    Horrible, just horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2004

    Very Bad First Novel

    Too confusing...Patterson switches voices too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Skip this one, go to any of the others!!!

    I love James Patterson books and tried this one. With much determination, I finished it in the hope that it would really work as I went along. It was a huge disappointment! Please don't judge the author by this book. Read the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2003

    Worst Patterson of them all

    Plot was very confusing and dull. The ending had no suspense what so ever. This along with Rock the Cradle are Patterson's worse novels. I've enjoyed many of his books in the past, but this was not one of them. Luckily it was a fairly short book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Patterson's first book - very slow and confusing

    I love Patterson's books, especially the Alex Cross series-I had read them all Along Came a Spider, Kiss the Girls, Jack and Jill, Cat and Mouse, Roses are Red, Pop Goes the Weasel, Violets are Blue and Four Blind Mice. I wanted to read all of his books from the beginning (after the Cross books - I couldn't wait - they are sooo good). This was the hardest book for me to get through. I did but it was painful!!! I have since read a few more of his books from the 70s and 80s that are MUCH better. Read it if you want to, but be warned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    Boring and Unrefined

    I felt the plot jumped around and there were times I couldn't figure out which character I was reading. This is a far cry from Patterson's usual intense read. If you haven't read any others give them a try. Don't base your decision on this book as you would definately miss out on some good ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2002

    Not the usual James Patterson book

    Of all the James Patterson I have read, this is the first time I got half way through and closed it up. If this is the first Patterson for you, don't give up. Most of his are 5 star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2