BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

As a retired military man, I really enjoyed this book. Despite

As a retired military man, I really enjoyed this book. Despite how people feel about Jefferson's personal life choices, he was without a doubt one of the most influential leaders in early America. This book offers both timeless wisdom, and fresh insight into what made...
As a retired military man, I really enjoyed this book. Despite how people feel about Jefferson's personal life choices, he was without a doubt one of the most influential leaders in early America. This book offers both timeless wisdom, and fresh insight into what made him such an inspiring and effective leader.

posted by SteveJ54 on December 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

The following is enough to keep me from buying this book: "

The following is enough to keep me from buying this book:

"The author of 'All men are created equal' owned slaves and almost certainly kept one as his concubine, and kept their children in his house, still slaves."

The zeal to denigrate American historical i...
The following is enough to keep me from buying this book:

"The author of 'All men are created equal' owned slaves and almost certainly kept one as his concubine, and kept their children in his house, still slaves."

The zeal to denigrate American historical icons is an unfortunate modern trend. The DNA evidence reagrding the paternity of Sally Hemings children was misrepresented deliberately by the fraud Joseph Ellis. Sad to see Meacham buy into it.
The DNA excluded any Jefferson male from being the father of three of her four children. So much for the notion that Jefferson kept his children(plural) as slaves. As for the remaining child the DNA evidence shows that a Jefferson male was the father. There were many Jefferson males present at Monticello. That makes thomas Jefferson's paternity a possibility, but a long ways from being a probability.

posted by Investor612 on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    TO THOMAS

    Really? You already have a slave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Really enjoyable, well written book. Loved learning about Jeffer

    Really enjoyable, well written book. Loved learning about Jefferson and this piece of history. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    Excellent, easy to read book.

    Meacham strives to help the reader better understand Jefferson "the man" as well as Jefferson "the iconic leader". He explains how Jefferson's background and philosphy differed in varying degrees with those of his historial peers and how these differences positively impacted the shaping of our nation. Also, the author cautions us to judge historical figures by the times in which they lived, not by the standards of our times- which might allow 21st century readers to better appreciate Jefferson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Very Interesting Book

    This book was very well written and interesting about this man. Many people do not realize what he did for his country and it would be good for young people today to read this history. I enjoyed this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Alex

    It is a true story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Autumnwhisper

    Thx....(btw my clan, located at 'ksud' (no typo) is in desperate need of active members so plz join!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Icepelt

    Go to ice third result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Oky

    Oky and ice
    Heres yhur icecloud is yhurs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Good book

    This is a very interesting and informative book. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Outstanding historical account

    Should be read by all high schoolers and above. Until reading this book I never knew just how fragile was the existence of our country during the several decades following the revolution of 1776. Beside the large number of separatists who didn’t want a unified country to exist, there was a large faction that still felt a strong allegiance to England. In addition, a delicate tight rope – diplomacy, armed threats, etc. were in play involving France, Spain, & England in addition to the Indians – all while the US was relatively weak militarily and economically. Then, even issues of slavery were put in perspective, considering what followed later with the Civil War and the Civil Rights movement of our time. As it turned out Jefferson was perfect for his time leading up to and following the Revolution. If not for him we might well be singing “God Save The Queen” or “La Marseille”.
    Not an easy read: the author quotes participants in the English language as spoken at the time. Still wading through the couple hundred pages of notes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Well written and very enjoyable. The political field is very dif

    Well written and very enjoyable. The political field is very difficult to navigate even now and any man that can continuously impact a nation in a positive way over a lifetime deserves our respect and our thanks. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Necessary Read

    I wasn't sure if I would remain interested and I must say it was phenomenally informative and written in an easy reading style. I wish I knew this much about President Jefferson while in school. I believe this is a biography which should be required reading for high school freshmen. After finishing this book I will now search for more of his writings. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everything you think you know about Thomas Jefferson is only slightly accurate - read this book if you like intellectual stimulation!

    Jon Meacham is eloquent in his method. The story of Thomas Jefferson's life is one thing, but to delve into why he was so successfully powerful is a completely different venture; one that Professor Meacham lands quite well. You will feel anxiety, patriotism, remorse, loss, exasperated, and finality. Pick up this book, and like several of its predecessors ("A People's History of the United States" to name one), you will find a plume of knowledge met with circumstantial paranoia that you will not be able to avoid: and take great pride in the fact that Thomas Jefferson and John Adams were responsible for much of what we cherish in our freedoms today, if not all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Help:)

    I like the history of presidents such as thomas and aberham but i am 14 years old and like history but will like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    For the Serious Reader

    Want to read and really understand the life of Thomas Jefferson, who he was, to really get to know and understand him, this is the book. It is researched to the max, very detail, the most in depth book I've read of Jefferson or for anyone I have ever read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Recommended

    Excellent book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power

    Wow! This book was an incitful look at President Jefferson and the political climate of the times. A very thourough look at a complicated, contidictory man. A must read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Vikki...

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Nobodys

    I like how people always act like they are above the authors of books they dont like. If its that bad go write your own book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    HOW TO BECOME POWERFUL - a manual for the ambitious.

    This is not your usual biography of a much-revered statesman. It
    would be a perfect HoW-TO book for those readers who want all of the
    reins of power in their own hands. Good Luck!
    June Bennett

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4