Customer Reviews for

The Thorn (Rose Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

Bethany Publishers sent me an advanced reading copy of this book to review. I decided to read it right away, since it was an advanced reading copy and all -- just seemed like the right thing to do. :)

The book is focused on two Amish sisters -- Rose Ann, who longs to...
Bethany Publishers sent me an advanced reading copy of this book to review. I decided to read it right away, since it was an advanced reading copy and all -- just seemed like the right thing to do. :)

The book is focused on two Amish sisters -- Rose Ann, who longs to be married and have a houseful of children of her own, and yet feels a duty to stay at home and take care of her mother, who had been involved in a terrible accident. As Rose Ann learns that it's okay to live her life, she finds herself torn between her best friend, Nick, and the man she feels she should love, Silas.

The second sister is Hen. She left the Amish community and married and Englischer. Now she feels that her life is missing something and has returned to her Amish roots, completely against her husband's wishes. Now she must decide between the Amish community she misses so dearly and her marriage. When she comes back home to visit, she begins to worry about Rose Ann and what life she will choose. She doesn't want her sister to make the mistake she did of leaving her heritage behind.

I actually really enjoyed this book. And of course, now I can't wait for Book 2! There is such a mix of English and Amish in this book that it really held my attention. As your reading this book, you will be torn between what you feel is best for each sister. I'm looking forward to reading this entire trilogy so that I can see what the resolution will be.

I highly recommend this book. If you are unsure of whether you will enjoy a book centered around the Amish community, this will be a great book for you to start with. It will be available for you to purchase on September 10th. Visit the Bethany House website for more information and to find out where you can purchase this book.

posted by lipto96 on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

ok but drawn out

the book is good but i dont want to have to pay for three books ti end one story

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    Great Book

    Bethany Publishers sent me an advanced reading copy of this book to review. I decided to read it right away, since it was an advanced reading copy and all -- just seemed like the right thing to do. :)

    The book is focused on two Amish sisters -- Rose Ann, who longs to be married and have a houseful of children of her own, and yet feels a duty to stay at home and take care of her mother, who had been involved in a terrible accident. As Rose Ann learns that it's okay to live her life, she finds herself torn between her best friend, Nick, and the man she feels she should love, Silas.

    The second sister is Hen. She left the Amish community and married and Englischer. Now she feels that her life is missing something and has returned to her Amish roots, completely against her husband's wishes. Now she must decide between the Amish community she misses so dearly and her marriage. When she comes back home to visit, she begins to worry about Rose Ann and what life she will choose. She doesn't want her sister to make the mistake she did of leaving her heritage behind.

    I actually really enjoyed this book. And of course, now I can't wait for Book 2! There is such a mix of English and Amish in this book that it really held my attention. As your reading this book, you will be torn between what you feel is best for each sister. I'm looking forward to reading this entire trilogy so that I can see what the resolution will be.

    I highly recommend this book. If you are unsure of whether you will enjoy a book centered around the Amish community, this will be a great book for you to start with. It will be available for you to purchase on September 10th. Visit the Bethany House website for more information and to find out where you can purchase this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    great read

    I enjoyed this whole series of books. I enjoy learning about the Amish way of life. I have never been disappointed by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    weak

    interesting but weak

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    ok but drawn out

    the book is good but i dont want to have to pay for three books ti end one story

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great beginning for a new Amish trilogy

    This story revolves around sisters Hannah (Hen) and Rose Ann Kauffman. Hen left the faith to marry Brandon, and Englisher, but after five years and a daughter she is longing for the life she left behind. She takes a job working in a fabric shop and soon starts wearing amish attire and making amish dresses for her daughter Mattie Sue, even though her husband is against it. When she decides to take a break from her marriage and move back home, will it be the end of her marriage, and how will the community accept her return?
    Rose Ann has always known she wanted to stay in the faith, even skipping her rumspringa to join the church at fifteen. Her days are spent as the primary caregiver for her mother Emma, who was injured in a buggy accident several years prior that left her confined to a wheelchair with continuous pain. Rose works one day a week as a housekeeper/cook for an English neighbor Mr. Browning. There has always been stories that Mr. Browning's house is haunted, so when Rosie starts hearing noises upstairs, a place Mr. Browning has forbidden her to go, she is determined to figure out what is going on. When Rose has a bit of free time she is fond of reading and spending time with her best friend Nick Franco, and her love life starts to look promising when Silas Good starts calling on her, but Silas doesn't like the friendship she has with Nick. She also has Hen warning her against Nick, what will Rose do?
    This story really moves along at a brisk pace, the author does a great job of giving us several different characters but presents them in such a way that you are drawn into each of their stories, giving us a glimpse of family structure, as well as the complexities of their daily life. While the main characters in the story are Rose and Hen, I found the secondary characters had rich stories of their own. The character of Nick, was compelling for me, plucked out of his English world to live among the amish had to be hard, and even though he had been with the community for years, he still longed for his English mother, although he was pretty good at hiding his feelings, Rose saw past his exterior and was the only friend he had.
    I felt like this book was a great beginning for the Rose Trilogy, and since there are many unanswered questions I am anxious to read the next book in the series titled "The Judgement" due out April 1st.

    I was provided a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Thorn

    Rose Kauffman is sure she will always be Amish, in fact she is so positive, she did not have a rumschpringe. She joined the church without having one. Will she regret doing that? She is positive that she will not regret it, she loves her life, and she loves being Amish. Rose is stretched a bit thin with all the things she has to do, taking care of her mother, and her regular chores. Plus working for Mr. Browning cooking and cleaning, time often is not a commodity that is plentiful for Rose, but she takes time to read, and takes time for her friend Nick.
    Nick is the bishop's adopted son, he has not joined the church, and seems rebellious.While he does seem unappreciative of the fact the bishop took him into his own family, Rose knows that he is really a good guy down deep. They spend alot of time together cleaning in the barn, working with the animals. They also like to go horseback riding together, but not everyone is seeing their friendship as a good thing.
    Hen, Rose's older sister left the community during her running around marrying an Englischer, but now she is looking back and missing her roots. She does not like the stuff her husband watches on tv, and lets little Mattie watch. However divorce is not something you hear about in Amish families, so when she and little Mattie shows up at her parent's home, they are worried. They push Hen and make sure that she knows her place is with her husband.

    A great story of friendship, regrets and life decisions, this is a great book. I know this will surprise alot of people, but this is the first Beverly Lewis book I have ever reviewed. I totally enjoyed the book and do look forward to book two of this triology which is due out in April. 344 pages US $14.99 5 stars.

    Thanks to Jim Hart at Bethany House, for providing this book for me to review!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Wonderful

    Suspenseful, can't wait to get to book II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the part where the bishop was contemplating cutting his son's ponytail off so it would be more in compliance with their ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Wonderful!!

    Great start!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    A Wonderful Series!!!

    This series is most definanitly one of my favorites! A easy read and verry romantic! It's perfect for all ages and it's clean (something hard to find these days). So read The Thorn and check out the rest of The Rose Trilagy series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly good

    I hadn't read any books about Amish before but I was recommended by a friend to read this series by Lewis. I am very glad she referred me to reading them! I can't put them down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    RECOMMEND

    Recommend this book, easy rading, nice story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Scourge to all of this clan

    Azulstar cannot post here anymore. He bids you to go to dracula. He is witing there.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Beverly Lewis does it again with this new series!

    Beverly Lewis does it again with this new series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Silversweet

    Im softheart in heartclan. (Hi heartstar. In my prophecy i was supposed to be Softflight but i love softheart

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Beverly Lewis is the best!

    I enjoyed this book. Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Wonderful amish storyline

    I love to read about the amish lifestyle, this is another excellent book by this author! I am halfway thru the next book in the series now!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Highly recommended, you've gotta check this book out.

    Another one of my favorites. Beverly Lewis has out done herself once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Great book

    It is a little slow at the beginning but once you keep reading it is worth it. Cant wait to finish reading the trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Wonderful

    Just wonderful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11