BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Thorn (Rose Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

Bethany Publishers sent me an advanced reading copy of this book to review. I decided to read it right away, since it was an advanced reading copy and all -- just seemed like the right thing to do. :)

The book is focused on two Amish sisters -- Rose Ann, who longs to...
Bethany Publishers sent me an advanced reading copy of this book to review. I decided to read it right away, since it was an advanced reading copy and all -- just seemed like the right thing to do. :)

The book is focused on two Amish sisters -- Rose Ann, who longs to be married and have a houseful of children of her own, and yet feels a duty to stay at home and take care of her mother, who had been involved in a terrible accident. As Rose Ann learns that it's okay to live her life, she finds herself torn between her best friend, Nick, and the man she feels she should love, Silas.

The second sister is Hen. She left the Amish community and married and Englischer. Now she feels that her life is missing something and has returned to her Amish roots, completely against her husband's wishes. Now she must decide between the Amish community she misses so dearly and her marriage. When she comes back home to visit, she begins to worry about Rose Ann and what life she will choose. She doesn't want her sister to make the mistake she did of leaving her heritage behind.

I actually really enjoyed this book. And of course, now I can't wait for Book 2! There is such a mix of English and Amish in this book that it really held my attention. As your reading this book, you will be torn between what you feel is best for each sister. I'm looking forward to reading this entire trilogy so that I can see what the resolution will be.

I highly recommend this book. If you are unsure of whether you will enjoy a book centered around the Amish community, this will be a great book for you to start with. It will be available for you to purchase on September 10th. Visit the Bethany House website for more information and to find out where you can purchase this book.

posted by lipto96 on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

ok but drawn out

the book is good but i dont want to have to pay for three books ti end one story

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    RP Information

    There will be two parts to this RP. The Inquisition Axis/Royal Family, and then there will be the Rose Society. They work against each other. The Inquisition Axis is the army for the king, and they work together to kill off Malfettos. They are the evil force. The Royal Family [ Exept the Princess, of course, ] is the head of the Inquisition Axis. The Rose society is led by Caterina until further notice, and the Inquisition Axis leader postition hasn't ben filled yetm unless there is a post above this stating otherwise. <p>


    Rules-<p>


    1- You MUST have good grammar. I'm sorry if you have some sort of dislexia something, but you can't join without atleast posting with quotes and punctuation. <br>
    Right- "Hello, my name is Catterina. What's yours?" She inquired softly, holding out her hand so that the girl could shake it.<br>
    Wrong- " hi im catterina who r u" she said<br>
    A few spelling mistakes are okay here and there, and maybe you don't have the best keyboard to type on, but whatever it is, you must atleast have quotes without spaces between the quotes and the words, decent spelling, and punctuation.<p>


    2- To become a Thorn, you must pass the test given by a superior member. No ifs, ands, or buts about it. <p>


    3- To be part of the Inquisition Axis, you must obey the King and Queen at all costs, and cohere to your duties as the King's army. The Inquisition leader is ALWAYS your leader, exept when over thrown by the king.<p>


    4- To be a Thorn, you must take the oath.<p>


    5- No spooning in public. Seriously? A kiss on the cheek or something is fine, but this isn't a romance RP.<p>


    6- You musn't use your abilities for anything other than what they are ment to be used for. Missions.<p>


    7- Embrace and Emelish your flaws. Your malfetto marks should be masked at all times to keep the obiousness of your alligence to the Rose society.<p>


    9- This is a Victorian Era RP. Atleast sorta the tine of Kings and Queen. Sorry, guys. No iPhones or Laptops for you. You can go pee in a pot, though.<p>


    10- You get one ability. Not, I can fly, and talk to birds. First off, nao. There will be no flying. Or invisibility, or super strength. This is not a marvel RP. This is a Young Elites RP. Some examples of powers are-<br>
    Pyrokenisis<br>
    Hydrokenisis<br>
    Telekenisis<br>
    Future Prediction could be one for a real YE, but it doesn't work in RP.<br>
    The ability to see in the dark<br>
    The ability to reform objects with ones mind<br>
    The abitity to sense energy<br>
    Bioelectricity minipulation<br>
    Ect.<p>


    11- You must have a Kenettran name. Kenetran names are Italian or French. If you want to be Beldish, [ Irish/sweedish, ] or Tamouran, [ Asian/Indian. . . Sorta a cream skinned Indian person. . . Tamouran people don't really live on earth, if you know what I mean,] Then you must talk to the leader of the society or a senior memeber.<p>


    12- Cllothing is an asset. Kenettran cloting is like european clothng, mostly od english, but more cors, and less 'colonial'. Corsetts and stiff silks. Sometimes people will wear Tamouran silks, which are dlowing clothes of indian or asian inspiration. Just don't walk in with a crop top and blue jeans, or a miniskirt and a hoodie or something. <p>


    Thanks for joining! I'm running out of characters, so the map of the RP will be posted in the next res. <p>


    Caterina


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Wonderful

    Suspenseful, can't wait to get to book II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    RECOMMEND

    Recommend this book, easy rading, nice story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Different

    This book was quite different then my usual readings, but I enjoyed it immensely and look forward to reading the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Thorn by Beverly Lewis

    Step back into a simpler time where electricity isn't present, cooking on a wood stove is the norm, quilting is a past time, and horses and buggies are the mode of transportation. The Thorn gives us a glimpse into the life of an Amish family and their community in Lancaster County.

    Rose Kauffman is the obedient daughter who stays at home to care for her ailing mother. She takes a part time job cooking meals and cleaning for a near-by widower. She befriends the bishop's son, who everyone else casts aside. She does her best to do all that is expected of her.

    Hen, Rose's older sister, struggles in her marriage to an outsider...one who shuns the Amish way of life. She visits home with her young daughter and adds new complications to the quiet life on the farm. What do do with her English husband? Did she make a mistake marrying outside the Amish community?

    Late night horse rides, hidden daughters, misplaced affections...this Amish community has it all. Pick up a copy of Beverly Lewis's The Thorn to find out if the sisters make the right choices and find what they are searching for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3