Customer Reviews for

The Thorn Birds

Average Rating 4.5
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Thorn Birds

This is my all time favorite book and movie. I have watched the movie so many times that I lost track. Everyone should start with the book first because it goes in to more detail.

posted by ambrosegirl60 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Thorn Birds

I don't get all the rave reviews. Although easy to read and moved along nicely, this book was ok, the characters are not interesting. Too much description with the land and church. I didn't find it very romantic. Easily forgettable.

posted by Jennlvs2read on January 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    The Thorn Birds

    This is my all time favorite book and movie. I have watched the movie so many times that I lost track. Everyone should start with the book first because it goes in to more detail.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    A Sweeping Saga!

    The Thorn Birds is just a really great novel! The characters and their lives draw you in and make you sad when the novel ends. I could tell from the first page that this would be an awesome read; I really enjoyed the author's writing. If you like saga-style novels that cover a large portion of the character's lives, I would also recommend: The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet, The Far Pavillions and Trade Wind by M.M. Kaye, the Clan of the Cave Bear (and sequels) by Jean M. Auel. I also enjoyed Colleen McCullough's other books, such as The House on the Strand and On,Off.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    A Total Hit

    This novel is a Pop Culture Classic and it easy to understand why. The characters are well-developed and become close to your heart, the plot is compelling and cumpulsively readable, and the historical facts about Australia are interesting. I loved it and would recommend it to all - the love story between Meggie and Ralph will always haunt me. I have to admit, once these characters grew older and the novel was taken over by the younger characters - I was ready for the novel to be done. Somehow, the author catches time in this novel and the sense of when generations fade and new ones take over - the bittersweetness of that. Please, read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This is one of my all time favorite books. I was extremely happy to find that it was available as and eBook,

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Thorn Birds

    I don't get all the rave reviews. Although easy to read and moved along nicely, this book was ok, the characters are not interesting. Too much description with the land and church. I didn't find it very romantic. Easily forgettable.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A favorite classic!

    This book has entered into my favorite books category! Colleen McCullough is a phenomenal author. I loved this book from beginning to end! It is written in an intelligent yet easy to read format. The story is tragic yet wonderful. Everything you could ask for in a novel is in this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Highly recommend this book.

    I have read this book before and loved it so much. I got the ebook version to read again. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Thumbs uP, one of the best!

    I absolutely love this book. It is one of those you can read over and over again. I have several times

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Highly Recomended

    This is a classic, wonderful & painful story of love, gentle sex with no details, One of my all time favorites

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    Great Story

    This book was so much better than the tv show.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating Story/Saga of Unfulfilled Deep Love

    A captivating story/saga of unfulfilled deep love through three generations of women. The saga is balanced on the love story between Meggie Cleary and Father Ralph de Bricassart, Father Bricassart's Love for Meggie is strong but his vows to the church and his professed love of God is stronger. Meggie must cope with her deep devoted love for him and the hope that one day he might commit himself to her completely. Their story forms the main theme of this powerful but difficult and unreconciled love. This theme is advanced and varied in a wonderful story that spans 55 years. Ms. McCullough's writing style was perfect in evoking images for the heart and the mind. She paints this wonderful story through many of the events of the the 20th Century and describes a unique way of life in the Australian Outback. This is my first book by Ms. McCullough and I plan to check her others works as soon as I can. I strongly recommend the Thorn Birds for all, especially for those who enjoy historical romances.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Disappointed

    I've heard about this book for years and know there was a mini series based on it so when I finally read it I was greatly disappointed. Maybe I was expecting more, but I didn't get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Classic Story of Love and Loss

    The saga of a family in the dry farmlands of Australia. I never grow tired of reading it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    The BEST!!!

    I read this book years ago. I enjoyed it more the second time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Amazing story!

    This is the best book I have ever read. Its a beautiful story of family, love, tragedy and finding one's self. It's addicting and entertaining. Every night I looked forward to curling up in my bed to read this...I may read it again someday...such a wonderful tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    A must read!

    I LOVED this book from beginning to end!!!! A lot of love and heartbreak and real human nature. Teaches us not to take anything for granted. Wonderful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So Much Better Than the Movie

    It isn't the most beautifully written book, but it is a great book and so much better than the movie. I watched the movie several years ago not even knowing it was a book and enjoyed it for what it was though Richard Chamberlain really annoyed me. It is unfortunate that I saw the movie before reading the book as several of the characters, including the main character of Father Ralph are totally miscast but their image and their voices overshadow their written selves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    Enthralling

    There's nothing sexier than a cute priest. This book is so awesome. The love story between Maggie and Father de Bricasart is pedophillic almost but you can't help but be touched.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    Great story. Sometimes feels to long, but picks up again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A must read!

    Would you like to read a bookabout the pain, triumph, family roots, forbidden love and heartbreakin life? The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough is a fantastic book containing all this and more. Meet Meggie Cleary, a young girl with strawberry blonde hair and grey eyes- she is a real charmer. Follow Meggie through life as she grows into a young woman, adult, and old woman. Father Ralph de Bricassart first meets Meggie when she arrives in Australia with her family. he takes an instant liking to the lonely girl. he takes her to the fair and teaches her how to ride horses. People start to get suspicious about their relationship as she enters adulthood. Fiona Cleary is mother to all the Cleary children. She is quiet, and hardly shows emotion. Read the book to find out the deep family secret involving Frank, Fioona, and Paddy. Luke O'niell meets meggie when she is a young woman. He has dreams of owning a large peice of land like the Drogheda. Most of this story takes place on the Drogheda, which is owned by Paddy's sister Mary. After Mary dies the land is supposed to be passed to the Cleary family. Although there are many characters in this book, most of the book focuses on Meggie, and her life. To keep it interesting, the author will occaisionslly skip from Meggies life, to her brothers fighting Nazi's in North Africa or to Father Ralph in Rome. In tho bool, Colleen McCullough uses plenty of Dialogue, and narration as well. She uses so much detial it is like watching a movie. However, this bool never really has a climax, it is more a series of events taking place in a lifetime.The dialect in this book is very interesting. the Cleary family is Irish , but htey live in Australia, so the have an Irish/Australian accent and dialect. If you like to read about other people and their lives, then The Thorn Birds is certianly the book for you. This book will keep you hooked through all 642 pages of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11