BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Thorn Queen (Dark Swan Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a fan

    Richelle has two wonderfully diverse booklines with aggressive, intelligent, and kickbutt women how can you go wrong. I had to read this book in one night. I knew I had to go to work the next morning but I was engrossed. If you love a new twist on the paranormal market pick up any of her books they are a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thorn Queen

    Thorn Queen

    This second installment was outstanding! In the beginning I was getting so annoyed with Eugenie's self-pity and self-absorbed attitude, I just wanted to smack her a good one. A few months have passed since Eugenie has become the Thorn Queen in Otherworld. Reality is settling in on her, that kingdom actually means a place with people in it. Someone has been kidnapping young girls from Eugenie's kingdom, banishing them to the human world and selling them into the sex trade business. Meanwhile, fire demons have been terrorizing villages in Thorn Land and thanks to Eugenie's turning her kingdom's climate into a desert, her people are starving and thirty, and a drought has settle upon the land. I like the way Eugenie turned things around, once she realized that her neglect was causing her people to suffer immensely. Taking responsibility for her people, Eugenie tries to be the queen they need her to be. All the while Dorian has been there for her and taking care of her affairs, even when she wasn't aware of it. Dorian turns out to be the best ally Eugenie and her kingdom have. The love triange with Kiyo and Dorian turned out to be one of the best decisions Eugenie made in the entire book. This decision though will have huge repercussions for the future of the worlds. This book was so engrossing with tons of actions, lots of magic and otherworldly creatures. I am so hooked and can't wait for the next book in the series Iron Crowned. I highly recommend this book and the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The second Dark Swan fantasy is a terrific tale

    Half-breed shaman Eugenie Markham was contented making a living sending home creatures who crossed over from the Otherworld. She never planned to cross over herself heeding her mentor stepfather's warning, but did so to rescue a child. To accomplish her quest, Eugenie killed the Thorn King (see STORM BORN) only to learn she is now the THORN QUEEN; a job she does not want as that will mean more time on Otherworld where every person with a Y Chromosome wants her.

    She has issues with the two males in her life though she is seeing Kiyo the spirit fox even as he is expecting to be a father soon with his former girlfriend while fae King Dorian has her libido soaring to heights she never imagined. Besides wanting two hunks Eugenie fears pregnancy as her firstborn is prophesized as the individual who will make the human race extinct. The newest monarch is most concerned with several young female fae vanishing; adding to her dismay is that no one even King Dorian seem the least bit troubled. She decides to investigate as Eugenie feels this is part of being a ruler. Her inquiry leads to life threatening danger from an adversary with a personal blood grudge and an affirmation that her preference is the mental comfort of the human realm she knows intimately.

    The second Dark Swan fantasy is a terrific tale as the audience sees the Otherworld through the eyes of newcomer Eugenie. The story line is fast-paced from the onset while the Thorn Queen struggles with her new responsibilities, her love life and an unknown foe using fae to force the heroine to act. Like the first book, this is a winner due to the realism brought to Otherworld by the half human-half fey heroine who is naive in this new world of hers as her earthly sophistication appears worthless in this realm.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awsomeness becomes portable!

    If this book is anything like the first one it is sure to be a hit. All the characters pop right out of the pages and nothing is superfluous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This series is fabulous! The first book is a little bit confusin

    This series is fabulous! The first book is a little bit confusing in getting a hang of the universe, but by the second book I was completely hooked. In Richelle Mead fashion, we are given a strong female character with a sharp tongue. It's funny, it's dark, it's fast-paced, it's action-packed, and hey, it's filled with some really hot sex scenes. If these are the sorts of qualities you are looking for in your fantasy novels, I definitely recommend adding these books to your shelf! 

    Side Note: Even though The Dark Swan Series is technically complete, the end of the series feels a bit unfinished. Richelle Mead is considering eventually returning to the series to write a fifth novel. I am cautioning a lack of closure, people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Really like this series

    Books two is just as good as book one! About to start book three!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Loved the series and this is one of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    A hit

    Enjoyed it and you will to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Deathwish

    His laugh. It breaks her. Tears come to her eyes. One cat who xould laugh at her. Not in meaniss but real laughter. She closed her eyes and sighed. She was in for a long ride. She jumped up and was soon next to him. Shyly fo oncein her life she was shy. Shyly he took one paw and put cobwebs in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Deathwish

    She finishes that paw then finishes the rest. She then unfomfortably shifts tying to think of what she would do next. Her tail flicked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Totally got sucked into this series!

    I'm a sci-fi geek at heart, love this type of book with magic, action & a bit if romance thrown in! Really enjoyed the first book, had to run out and. It #2&3 in the series, just finished 3 and had to buy #4! I see that this author wrote other series so now I'm going to have to read those too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Dark to Nerevar

    SORRY Thorn he's a stalker!*Picks him up an puts him in a cage* Cat Nerevar!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Good book

    Good book. I'm not an advent reader, but: this has kept my attention. BOUGHT 2 of her books. Story line very exciting/intering!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Thorn queen rules

    Glad she stop messing around withthat wimp kisune and found a man strong enough to kill for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Team Dorian.

    Just finished book two. Loving the series, and I'm totally rooting for Dorian. Can't seem to put these books down .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Wow

    I ate this whole series up fast amazing pure work of art hope theres more soon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    A must Read

    Definitely will keep you wanting more. Keeps you interested no dull points! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    FABULOUS BOOK!

    This is the second book in the Dark Swan Series and, in my opinion, better than the first book. I gave the first book 4 feathers, this one, I'm giving a full five. I actually cried in this book and I'm not one to do that. I LOVE Eugenie's character. The story is told in first person and while I know that bothers some, it doesn't bother me and in this case, it just made the story perfect. We learn things from Eugenie's point of view and she is one sharp cookie. She makes good decisions even when they turn out to be bad decisions. I love the men in Eugenie's life as well. Dorian and Kiyo are two excellent choices although I would bet most people are pulling for Dorian. I am. He's hot. In this book, Dorian avenges Eugenie and that made me love him more while Kiyo is not my favorite guy. There is some sex slavery/rape scenes that may be difficult for some to handle but I found them explained in such a way that my heart broke for Eugenie and the other girls that were involved. I wanted to reach through my book and smack the bad guy around and I was SO glad he was taken care of. If you couldn't tell, this book made me FEEL and I love when a book does that.

    Warning, I'm feeling a strong urge to run to the third book in this series right now even though I need to read some other books that I need to review, and I've read some reviews where reviewers are chomping at the bit to get to the next book. If you need to read something after you read this book, you may want to wait before you pick it up.

    What I disliked: I disliked the character Leith so much. Evil, baaaaaad man.

    What I liked: I liked feeling. I liked hearing Eugenie's thoughts. I liked everything about this book so very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Another great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME

    This book was awesome the entire time reading it i just couldn't wait until Dorian was in the picture. So when i read it again I only read the parts with Dorian in them. But really people you should pick this book up and read IT! The entire series is delicious; I love every word in the book. Richelle Mead is a truly talented writer everything she dose makes me smile :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11