Customer Reviews for

Thoroughbred #43: Fallen Star

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    Cindy is back

    So.. the dubai winner is back. Why pick on Christina when her Star was sick? I mean, what if champion almost died? She would act like a huge baby. Star is wonders last baby! Cindy must remember Wonder! And, if star would have died, all of the people who shed tears over wonder dying, cried for nothing. Well, I guess not nothing, because wonder still would have died. But died of having a foal that ends up DYING! So, what if, instead of that happening to star, if it happened to another horse( I mean, besides Champion) that Cindy had stolen emotionally from the owners? She wouldn't feel so high and mighty would she? Obviously, she would almost die herself, ' because she didn't ride horses just to win and start not caring for the horses, just winning'. Cindy needs to get her act together!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2005

    WOW!!!

    OMG! this is such a great book!! so are all the other thoroughbred books! this one is soooo great! cheers for fallen star!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    review

    this book was kind of dissapointing. i really dont like Star at all so Im kinda hoping he dies :/. Cindy is a freak now cuz she dosnt even visit Glory or Honor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    This book is definetly my Fav!

    This is the best book ever, I started reading it and couldn't put it down. It was such a good book! Keep writing Joanna your doing a great job!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    Fallen Star

    Well I liked this book a ton but the thing is why did Star have to get sick? And why in the world did Cindy not even look at Glory? As I recall she looks at Pride!!!! Glory was practically hers! I mean it was great to bring her back in the series and all but I thought #23 was really not like the other Cindy books and this one was like that one I thought. I wish she was like she was with Glory and Champion!! And whatever happened to Honor, Champion, Glory, Freedom, Limitless, Fleet Goddess, Mr. Wonderful, Princess, Glory's Joy, and all the others? I really hated the transition from 23 to 24...too incomplete. But I hope Star gets completly better and wins the Derby! And Image wins the Preakness and Belmont!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    What's Up With Cindy?

    O.k., this had to be the second sadest book in the Thoroughbred series, apart from #36, Without Wonder. I cried, because they lead you in one direction-Star isn't going to make it-and then they turn around and brighten your hopes. The end is the best part I think. But hello, what's up with Cindy. Everyone who has read most of the Thoroughbred series knows Cindy got off to a rough start, being an orphan and all, but hello, who was the one who saved and practically owned March to Glory, raced and won the Dubai World Cup on Wonder's Champion, and has been successfully racing Thorughbreds on the Belmont track and practically everywhere else for 12 years! When oyu have a torn rotator cuff, you can't exactly get back on a rambunctious Thoroughbred, and get back on the track, she endangered herself and everyone else around her. And then, she takes it out on everyone else, especially Christina, even when Star is fatally ill! She should get her act otgether and realize veryone else has problems, a lot worse then hers. She didn't even give Glory a second glance in the stallion barn! Cindy was and still is my least favorite character, she got a lot that she didn't deserve, like racing Champion at Dubai. That's just my opinion on Cindy, I don't like her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2001

    Fallen Star???

    This book was just not what i thought it would be. Wjat is with Cindy not even saying hi to March To Glory and they didnt even mention champion. Over all the book was great at the end where star was in deadly condition i cryed quit a few times but then i always do when a horse might die. The books have also got much better then they where when Christina was eventing (even thought they were interesting0. Hopeful they continue to get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2000

    OK Book

    I liked this book a lot, except for one thing. If Star was that sick, I don't think anything could save him. I mean come on, let's be a little realistic. None of Wonder's babies ever dies. Also, I think Cindy was being too much of a snob. March To Glory was basically her horse, and she doesn't even say hi to him? I would never do that to my horse, I love her too much. Other wise great book. Keep it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2000

    Great book but 1 problem.....

    I loved this book but my only problem was Cindy. When she was walking through the stallion barn sh didnt even seem to care that glory was there adn thats not right, and they didnt even mention Champion! I think they should have a book about one of glorys foals becasue glory just left once his racing days were over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2000

    Cool book

    Great book cause it shows real life--horses do get sick. and Chris managed to act like a real person instead of a little snob who has everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2000

    Pretty Good

    Fallen Star is a book that is starting to put the Thoroughbred books back on track. Although it's better than some of the previous books, they're still not as great as the first ones. In this book, Cindy comes home and, like all of the other characters that have been brought back, she is nothing like the Cindy that any of us readers have known. She doesn't care for the horses, and she is mean to Chris, Ashliegh, and every one else involved. Although it's good that she tries to overcome her troubles, she is still not the person that she used to be. Despite this, this book is far better than many in the past. Still, details, attitudes, etc. need to stay consistent throughout the books, unless the change is shown gradually. Despite this critisism, this book was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2000

    what a sad thing

    fallen star is a sad story but it shows determination in a girl and her emeny that becomes her friend. it shows the heart of a buetiful horse i fell in love with wonders star and i hope he survives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    Cindy comes again....

    It was different. Cindy came off as a very stuck up snob, but i never really liked her. Anyways, it is a good book. They talk about some of the good old days. But they dont show cindy seein sam again which i would have liked. But all in all i liked the book. I need to read it over again to deepen my perception so i know the book cover to cover and not skip a beat. By the way does any one have a website or a club on the series if so please email me. P.S. The dedication is to all TB fans which i though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2000

    TB'S ROCK

    i have read these books sence the 4th grade i love theme i own every singel one read theme all espeshily the Ash, Sam and Cindy ones

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    this is great!!!

    I agree with all of you, but wonder is the star of the whole series...just think about it though, if wonder wouldnt have been born, then there wouldnt be star. Wonder and her offspring are the stars of the books and why we keep reading them. I also cant wait for the new books to come out. I hope joanna keeps writing these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    Fallen Star

    I've been reading the TB books since 4th grade, and I still love 'em! Even if you aren't a racing fan, which I'm not, you should still give them a try! Anyways, I can't wait for this TB book to come out! I hope that Cindy's mode improves a lot (which I'm sure it will, being at Whitebrook and all) because otherwise it'd be a shame to 'loose' Cindy! She, for the most part, always came across as a talented and accomplished rider. I think my point is this: the TB books rock, and I have high hopes for all the ones to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2000

    These books are fantastic

    I love these books!!!! I hope that Star lives and that he can race again. I'm also very glad that Cindy is coming back, I really enjoyed her charecter. Like everyone else who has written reviews, I agree that they do have to give Wonder and her offsprings a break, this illness with Star is overdoing way too much. The story of them getting hurt and the threat of her offsprings being sold is getting a little old by now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2000

    not quite a review

    This isn't really a review, but did anyone else notice that in The Horse of Her Dreams, Legacy was supposed to be Wonder's last foal? hmmm so why did they breed her again to get Star? if you noticed this too, email me @ jenbug82@angelfire.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2000

    Looks good

    Well, I have to say they should lay off wonders offsring some but you know in real life horses do get hurt They couldnt just let every other horse get hurt but Wonder and her offspring. I mean If they didnt let them get hurt then it wouldnt be real. Oh ya their not Stupid authors they probably know more about horses then some of you do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2000

    Relax a Little

    I agree that not all Wonder's Offspring should get hurt, but you must be realistic. Horses especially racehorses do get hurt. The extensive work and traveling would be hard on anybody. Plus about Wonder dying, I was cryin, but i calculated the age and she was like 25/26. Not even the great Secretariat lasted that long. The authors knew they couldnt let her live on forever so I think they let her go as easy as possible with giving birth to Star who is by Mike's stallion, Jazzman. I do have one question for the authors. What happened to Wonder's other offspring. Like having a Super Edition on each of them including Legacy whom Christina gave away, and Honor Bright and Shining{ I know she isnt wonders offsping but still}, Pride, Champion{ though I thought his character was a little fantasy and overdone} Princess. I also think they should do Super Editions of what happened in the 10 years btween Cindys Honor and THe Horse of Her Dreams. This is just my opinion of course. Email me and we can talk about the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2