Customer Reviews for

Thoroughly Modern Millie [Original Broadway Cast Recording]

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Thoroughly Modern Millie Is Thoroughly Enjoyable

    The music is toe tapping from beginning to end. It takes you back to the time of the flappers and speakeasies. The vocals are tremendous and you are sure to be singing along from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic Style Modern Flair

    Loosely based off of the Julie Andrews movie, Thoroughly Modern Millie gives a good look at the Roaring 20s. The score is a well-written collection of songs that scream "oldstyle", and Sutton Foster carries it well, proving that she can be mellow and still belt with the best of them. The supporting cast is above average with no real weak spots. Overall, a wonderful romp that does what all classic musicals should do: provide a fun escape from the everyday. (PS- This CD is incredibly family friendly, unlike many Broadway shows as of late.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My absolut favorite!!!!! It has The "Broadway charm"

    I saw this oustanding musical Saturday at 2PM, May 25, 2002. Since then, I concluded that it is my all-time favorite Broadway show EVER! Its "Broadway charm," as I like to say captured my heart right as the "Overture" started. Tesori is brilliant at her work and I think that she has written a score that everybody can enjoy.The quirky cast along with the amazing Sutton Foster were cute and mde the show a blast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    Sutton Foster is amazing. I saw the show on opening night and she is my favorite actress. I listen to the cast album non-stop. I just LOVE Marc Kudish and Harriet Harris too! You really have to buy this, if you don't you are REALLY missing something!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sutton Foster is a Doll!

    After buying this cd on a whim, (which being the poor high school student I am was enough of a feat) I become enchanted with THOROUGHLY MODERN MILLIE. I have taped the performances on Broadway on the Plaza, Sutton Foster's recent performance on Regis and Kelly, and listened to the cd non-stop. Luckily for me, I got a chance to see this incredible show two weeks ago. Unfortunately, as I was sitting waiting for the curtain to rise, a little paper fell from my Playbill informing a certainly disappointed audience that Sutton Foster would not be performing. I was crushed, but the understudy was also delightful and I recommend this musical to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely incredible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    If you want to hear nothing but incredible singing and great, energetic music, buy this album ASAP!! The songs are incredible, especially "Gimme Gimme," sung by the incredibly talented, Tony-Award winning Sutton Foster. For that amtter every song with Milli in it is great. The only songs that are Ok are "Long As I'm here with you" and Mrs. Meers numbers. If you see the show, Mrs. Meers' number become very enjoyable when you understand the comedy in them. This album is worth buying just to hear Sutton Foster, but great Gavin Creel (Jimmy), Angela Christian (Miss Dorothy), and Marc Kudicsh (Trevor Graydon) are great too. The rest of the singers are really good, but they do not stand out as much a these. This album has some of the greates music ever written. This is a must buy!!!!!!!! Don't forget to see the show too, the show is even better!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible Talent

    This is the next best thing to actually being there. I saw the show in July and have listened to the CD ever since. Sutton Foster is the most dynamic actress I have seen in a long time. She is the energy of the show and you can hear it and feel it in the music. This is a must for any Broadway enthusiast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thoroughly Incredible!

    I bought this cd the day after if came out and listen to it all the time (every day since I saw the show last week, which, by the way, is the best i have ever seen!) It is probably my favorite soundtrack, filled with performers that you just can't go wrong with! Sutton Foster is absolutely amazing! Her talent goes beyond words. Harriet Harris, Marc Kudisch and Angela Christian are really great also! Nothing more to say but this is an INCREDIBLE cd, a MUST BUY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It will BLOW you AWAY!

    I have yet to see Thoroughly Modern Millie on Broadway, but I am anxiously awaiting the time! I got the TMM CD in June and have been listening to it every day since then! Sutton Foster is amazing! Her voice is so powerful and her vibratto is perfect! With Sutton and the rest, this is one cast album you shouldn't miss! I have to say though, I was a little disappointed in the video version. I was hoping they would have had more songs from the show in it. Which is why I think someone should make a re-make of Millie with SUTTON FOSTER! It would be amazing and I would buy it in a heartbeat! The 6 Tony's and 5 Drama Desk Awards prove that Thoroughly Modern Millie is this years BEST musical! And no matter what, I'll ALWAYS think it's the best! Boh-Doh-Dee-Oh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best of the Best!

    This CD is it! It's funny, jazzy, energetic...it's perfect! It features a lovely overture, the creamy smooth sounds of Gavin Creel,the hilariously operectic Marc Kudisch, the powerful Sheryl Lee Ralph, a few charming and comical songs sung respectively by Angela Christian and Harriet Harris, and the awsome Sutton Foster. The highlights are "The Speed Test," "Forget About the Boy" and "Gimme Gimme." If you don't have this CD you are depriving yourself of an unhappy life. bottom line: buy it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MILLIE is thorougly modern BRILLIANCE!

    Okay, the show is amazing. The vocals by all the cast members are clear and jump right off the cd. Sutton Foster is beyond amazing...she IS Millie! No questions asked. The music is fun and fresh and has everything that a true Broadway show should have: glamour, glitz, belting, and of course a star like Foster to carry the show. This cd shows what true Broadway magic is made of. Get it now and you won't regret it. I promise you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best CDs I have ever purchased!

    I am not into big band and jazzy music. Even so, I found the CD for Thoroughly Modern Millie to be one of the best listening experiences. Some of the songs, such as ''Not For the Life of Me'' and ''Thoroughly Modern Millie'' just wanna make you get up and dance. Sutton Foster has also shown off all of her amazing vocal talent in ''Gimme Gimme.'' ''The Speed Test'' was also a very humorous song to listen to, as I enjoyed and was amazed at how fast Marc Kudisch (Trevor Graydon) could sing! All in all, I give this CD a 5 star rating. I recommend picking up a few for other people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This CD is absolutly wonderful. I adore it! Sutton Foster is INCREDIBLE! The whole cast is great, but she is truly awesome. She deserves that Tony hands down. Everyone should buy this CD, it is simply delightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SIMPLY AMAZING!!!

    I just saw the show on a Friday night and then watched them win the Tony's on Sunday night. I cannot wait for the release of this INCREDIBLE cd starring Sutton Foster. Her voice soars above the orchestra and her personality on the stage is a magnet. This cd is a must have for all music theatre fans, especially if you love the sounds of the 20's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MAGNIFICANT Modern Millie

    I must say this show is incredible. I was able to see this Broadway spectacular in May and have been counting down the days until the soundtrack release date! Sutton Foster was well deserved of the Best Actress Tony; as were the many other Tonys' for Thoroughly Modern Millie. The music never lets you down. It is a blast back to flapper days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT MUSICAL!!!!!

    I saw this show on Broadway and let me tell you it is nothing short of amazing. The entire cast is amazing. Sutton Foster is soo great. She is an incredible actress, singer, and danser. I had the great pleasure of meeting her briefly after a show and she very kind to everybody and was so sweet. The show is so great and I have already ordered this cd because this is the best musical out there!! Buy this cd because you won't regret it at all!!!! This show has gotten so many awards and great reviews..you just cant go wrong by buying this cd!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    As Good As It Gets!!!

    My first taste of Thoroughly Modern Millie was the cast's appearance on the Today Show and it got me totally addicted! I bought the cast recording the day it was released and can honestly say that it is well worth the money! This is an amazing show! I saw it about two weeks ago and am still coming off of the high it gave me! Sutton Foster is absolutely incredible and so is the rest of the cast. You definitely won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Is a Cast Album Not To Be Missed!!!

    Sutton Foster, who by now should be Broadway's newest and biggest star, is worth the price of the CD by herself. But when you add Marc Kudisch and the rest of the cast, it is a jewel. This is a recording you will enjoy many, many times over. It will always leave you in a good mood! I have about a third of the songs from the show. Can't wait to get the rest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1