Customer Reviews for

Those Across the River

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

More than just a horror novel

Set in the early 1900's, an unwed couple from Chicago arrive in a small Georgia town. The kind of town where the Sheriff still rides a horse & everyone knows everyone else. The couple both have separate pasts & this small town is to be the beginning of their new lives. ...
Set in the early 1900's, an unwed couple from Chicago arrive in a small Georgia town. The kind of town where the Sheriff still rides a horse & everyone knows everyone else. The couple both have separate pasts & this small town is to be the beginning of their new lives. The town seems perfect at first, moved into Frank's dead aunt's house, they make friends, attend town hall meetings, and socials. Dora is the new school teacher & Frank intends to write a book about his family's past in a plantation nestled in the woods across the river. Nobody goes across the river though. And soon Frank & Dora learn there is a reason why. A reason that is connected to Frank's family and it's been waiting for him. Those Across The River will take you to a place long ago. You will get to know the majority of the people that live in town, and begin to feel like you are living there with them. The opening passage of the book is a hint to what is to come & you read eagerly, waiting for the moment when it will be revealed. When the horror begins, you are left on the edge of your seat as the entire town is thrown into disturbing chaos. I read this book in 3 days. I literally could not put it down. The characters, the town, and the history all bring this book to life. This isn't your typical blood & gore horror. This is intelligent, suspenseful, thrilling, emotional & quite simply, horror at its very best. An amazing first novel from the author!

posted by JerseyAngel on August 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Unexpected Story line

Good start about an author writing a book about a Civil War General who owned a plantation run by slaves. But the actual story line delves into science fiction and possession by werewolves. Keeps your interest until the end.

posted by AnnVR on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent debut novel!

    This book was...well...amazing! I am so glad I was chosen by Net Galley to read this before it publishes on 9/6/2011. Honestly, when I first started reading it I thought oh how am I going to get through this one? I almost...almost...gave up on it after the first few chapters and here's why. I did not know it took place in the early 1900's for one so that kind of through me for a loop, second I took the description to mean that the book was centered around Frank writing this book and the troubled, evil family members he had had, third it jumped around a bit in the beginning and wasn't making sense to me. I am go glad I stuck with it because everything in the beginning came together as the story progressed. Yes, Frank has the intention of writing a book about the history of his family and the land they lived on but it is so much more than that. It is en-depth and descriptive. I felt like I was in that same time era, could see what the characters saw, and smell what they smelled. The characters, for the most part, are likable and people you would be friends with if you could go back in time. The town members come together to fight an evil that has been residing in the woods and across the river for many many years but only raises it's ugly head when Frank and his soon to be wife Dora move from Chicago to Whitbrow, as Frank is left a house in Whitbrow by the death of an aunt he didn't know. As adults and children alike are found dead, the men are determined to find the who or what is responsible. Though out this book I was on the edge of my seat, had a death grip on my nook, flinched, cringed, felt horror, and felt sympathy as things start coming together. This debut novel by Christopher Buehlman is a must read and I look forward to more from him in the future.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Scary

    Not a good idea to read late into the night. It said horror book and it was a nightmare. Very well told nightmare.
    Frank and Eudora moved into a house in Whitbrow that his aunt had left him. She also wrote a letter to sell the house dont ever go their.
    Frank was a collage professor and had an affair with a student Eudora who was married to another professor.
    Frank lost his job and Eudora just got her license to teach and had a hard time in 30's to get a job.
    So Eudora got offered a teaching job in Whitbrow and Frank decided to write a book about an ancestor that owned a plantation across their that he was a slave owner and killed and torched slaves. His slaves ended up killing him. He also was a general in the civil war.
    The town had a weird habit twice a month they met after church they called it the chase. They would get two pigs put garlands of flowers on them and ferry them across the river and chase them into the woods. Then take a collection plate for the farmer whose turn to donate the pigs. The town had been doing it for decades.
    Times were tough all around and they voted and debated if they should quit it now or not and voted to end it.
    Then something had attacked and killed a boy then ate him. Then they tracked his killer with dogs to the woods to a black man and they hanged him.
    Then all the dogs that had tracked where killed.
    Then one of the Aldermans that voted to end the chase died.
    Somebody had dug up all the dead and put them in the school house in the chairs. Some where the freshly dead but others where just bones. Written on the chalkboard was SEND THE PIGS.
    Things started getting worse and worser. I can't say I enjoyed the book, but I had to keep reading to find out what was really going on. I prefer lighter books. So if you like to be scared this book should do the trick. I was given this ebook in exchange for honest review.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Highly Recommend this Southern Gothic Lit

    Buehlman has crafted a fine piece of Southern Gothic/Horror literature. I enjoyed the way the pacing of the first part of the novel set up the action for the latter half. Had the right amount of horror/spooky factor along with the day-to day routine of a normal small town, but this is no normal town. The historical aspects were indicitive of how things were in the Deep South during this particular time in history, and were captured in this novel very well. The characters and setting were accurate and fully fleshed out, as well. You will experience the whole of it right along with Frank Nichols. I was glad to have read this novel in October, right around Halloween.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Awesome read

    Wish I had more time in a day to read. This was a book that I had trouble putting down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Good Read.

    Dark and creepy. Remniscent of Shirley Jackson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    Good ghost story read. Detail and suspense writing style start to flow very well once you get a few pages in. I felt fear, anger, revenge and sorrow right along with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Nice writing style

    A creepy little book. I enjoyed reading the descriptions and the flow of the story was good. If you like southern fiction and a dash of supernatural, you might really enjoy this scary tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    DO NOT READ THIS WHEN YOU ARE ALONE!

    A well told nightmare to all of us who underestimated the book. This one gave me the longest creeps ever! It made the hair of my neck stand up with each deliberating prolonging of the moment. Buy at your own risk, but nevertheless a very worth it book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Fun Book

    Highly recommend the book, it was a fun read. I appreciated how the author, Christopher Buehlman was able to combine genres of werewolves in London, the Deliverance and zombies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Erotic and chilling

    Great read-I was hooked from the first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly recommended horror novel!

    "Those Across the River" is a masterfully written debut novel from Christopher Buehlman. It follows Frank Nichols and his wife Eudora as they move to rural Georgia to inherit a house from his aunt. Frank plans to write a book about the history of his family, their plantation, and the terrible events that happened there. But what first appears to be a sleepy little town soon turns into a fight for survival against something they have never imagined. Buehlman's novel transports the reader back in time to the rural South with his powerful descriptions and high quality of writing. Once the action starts, about halfway through the book, it doesn't let up until the very last sentence. This is a wonderful debut filled with suspense, horror, action, and adventure. The reader expects a story about the horrors of war or perhaps a ghost story, but what they end up receiving is wholly unexpected and will leave them thinking and talking about the novel long after they have finished. Disclosure: I received my copy of this book free from Library Thing, but this had no effect on my review or opinion of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2