Customer Reviews for

Those Across the River

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

More than just a horror novel

Set in the early 1900's, an unwed couple from Chicago arrive in a small Georgia town. The kind of town where the Sheriff still rides a horse & everyone knows everyone else. The couple both have separate pasts & this small town is to be the beginning of their new lives. ...
Set in the early 1900's, an unwed couple from Chicago arrive in a small Georgia town. The kind of town where the Sheriff still rides a horse & everyone knows everyone else. The couple both have separate pasts & this small town is to be the beginning of their new lives. The town seems perfect at first, moved into Frank's dead aunt's house, they make friends, attend town hall meetings, and socials. Dora is the new school teacher & Frank intends to write a book about his family's past in a plantation nestled in the woods across the river. Nobody goes across the river though. And soon Frank & Dora learn there is a reason why. A reason that is connected to Frank's family and it's been waiting for him. Those Across The River will take you to a place long ago. You will get to know the majority of the people that live in town, and begin to feel like you are living there with them. The opening passage of the book is a hint to what is to come & you read eagerly, waiting for the moment when it will be revealed. When the horror begins, you are left on the edge of your seat as the entire town is thrown into disturbing chaos. I read this book in 3 days. I literally could not put it down. The characters, the town, and the history all bring this book to life. This isn't your typical blood & gore horror. This is intelligent, suspenseful, thrilling, emotional & quite simply, horror at its very best. An amazing first novel from the author!

posted by JerseyAngel on August 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Unexpected Story line

Good start about an author writing a book about a Civil War General who owned a plantation run by slaves. But the actual story line delves into science fiction and possession by werewolves. Keeps your interest until the end.

posted by AnnVR on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More than just a horror novel

    Set in the early 1900's, an unwed couple from Chicago arrive in a small Georgia town. The kind of town where the Sheriff still rides a horse & everyone knows everyone else. The couple both have separate pasts & this small town is to be the beginning of their new lives. The town seems perfect at first, moved into Frank's dead aunt's house, they make friends, attend town hall meetings, and socials. Dora is the new school teacher & Frank intends to write a book about his family's past in a plantation nestled in the woods across the river. Nobody goes across the river though. And soon Frank & Dora learn there is a reason why. A reason that is connected to Frank's family and it's been waiting for him. Those Across The River will take you to a place long ago. You will get to know the majority of the people that live in town, and begin to feel like you are living there with them. The opening passage of the book is a hint to what is to come & you read eagerly, waiting for the moment when it will be revealed. When the horror begins, you are left on the edge of your seat as the entire town is thrown into disturbing chaos. I read this book in 3 days. I literally could not put it down. The characters, the town, and the history all bring this book to life. This isn't your typical blood & gore horror. This is intelligent, suspenseful, thrilling, emotional & quite simply, horror at its very best. An amazing first novel from the author!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Those Across the River

    Christopher Buehlman's masterful first novel is a moody and truly frightening journey into the deep south of the 1930's. Evoking Faulkner and Eudora Welty with his well hewn prose, he crafts a tale both moody and horrific. Frank Nichols is a philandering professor, escaping the failure of his academic career by moving from the north with his lover to an inherited ancestral home in the very isolated town of Whitbrow, Georgia. Frank inherited this house but was told by his dying aunt to NOT move there, just to sell it and to stay up north and enjoy the proceeds of the sale.

    Moving to Whitbrow was not a good idea for Frank, as he would discover to his misery. The results of his decision take some time to come to fruition, but in the end, they are disastrous for him and those he cares for. Buehlman takes his time building up to the grand reveal of just exactly why Frank should not have come home to Whitbrow, but when he does get there, it is very frightening. I was reading this late at night, alone, and had to put the book down and resume in the daytime.

    Well written, atmospheric and frightening, this book is all the more astonishing for being a first novel. The prose is assured and seems carefully chosen to evoke the mood and speech of the era and the location.Speaking as a southerner, this is very much appreciated.

    A terrific first novel. I can't wait until his second one arrives.

    JTB says check it out!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Clever, creepy, intense... You must read this!

    A wild ride through the rural south in the 1930's with all the local color and horror that that can entail, and then it just gets really good. I loved the poetic quality of the first part of the book and was completely surprised by the end. I loved this book and loan to all my friends. Read it!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exciting horror thriller

    Former University of Michigan professor Frank Nichols accompanied by his almost wife Eudora travels from Chicago to Whitbrow, Georgia where he inherited a yellow house from an Aunt Dottie McComb whom he never knew existed. Dora dubs the place The Canary House. Frank plans to write the definitive historical about his family's Savoyard Plantation to include the atrocities that occurred there while Dora dislikes the idea of bringing literarily life to his late malevolent great grandfather.

    Frank and Dora find they enjoy the quiet friendliness of the townsfolk. Then the trouble begins as it has in past generations. Something evil is killing people. Frank and other locals vow to find out who or what and end the reign of terror that has waited dormant at Savoyard Plantation for Frank to arrive to pay a family blood debt.

    This is an exciting horror thriller that starts slow and meanders a bit as the local area is established. Once the rural Georgia background, which will remind readers of James Dickey's Deliverance even with tea socials, is set, the action-packed story line accelerates as the evil comes to collect. Frank holds the plot together as the prime focus of the dreaded malevolence.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    You will not be sorry you bought this book

    Some people hear "horror genre" and think "I'll pass" (that's usually me). This is no gratuitous horror story. Yes, it will scare the bejeeziz out of you. But the depth of historical detail, brilliant imagery, crisp dialogue, well-crafted characters and rhythm like a Native American drum will absolutely entrance you on your walk into hell. Hope it's Buehlman's first of many.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Great book

    Amazing first book from a talented author. Good characterization and story. Chris Buehlman will be a famous one day soon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    AWESOME READ!

    I read this book in a couple days while camping with my family.
    I hated having to put it down to do family activities. It is a page-turner and held my interest throughout the whole book......

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Scary and Creepy!

    I don't know what has gotten to me to read this at night, maybe I was kinda underestimating the book and tried to scoff at the description that it was a horror kind of book. Lesson learned the hard way, I was not able to go to the kitchen because of this. What a way to spin a tale.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Don't Turn off the Lights

    An amazingly well-written and thought provoking piece of dark fiction.

    Frank Nichols, a disgraced academic and his soon-to-be-wife Eudora inherit a home in the deep south. Despite the warning to never set foot on the property, the two travel to make a fresh start of their lives in the quaint little town of Whitbrow, Georgia.

    ...and the horror begins.

    Buehlman artfully constructs a stairwell of visionary prose straight down into the darkest parts of the imagination and feeds the reader just enough to keep them at the edge of panic through the very end.

    This is a must read for any fan of the genre, but also opens the doors for those with a varying palate.

    The gifted Christopher Buehlman has given me something that I haven't had in a very long time...a book that made me think twice about turning off the lights.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Bold and handsomely descriptive.

    Mr. Buehlman places you right in the middle of 1935. His scenes come to life in your imagination as you turn each page. I love how he set the story up slowly and you get to know the characters in depth and their surroundings. Little innuendos placed throughout the story kept me gripping the book for an entire weekend of suspense.
    Congrats Christopher Buehlman, you have created a masterpiece.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    This. Book. Is. Awesome!

    I highly recommend this book to anyone (well, not small children). And perhaps not people with a delicate heart or prudish mind. But in general, this is an incredibly engaging, creepy as all hell, fast moving, super charactered, rip-roaring page burner. I'm actually going to read it again, soon. And probably a third time, because I want to make sure I don't miss anything. It's that good. Seriously, buy this book. I am buying like 15 copies and giving them out as Christmas gifts.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Buy this - instant literary classic horror

    A terrific, fun read with so much gorgeous detail in characters and surroundings that you are completely immersed in the story. This is a true classic chiller of a horror story, beautifully researched, and I curled up with it for hours, eager to turn the next page. Any fans of the masters of horror will enjoy this book and I applaud the author for keeping me entertained until the very last gripping scene.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Draws you in like no other

    I loved this book strait away! The images were so clear and the story was amazing - its been ages sense I couldn't put a book down then wished it would never end......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Love.

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Great read

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    Incredibly disturbing, but in a delicious sort of way! Fantastic

    Incredibly disturbing, but in a delicious sort of way! Fantastic horror novel set in my favorite time period of early 1900's. One thing about this book that I liked the most was that the whole story line MOVED. At no point were there any lulls to the story or in characters. The character development was superb throughout the entirety of this tale of shear horror and terror. I couldn't put it down! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Excellent read

    What a great story! Nice plot, imagery, and well-written. I loved how the story sucked the reader right in. I liked the ending and it tied everything together...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this book! Very entertaining! I didn't want to put it down, kept me interested the entire time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Read it!!!

    I bought this on a whim and i am so glad i did. Excellent book and writing. I loved the lush setting and all of the colorful characters. I was left feeling slightly haunted at the end (in a good way). Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Build Up to a Wicked Story

    Starting this book I knew there was to be something wrong with ¿Those Across the River¿ but was pleased that I didn¿t know what was wrong. The story was great and I felt transported back in time to a little rural town that was separated from most of society. The horror portion of the story took awhile to come into play, but the build up was not only necessary, but entertaining. This is one of the few times that putting off the main part of the story worked well in so many ways. I loved hearing more about the town and those living in the area. I¿m not a big history buff and even the portions that talk about the main character¿s family history was interesting. Buehlman has got a talent with telling a well rounded and creepy story.

    Starting this book I knew there was to be something wrong with ¿Those Across the River¿ but was pleased that I didn¿t know what was wrong. The story was great and I felt transported back in time to a little rural town that was separated from most of society. The horror portion of the story took awhile to come into play, but the build up was not only necessary, but entertaining. This is one of the few times that putting off the main part of the story worked well in so many ways. I loved hearing more about the town and those living in the area. I¿m not a big history buff and even the portions that talk about the main character¿s family history was interesting. Buehlman has got a talent with telling a well rounded and creepy story.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2