Customer Reviews for

Those Guys Have All the Fun: Inside the World of ESPN

Average Rating 4
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Read for any ESPN fan

This book kept me interested from start to finish. The insights into the personalities involved through the years make for great subject matter.

posted by MagnusVegas on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Blah

I didn't enjoy this enough to even finish it. I didn't like how things jumped around so much and I guess I just wasn't super interested in the topic once I got started.

posted by FunComesFirst on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Kimberly

    Kk.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Blah

    I didn't enjoy this enough to even finish it. I didn't like how things jumped around so much and I guess I just wasn't super interested in the topic once I got started.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Great behind the scenes book!

    Really enjoyed the pacing, details and writing style in the book. Lots of good background & build up. The history now makes more sense having read this book. You get a LOT of book for your money. Took me awhile to finish but throughly enjoyed it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    A Decent Read

    As a huge sports fan and an avid watcher of ESPN, I was really excited to read this book. It is a very in-depth look at the early years of the company and its rise to become the empire it is today. I was really hoping for more candid interviews and behind the scenes stories from the on-air talent and athletes, but if you are a sports fan this one is probably worth a look.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good Read

    Slow at times but does a great job showing how ESPN has turned into the power it is today

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Excellent

    What a great read. A must buy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Interesting read for any sports fan

    This oral history of The Worldwide Leader in Sports blends interviews with a countless number of sports personnel - bith inside and outside of the company - plus athletes, celebrities and anyone else affiliated with the network. Overall, the authors pulled off a very difficult task, namely blending the oral history, interviews, etc. with very limited editorial commentary along the way. This, however, did create several periods of awkward transitions between topics. Overall, a very interesting look into ESPN as a company, even if the reader leaves less impressed with the organization than before picking up the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    If You Like Sports and ESPN...

    This is a very good read if you are a sports fan! There are allot of antecdotes that I was completely unaware of in regards to many of the personalities that I watched over the years on ESPN. There are many stories behind the events that we watched unfold on screen, such as the death of Tom Mees and the Rush Limbaugh debacle. Sports fans will not be disappointed, but this is probably not the best book for anyone who does not enjoy sports.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Read for any ESPN fan

    This book kept me interested from start to finish. The insights into the personalities involved through the years make for great subject matter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Fantastic read

    A little long but incredibly interesting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    3 out of 5 stars

    Not much that hasn't already been written was revealed in this book.Olberman is a jerk, Berman is an egomaniac, and Tirico has a penchant for interns.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Excellent story!

    Very good read - reminded me of a lot of the hours I watched ESPN!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    No bueno

    Not a big fan of sample got boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Ryan to allison

    Come to have fun res six and we can have a threesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Lyric to ryland

    I do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Good book

    Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Dont like this book..

    Its ok but i dont like it very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    I am here alyssa

    I have been looking everywhere!! I wanna help with the whole saving katelyn thing. Please?~Sofie,Daughter of Poseidon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    To Sophie

    Sophie, u here? - Alyssa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12