Customer Reviews for

Those Who Hunt the Night

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    A must read vampire novel

    This is a vampire novel for those who don't have a lot of patience for the toothless, soft vampires that inhabit so many of the current horde of fantasy and romance novels. In Hambly's world vampires are dangerous, frequently cruel, cautious, and knowing about them usually means there will be a very short life ahead of you. The atmosphere is excellent, the mystery engaging and James and Lydia are very sharp, even modern, without being impossible in their own time. I read and reread this book back when it was first printed, and the poor paperback has fallen apart. I'm very glad to see this in print.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    One of my all time favorite books!

    This is not your run of the mill vampire tale! When a centuries old London vampire enlists the aide of a mortal university professor there is no way you'll anticipate the twists and turns of this story. The characters are interesting and deep, giving the reader an insight into their lives and minds. You won't be able to put this one down.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Still very good

    I first read this when it was published 20 some years ago and I still could not put it down now with re-reading. I am so happy Barbara Hambly's books have been put in ebook form. Her books are too good to let fade away.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    The Best Hambly Ever

    This reads as a mystery, keeping you turning the pages long after it's time you went to sleep. The author manages to put you inside the world of vampires and you come out changed, just like the characters in the book. I Loved This Book and the sequel, Traveling With The Dead. Keep them comming!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    Incredible! Give me more!

    I am a huge fan of this book and Travelling with the Dead. They are wonderful, just fabulous. I've been waiting YEARS for another sequel, but I fear Hambly has moved on with her commercially successful, politically correct, Benjamin January series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2002

    MUST READ for Vampire Fans!

    I bought this book on the recommendation of a store clerk. Wow it is wonderful, I bought the companion book Traveling with The Dead - If you like Vampire books you will LOVE these. I have since reread them twice.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    K L Mellott

    Great read. Worth your time & money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Damien

    Runs in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Neon

    Luck-Eyyy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Zac

    Your not at all as active as you used to be. What would the babys rper think......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Max

    Sits on the floor and draws a picture of her family

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Sam

    ??

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Perfect

    I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A vampire novel that doesn't involve a bunch of silly love inter

    A vampire novel that doesn't involve a bunch of silly love interests. A murder mystery set in 1907 England, an ancient vampire hires a human to find out who's killing the vampires of London. Protagonists that make mistakes and almost lose their lives for it. You get the feeling that they are actually in danger, it not being just a set up. I read this book years ago, back in high school, when it first came out. Having read it again, I liked it just as much this time. I have this in both paperback and eBook. I'm looking forward to the next in the series.

    The eBook was formatted well, with only a couple of spelling errors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Suspenseful and entertaining

    The author is great at creating a mood of suspense, tension, fear, love. She's my new favorite author. The language is clean. There's no explicit sex. If this book was made into a movie, I don't think I would want to watch it alone, if it's done as well as this book. I enjoyed this book a lot, and followed it with #2 in the vampire series, which I liked even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Good solid read

    Good period story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Top notch vampire book

    Very well written and historically convincing, awesome depiction of vsmpires

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    highly recommend

    It's a very interesting read with many twists and turns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Boring

    What a dry read. I could not get past page fifty.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Good news 4 u

    "For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son; that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life" - John 3:16 ††† JESUS LOVES YOU

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3