Customer Reviews for

Though Not Dead (Kate Shugak Series #18)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A worthwhile read.

"Though Not Dead" is a well-plotted suspense with interesting three-dimensional characters with a bit of fascinating Alaskan historical background. Real, believable, down-to-earth people with great heart make up the character types. They portray great bonds between peop...
"Though Not Dead" is a well-plotted suspense with interesting three-dimensional characters with a bit of fascinating Alaskan historical background. Real, believable, down-to-earth people with great heart make up the character types. They portray great bonds between people as well as great bonds between people and their animals, such as "Mutt", Kate's dog / wolf. Old Sam's death provided the mysteries to be searched out and the search gave Kate much more knowledge of Old Sam than she would have gathered otherwise. A worthwhile read.

posted by GEORGIAMOON on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very good story, but it is the worse editied book I have read in years.

I own and have enjoyed the entire Kate Shugah series. I purchased "Though Not Dead" as soon as my local B&N store put it on their shelves and read it immediately. I am sorry to say it was the worst edited book I can remeber reading and I read over 120 novels a year. The...
I own and have enjoyed the entire Kate Shugah series. I purchased "Though Not Dead" as soon as my local B&N store put it on their shelves and read it immediately. I am sorry to say it was the worst edited book I can remeber reading and I read over 120 novels a year. The grammar is so poor and the references to the wrong characters occur so often that it is very discerning and takes away from the story. Dana will need to get a new editor or publisher or maybe both before I will purchase another one of her books.

posted by RayShs on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A worthwhile read.

    "Though Not Dead" is a well-plotted suspense with interesting three-dimensional characters with a bit of fascinating Alaskan historical background. Real, believable, down-to-earth people with great heart make up the character types. They portray great bonds between people as well as great bonds between people and their animals, such as "Mutt", Kate's dog / wolf. Old Sam's death provided the mysteries to be searched out and the search gave Kate much more knowledge of Old Sam than she would have gathered otherwise. A worthwhile read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great Alaskan mystery

    In Alaska octogenarian Samuel "Old Sam" Dementieff dies. His friends like his niece and one time ward private detective Kate Shugak assumed "Old Sam" would live forever. Kate still believes her beloved foster father will live forever in hearts likes hers.

    His death also ignites a deadly treasure hunt frenzy. Just a few years before Sam was born a flu epidemic devastated Alaska and much of the world in 1918. Years later, Sam was part of a party who found the state's biggest gold mine, the Suulutaq which produced a legendary gold nugget that everyone seems to want to own and some are willing to kill to possess it. However, gold fever is not the only value, the survivors want with Sam's demise. From when Sam met Dashiell Hammett, rumors spread that the writer left behind in the Aleutians an unpublished manuscript. Finally he also served in WWII as part of the Army's Castner's Cutthroats unit while a shocked Kate learns of his many trysts. All these major events in the late Sam's life converge with a rash of lethal crimes as Kate wonders what her cherished Old Sam meant in his will to find his father.

    This is a great Alaskan mystery that fans of the Shugak saga (see A Night Too Dark) will thoroughly enjoy. The story line is fast-paced even when the plot goes back in time to key moments in Old Sam's life that cleverly parallel major events in twentieth century Alaska. The crime frenzy makes for a fine whodunit, but the interweaving of the past makes for a great novel that readers will appreciate.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    HIghly recommended

    Love this series of books! Ms. Stabenow does an excellent job of drawing you into the history of Alaska & weaving a good mystery. There is always something new around the corner! Be sure to start at the beginning of the series, so you can bond with all the characters!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Fantastic!

    I truly love this series! I'm gonna miss Old Sam, though! I thought this was a great book, and with each new book in the series, Ms. Stabenow's love for her home state comes through with vivid clarity. My favorite way to spend an evening is curled up with another mystery staring Kate and Mutt!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Great

    Love all the characters. Love learning about Alaska.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Bone

    Result four then.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Flamewind

    (Alright)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    read this whole series

    have read te whole series loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    My favorite. Author - Always a good read!

    I have read all of Dana Stabenow's books at least twice!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2