BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Thousand Splendid Suns: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 1495 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1108)

4 Star

(258)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

A Thousand Splendid Suns

This book is equally as good, and as haunting, as Kite Runner. This time the story is about two Afghani women. Life in Afghanistan is wretched enough, but to be a Muslim woman in Afghanistan can be lethal, especially after the Taliban come to power. This book is beautif...
This book is equally as good, and as haunting, as Kite Runner. This time the story is about two Afghani women. Life in Afghanistan is wretched enough, but to be a Muslim woman in Afghanistan can be lethal, especially after the Taliban come to power. This book is beautifully written and at times difficult to read, but it's also difficult to put down. Mariam and Laila are wonderfully-drawn characters that will stay with me forever. They made me know just how lucky I am to be an American woman, and how unfortunate life can be for Muslim women in Muslim countries. This book will break your heart, but it will also put it back together again. Highly recommended.

posted by 1Katherine1 on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

boring

I am 200 pages through and am finally putting this one down. I loved The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns received great reviews on this site; so, I kept plowing through it expecting it to get better and it never did. I have never written a book review before ...
I am 200 pages through and am finally putting this one down. I loved The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns received great reviews on this site; so, I kept plowing through it expecting it to get better and it never did. I have never written a book review before even though I have been a reader for 15+ years. I feel like the book has been stalled for some time in the same little house with the same three characters going over the same issues. I definitely prefer character development over plot; so, this should have been a good one for me. It was a let down and the first book in years that I do not feel any urge to finish.

posted by 962674 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1499 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 75
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Loved it

    Brilliant! I finished this book in a day. I just couldn't put it down. It's gripping, horrifying, and heart-wrenching. It captivates the essence of inner strength when you should have none left. It shows the human spirit, our connections to each other, and the power we still have in our own humanity, even when it seems we have nothing left at all. It reveals self-sacrifice, gratitude for life's fleeting moments of joy in an overwhelming sea of despair. I could go on and on. Read it yourself, because it's worth it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Hosseini has another amazing story to tell

    LOVE this book, could not put it down so I bought a copy for a friend as he was crazy about "Kite Runner" and even though English is barely a second language he cannot put this book down. Wonderful story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Purely Amazing!

    I rarely rate things as perfection, but this story had everything a reader could ask for. You won't be able to put it down! I was emotionally invested in the characters from the beginning, and as a new mom understood the sacrifice some women must make. A truly eye-opening story that spans all cultures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    I enjoyed his style of writing and the voice of the novel more t

    I enjoyed his style of writing and the voice of the novel more than enjoyed the novel itself.  I would have rated it a three, but the writing was excellent even when the story itself seemed to get lost in the details.  I was a bit deflated by the ending, but overall a solid  read that held my attention.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Depressing

    Hard to read,brutal at times but had to finish

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Amazing!

    One of the best books I have ever read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    Let me just start off saying that I very rarely read for leisure

    Let me just start off saying that I very rarely read for leisure. I have read Khaled's The Kite Runner -- which in my opinion was phenomenal -- which then led me to read this. Never in my entire life have I been teary eyed when reading a book, and I'm a 22 year old guy. This book is one of those books that you can't put down and want to keep reading and reading; I was going to take a nap after having about 70 pages left to read, but could not bring myself to sleep, so I finished the book. Anyways, the story, as amazing as it is, is very heart wrenching at times. Although this particular story is fiction, it almost seems to me that it a story of some people in Afghanistan. I highly recommend that you read this book, but I must warn you, if you get sad easily, then maybe you should stay away and read something else, perhaps The Kite Runner?  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I knew about the terrible treatment of women in Afghanistan, but

    I knew about the terrible treatment of women in Afghanistan, but this made me want to learn more.  A beautiful story.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    This is an AMAZING book! It made me laugh, scream, and cry. The

    This is an AMAZING book! It made me laugh, scream, and cry. The characters are amazing and captured my heart, and there are so many unexpected twists.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Outstanding

    Hauntingly beautiful, immensely sad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    By far thee best book ever

    By far thee best book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    There aren't enough stars! This was a book I read this summer w

    There aren't enough stars! This was a book I read this summer while on vacation. It went everywhere with me. I got up early to read it while everyone else was still asleep. I didn't want it to end. It was as good as or better than The Kite Runner. A must read! Absolutely recommend to a friend. This is worth passing on, and maybe rereading at some point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Great read. A book that can be reread. Very sad for the women in Afganistan. Hussein is a wonderful story teller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Touching, empowering, & heart wrenching

    I recommend this book to any woman,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Breathless !!!!!

    All I can say is do yourself a favor and READ this book.....and then pre-order his next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    BOO

    BOO HOO HOO

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is as good as The Kite Runner. Truly its impressing how Khaled Hossaini took it to a different extent writing from a woman's point of view. It is a beautiful story about two girls from different generations that meet. I really liked how the author understood his own culture and the lives of women in Afghanistan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    A horrible example at the lives of Muslim women

    I HATE A thousand splendid suns
    once again, Hoseinni has managed to make the muslim population, especially the women, look like they are being treated like crap, thanks a lot Hoseinni

    His book holds a lot of one sided views and doesn't really reflect on the other areas of the country where life is better

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    A Thousand Splendid Suns

    "Just as good, if not better, than Hosseini's best-selling first book, The Kite Runner." -Newsweek
    This quote exactly states the opinion of many people whose attention was captured by Hosseini's first novel "The Kite Runner" and who were not disappointed for one second while reading his second novel "A Thousand Splendid Suns". In his second novel the central characters are two women living in Afghanistan. The story takes place between 1960's and 2003. The author creates excitement and shows his creativity by dividing the plot into four sections.
    In the first part Mariam is the main character and in the second and third part it is Laila and in the fourth part it is the perspective of Mariam and Laila. This creates authenticity and sympathy for the fate of the two women and their heartbreaking story.
    As opposed to the first novel, in this novel Khaled Hosseini emphasizes the perspective of women in Afghanistan and the relationship between these women.
    The story describes how the life of women changed throughout the history of Afghanistan and the influence of the Taliban. It describes how women get abused and discriminated against by their husbands and men in general. Furthermore the reader can easily follow the adjustment to the Taliban rules that were imposed on women.
    Another interesting point is that the two main characters grew up in extremely different circumstances as told in the beginning of the story. One of them is the illegitimated child of a poor woman and is poorly educated whereas the other one is a well educated child born into a family which does not neglect her and treats her with respect. Throughout the story the two characters are connected by fate and destiny which results in a deep friendship even though Mariam is a generation older than Laila.
    As a woman reading this story it provokes interest and deep compassion for the characters. I would give the book 4 stars out of 5 but because the book focuses a little too much on relationship and love and the male readers might be bored because they cannot relate to the story as a women can. However, this novel is definitely worth reading and I would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Kite Runner Take two....

    If you enjoyed The Kite Runner?!.... I won't do that to you but if you are out on an afternoon, and are wishing for the warmth of the sun as well as a tale you will get lost into, this is your book. I had problems getting into it for some reason initially, but the plot is perfect, and was hooked before I hit the middle. Characters are realistic, and with the new release of Middle East, Afganistan, and other locale stories and tales being published, this is a winner among many lists. A definite on "To reads" lists and a new place for this on my shelf based on the culture, beliefs, and respect for a country and customs represented.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1499 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 75