Customer Reviews for

A Thousand Splendid Suns

Average Rating 4.5
( 1498 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1110)

4 Star

(258)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

A Thousand Splendid Suns

This book is equally as good, and as haunting, as Kite Runner. This time the story is about two Afghani women. Life in Afghanistan is wretched enough, but to be a Muslim woman in Afghanistan can be lethal, especially after the Taliban come to power. This book is beautif...
This book is equally as good, and as haunting, as Kite Runner. This time the story is about two Afghani women. Life in Afghanistan is wretched enough, but to be a Muslim woman in Afghanistan can be lethal, especially after the Taliban come to power. This book is beautifully written and at times difficult to read, but it's also difficult to put down. Mariam and Laila are wonderfully-drawn characters that will stay with me forever. They made me know just how lucky I am to be an American woman, and how unfortunate life can be for Muslim women in Muslim countries. This book will break your heart, but it will also put it back together again. Highly recommended.

posted by 1Katherine1 on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

boring

I am 200 pages through and am finally putting this one down. I loved The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns received great reviews on this site; so, I kept plowing through it expecting it to get better and it never did. I have never written a book review before ...
I am 200 pages through and am finally putting this one down. I loved The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns received great reviews on this site; so, I kept plowing through it expecting it to get better and it never did. I have never written a book review before even though I have been a reader for 15+ years. I feel like the book has been stalled for some time in the same little house with the same three characters going over the same issues. I definitely prefer character development over plot; so, this should have been a good one for me. It was a let down and the first book in years that I do not feel any urge to finish.

posted by 962674 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1502 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 76
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    A Thousand Splendid Suns

    "Just as good, if not better, than Hosseini's best-selling first book, The Kite Runner." -Newsweek
    This quote exactly states the opinion of many people whose attention was captured by Hosseini's first novel "The Kite Runner" and who were not disappointed for one second while reading his second novel "A Thousand Splendid Suns". In his second novel the central characters are two women living in Afghanistan. The story takes place between 1960's and 2003. The author creates excitement and shows his creativity by dividing the plot into four sections.
    In the first part Mariam is the main character and in the second and third part it is Laila and in the fourth part it is the perspective of Mariam and Laila. This creates authenticity and sympathy for the fate of the two women and their heartbreaking story.
    As opposed to the first novel, in this novel Khaled Hosseini emphasizes the perspective of women in Afghanistan and the relationship between these women.
    The story describes how the life of women changed throughout the history of Afghanistan and the influence of the Taliban. It describes how women get abused and discriminated against by their husbands and men in general. Furthermore the reader can easily follow the adjustment to the Taliban rules that were imposed on women.
    Another interesting point is that the two main characters grew up in extremely different circumstances as told in the beginning of the story. One of them is the illegitimated child of a poor woman and is poorly educated whereas the other one is a well educated child born into a family which does not neglect her and treats her with respect. Throughout the story the two characters are connected by fate and destiny which results in a deep friendship even though Mariam is a generation older than Laila.
    As a woman reading this story it provokes interest and deep compassion for the characters. I would give the book 4 stars out of 5 but because the book focuses a little too much on relationship and love and the male readers might be bored because they cannot relate to the story as a women can. However, this novel is definitely worth reading and I would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Kite Runner Take two....

    If you enjoyed The Kite Runner?!.... I won't do that to you but if you are out on an afternoon, and are wishing for the warmth of the sun as well as a tale you will get lost into, this is your book. I had problems getting into it for some reason initially, but the plot is perfect, and was hooked before I hit the middle. Characters are realistic, and with the new release of Middle East, Afganistan, and other locale stories and tales being published, this is a winner among many lists. A definite on "To reads" lists and a new place for this on my shelf based on the culture, beliefs, and respect for a country and customs represented.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unforgettable!

    A vividly written novel - so compelling and heartbreaking as it follows the life of Mariam, a most innocent and loving child, who grows up to endure unimaginable hardships and emotional pain so gripping, it is hard not to cry throughout. A unforgettable story and an un-put-downable-book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    An Excellent Book

    Like The Kite Runner Husseni has written a story that stays with one long after the reading is done. The relationships, customs and even some history are carefully woven. I could not put it down once I had started reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Shellpool

    xD Well, don't let him lose a life! If he does, I declare war! :D Okay, well, I did descriptions last night, when I couldn't fall asleep. Tell me whatcha think: <p> First kit: Solid very light brown fur. Semilong fur, with a tuft of fur on chest. Tuft colour is a darker brown, but not dark brown. A spot over the right eye, coloured the same darker brown. Tail tip that same darker brown. Deep blue eyes, like a sea. Not dark blue. Just blue, and deep. <p> Second kit: Solid fluffy white fur. Indigo (more of the blue, not so much as the purpley colour, seeing as that'd be too unrealistic :P) eyes, blind. <p> Third kit: Same navy blue as Navysky's fur, tabby. Same golden eyes as Navysky's (gotta have a Navy kit xD) <p> Fourth kit: solid dark, dark grey fur. Longer tail than a normal cat's. Darker yellow eyes, with darker green flecks near the iris. <p> Name suggestions? xD What do ya think of colours?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite novel of Khaled Hosseini.

    My favorite novel of Khaled Hosseini.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Powerful story

    Another great book written by khaled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    I loved it!

    Brilliant! Found it hard to put down as i needed to know what would happen next. A very emotional and heart-wrenching story that will show you the power of friendship and devotion through though trials. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    New favorite

    This book is amazing , the author did a great job with the characters and the constant change between all of them and piecing the puzzle together. Definitly will re read it again and highly recommemd it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    To all children!

    This is NOT a public forum to spam the reviews section! You will be reported to the authorities and actions will be taken accordingly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Adain

    Please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Jinx

    *Kisses you* Im sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Must read

    Haunting. Emotional. Tragic.

    I sat in a coffee shop in New Orleans and read this book over the course of a few days. Tears on my cheeks and quiet sobs in my throat.

    I am forever broken by the fact that the brutal events in this book are based on what has actually happened to innumerable men, women, and children.

    Amazing story told by an elequent storyteller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Great writing but not a great story

    This book was beautifully written. The authors words transported me to Afghanistan and I felt as though I walked beside Mariam amd Laila as they endured the hardships, sorrows and triumphs of their lives. As wonderfully descriptive and heartfelt as this story was written, I just didn't care for it. The last 200 pages of the book redeemed itself but, in my opinion it was much too late in coming. I found myself trying very hard to continue the story. I hate to not finish a book and it was difficult to keep with this one. Halfway through the book I found myself wondering if I should cut my losses. Thankfully it ended well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Shellpool

    Yeah. I wonder what ever happened to Snapdragon...and Comet's kits are Warriors now :P Cool! I'll talk to Nacysky next time I see him around.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Scourge to carley

    Hoots you

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!!!  Pulls on your heartstrings.  Loved it!!

    Great Book!!!  Pulls on your heartstrings.  Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Shell

    :D Lol...So strange ;D And no, not yet...hopefully someday. What will you ever do when Shell has kits? o-o

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    FORCEMATE

    Mistyfeather @ 'othello' res 1 godmodders allowed

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    The leder of sunclans note to all

    Thabk u for choosing sunclan as ur loyal clan. Bios next res.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1502 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 76