Customer Reviews for

A Thousand Splendid Suns

Average Rating 4.5
( 1505 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1114)

4 Star

(261)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

A Thousand Splendid Suns

This book is equally as good, and as haunting, as Kite Runner. This time the story is about two Afghani women. Life in Afghanistan is wretched enough, but to be a Muslim woman in Afghanistan can be lethal, especially after the Taliban come to power. This book is beautif...
This book is equally as good, and as haunting, as Kite Runner. This time the story is about two Afghani women. Life in Afghanistan is wretched enough, but to be a Muslim woman in Afghanistan can be lethal, especially after the Taliban come to power. This book is beautifully written and at times difficult to read, but it's also difficult to put down. Mariam and Laila are wonderfully-drawn characters that will stay with me forever. They made me know just how lucky I am to be an American woman, and how unfortunate life can be for Muslim women in Muslim countries. This book will break your heart, but it will also put it back together again. Highly recommended.

posted by 1Katherine1 on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

boring

I am 200 pages through and am finally putting this one down. I loved The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns received great reviews on this site; so, I kept plowing through it expecting it to get better and it never did. I have never written a book review before ...
I am 200 pages through and am finally putting this one down. I loved The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns received great reviews on this site; so, I kept plowing through it expecting it to get better and it never did. I have never written a book review before even though I have been a reader for 15+ years. I feel like the book has been stalled for some time in the same little house with the same three characters going over the same issues. I definitely prefer character development over plot; so, this should have been a good one for me. It was a let down and the first book in years that I do not feel any urge to finish.

posted by 962674 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    boring

    I am 200 pages through and am finally putting this one down. I loved The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns received great reviews on this site; so, I kept plowing through it expecting it to get better and it never did. I have never written a book review before even though I have been a reader for 15+ years. I feel like the book has been stalled for some time in the same little house with the same three characters going over the same issues. I definitely prefer character development over plot; so, this should have been a good one for me. It was a let down and the first book in years that I do not feel any urge to finish.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One word....depressing

    I absolutely loved "The Kite Runner". I couldn't wait to get "A Thousand Splendid Suns". Unfortunately I did not feel at all attached to this book. I know it received great ratings, but sometimes I would find myself thinking, "I can't read this anymore".

    Here is what I had a problem with. It is simply too depressing for the first three fourths of the book. It becomes unbarable to read. Hosseini is amazing in his character developement. But then he makes you read while he crushes his characters over and over again. After a while you find yourself thinking "Doesn't anything good EVER happen?" The answer is no, not until the very end of the book.

    I am an avid reader and have a personal policy of never giving up on a book. This book was a punishing read until the end. Unfortunately for me, it was too late. By the end, instead of feeling happy for the character, I felt releived that I was finished with the book.

    I know there are many, MANY people who will disagree with me, but I would not recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    For fans of Fox, Dan Brown and Stephanie Meyer

    A Thousand Splendid Suns, just like the sources of media listed in my title, are perfect for people who don't want to, or perhaps can't think. It's completely mindless entertainment that doesn't stand up to any intellectual scrutiny. His characters are all one-dimensional, the plot is cliched and predictable and he has an extremely limited vocabulary. The true test of a good author is not his ability to use long words or obscure adjectives. The true test is to take out all those unnecessary words and adjectives and see if the story is still good.
    I probably would have reviewed this book better if The Kite Runner wasn't so nearly the same as this that I have to wonder if Hosseini has a fill-in-the-blanks formula to write these dramatic middle eastern novels with.
    The only good thing I could say about this book is that it may spark conversation about the apparent problems in Afghanistan. But, considering that only someone who fails or refuses to think would take this book serious, any conversation ensuing from that spark is intellectually worthless.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    There's no doubt that the lives of women in Afghanistan are less than happy lives. I certainly don't object to the fact that Khaled Hosseini included much tragedy in his book. What I do object to is that he included so much tragedy in each individual life that the book and the characters eventually rang a very false note. It was if Hosseini, himself, sacrificed his characters simply to get his point across. The book was heavy-handed. Hosseini has one character say something, then sure enough, that character's 'prophecy' comes true. While his prose is better than it was in 'The Kite Runner,' it's still awkward and clumsy. Hosseini did manage to capture the details of everyday life in Kabul, though, and that's the very best part of this book. I'll admit, I'm a very demanding reader and I was very disappointed in this book. It's not all bad, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone except those who want to read the latest bestseller or have a great interest in the Middle East. Despite what I think, though, the book's going to be on the bestseller list for a long, long time to come. I just wish Hosseini had been a bit more subtle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    NOT The Kite Runner

    With everyone barking about this book perhaps I set the bar too high. But the characters in this book felt like cardboard cutouts. By now we've all read about the tragedy that is Afghanistan but reading this book didn't make it feel real. It almost seemed like every awful thing had been cut and pasted into these characters lives. But I never felt I knew them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Don't get duped

    I bought this book because the Kite Runner was so interesting. I forgot the basic principle that in general, authors' first books are always the best and don't assume the second book will be any good. I did not learn anything from reading this book. I would not recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    A disappointment

    I loved the Kite Runner and couldn't wait to get this book. I was disappointed though. I had to force myself to finish. it got boring at times. Maybe I expected too much since Kite Runner was so extraordinary.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2